Old 29th August 2004, 05:19   #1
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
building a computer

i think i can build a decent computer for around $250. CPU, MB, RAM and case. i'd be using my current monitor, HD, cd drives and keyboard and mouse and speakers. so far i have found i can build a AMD athlon xp 2100+ w/512 mb of RAM. it's not top of the line or anythng but it's fast enough for me.

MB http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...185-027&depa=1

CPU http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-370&depa=1

RAM http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-485&depa=0

Case w/PSU http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...190-036&depa=1

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:23   #2
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Are you missing a video card, or am I imagining that?

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:24   #3
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
it seems that i am missing a video card. thanks for pointing that out. i completely forgot about that.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:29   #4
squakMix
wwwyzzerdd
(Forum King)
 
squakMix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,458
Quote:
Originally posted by deeder7001
it seems that i am missing a video card. thanks for pointing that out. i completely forgot about that.


Ah man, you should quote that and add it to your Sig
squakMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:33   #5
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
here's a video card i can use. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...180-012&depa=1

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:41   #6
squakMix
wwwyzzerdd
(Forum King)
 
squakMix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,458
looks fine to me...
squakMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:44   #7
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
Quote:
Originally posted by squakMix


Ah man, you should quote that and add it to your Sig
which part?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:47   #8
squakMix
wwwyzzerdd
(Forum King)
 
squakMix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,458
That whole little statement there is classic .
squakMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:51   #9
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
cool. so all the stuff i'm looking at is good so far?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:55   #10
Myxomatosis
aka bRiAnFuRY
Fuck it dude...
let's go bowling.
(Major dud)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,162
Send a message via AIM to Myxomatosis
Looks good, I usually stick to name brand though...

Alex Jones: Do you want the puppet on the right or the puppet on the left? What a bunch of garbage; liberal democrat, conservative, republican. It's all there to control you! Two sides of the same coin. Two management teams bidding for control, the CEO job of Slavery, Incorporated! The truth is out there in front of you, but they lay out this buffet of lies. I'm sick of it, and I'm not going to take a bite out of it, do you got me?
Myxomatosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 05:58   #11
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
name brand is too expensive for me. and i want to see how cheaply i can build a computer.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 06:03   #12
squakMix
wwwyzzerdd
(Forum King)
 
squakMix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,458
Nice New sig

(<<--- Thinks it'd look better if it read:

"It seems that i am missing a video card. Thanks for pointing that out. I completely forgot about that" - deeder7001

)



Edit: Hilarious. Love it
squakMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 06:30   #13
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
do i have to buy a heat sink for the CPU or does it come with one?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 06:33   #14
squakMix
wwwyzzerdd
(Forum King)
 
squakMix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,458
The one you bought is OEM which means it doesnt come with a heatsink or fan.
squakMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 06:39   #15
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
I'd stick with the budget versions of name brand boards if you can. For one you'll get good support from the company if their are major issues (they do have a reputation to uphold), and for smaller/less critical issues you'll have a better chance of finding someone else who uses that board.

Bugs are generally found and sorted out faster, and bios updates are more regular with popular boards.

If graphical performance and overclocking arent high priorities, something like the Asus A7V8X-MX with onboard video, sound, lan etc. would be a good choice. It has an AGP slot, so you could add a faster card later.

Since you're on a budget, the 2100+ is a good choice. Going for 512mb is another good choice if you'll be running WinXP, but if you plan to run 2k you can get away with 256mb as long as you dont run too many apps at once.

The case + psu looks like a generic model, so i cant comment on it. I'd personally try and stretch the budget a little for a name brand psu (doesnt have to be outrageous, a 300w aopen or antec solution series should be fine), but it's up to you.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 06:49   #16
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...131-489&depa=1

i like this MB. i think i'll go with this instead of the other one.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 19:38   #17
jakeledel
Banned
 
jakeledel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Ohio State University
Posts: 439
it's a better mobo, you can drop the video card if you want to make it that much cheaper
jakeledel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2004, 23:55   #18
Scar Da Kookee
[Forum Pastry]
 
Scar Da Kookee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally posted by deeder7001
here's a video card i can use. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...180-012&depa=1

ew

go for better

Needs more moo-cows.
Scar Da Kookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 04:03   #19
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
Quote:
Originally posted by Kookee
ew

go for better
if i go for the ASUS board i won't get a video card right away probably. i also don't want to spend a whole lot of money on a video card.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 04:09   #20
Myxomatosis
aka bRiAnFuRY
Fuck it dude...
let's go bowling.
(Major dud)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,162
Send a message via AIM to Myxomatosis
The videocard card should be fine unless you want to play current/upcoming games.

Alex Jones: Do you want the puppet on the right or the puppet on the left? What a bunch of garbage; liberal democrat, conservative, republican. It's all there to control you! Two sides of the same coin. Two management teams bidding for control, the CEO job of Slavery, Incorporated! The truth is out there in front of you, but they lay out this buffet of lies. I'm sick of it, and I'm not going to take a bite out of it, do you got me?
Myxomatosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 04:12   #21
DuaneJeffers
Major Dude
 
DuaneJeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,776
The server I am building is almost done ... All I need is a Motherboard, RAM, Case and PSU.

-Duane

P.s. What type of power supply do you use for a Xeon Motherboard?

Website

Yeah, that's pretty much it. :-\
DuaneJeffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 05:01   #22
Myxomatosis
aka bRiAnFuRY
Fuck it dude...
let's go bowling.
(Major dud)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,162
Send a message via AIM to Myxomatosis
Quote:
Originally posted by DuaneJeffers
The server I am building is almost done ... All I need is a Motherboard, RAM, Case and PSU.

-Duane

P.s. What type of power supply do you use for a Xeon Motherboard?
Hmm, I forget what it's called, let me check.

[Something like this?http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...03-918R&depa=1

Or maybe this? http://www.bzboyz.com/store/product3582.html]

Alex Jones: Do you want the puppet on the right or the puppet on the left? What a bunch of garbage; liberal democrat, conservative, republican. It's all there to control you! Two sides of the same coin. Two management teams bidding for control, the CEO job of Slavery, Incorporated! The truth is out there in front of you, but they lay out this buffet of lies. I'm sick of it, and I'm not going to take a bite out of it, do you got me?
Myxomatosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 18:41   #23
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I just ordered some stuff from Newegg.com this morning. I only bought a CPU, MB, RAM and case(w/psu). I know they aren't the best known or the best period.

MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130528

CPU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116197

RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820161615

Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147019

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 23:07   #24
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
Also note: I am NOT missing a video card this time.


Yea it's an old thread and I know.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 14:13   #25
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I finally got my computer Monday afternoon. I had a strange problem getting it to boot from the HD but I was able to fix it. Now the only thing I don't like is that I can't use my modem with it. I have it networked to my old computer that has the modem and I share the internet connection. It works. It's a whole lot faster than my 9 year old Dell. I have the onboard video disabled(I have a PCI video card installed).

All I need to do now is get a better video card, more RAM, and probably a newer HD. I'm going to need a little help with the video card as I'm on a budget.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 17:14   #26
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
The main issue is that the motherboard listed above uses AGP, which has been in the process of being phased out for quite some time now.

AGP still offers enough bandwidth for general purpose use, but it does limit your choice of video cards.

A good balance between performance and value is currently the 7600GS and 7600GT, both of which are available in AGP. The 7300GT is also worth a look. The older 6600 and 6600GT are still floating around, and can sometimes be found reasonably cheaply, especially second hand.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 18:02   #27
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Ya know Deeder, I dunno if that built in S3 video isn't gonna be pretty darn near as fast as any AGP card you would buy. Unless you want to spend real money.

That's especially since 8X AGP cards often have instability problems when you actually run them at 8X.

I know this geforce 6100 chipset I have on an A8N-VM I have here is as good as a $50 video card. That S3 should be faster, and I can play quake 4. No shading models, but ?. It draws polygons like a bat out of hell.

I think what I put in this is a PCI express geforce 7600?. Mainly that's just because I wanted to run 2 monitors and it has 2 outputs + tv.

I thought the onboard was fine. You'll need some extra ram though because it uses the main memory for the video. Mine can be adjusted to use 32-128m of ram in the bios.

You probably want two dimms anyway (matched) because I would think that motherboard has dual memory channel architecture. That almost doubles your memory speed and I think your onboard video speed too.

Last edited by rockouthippie; 18th April 2007 at 18:32.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 20:36   #28
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I've disabled the onboard video so I can use the RAM for stuff. I have a Radeon 7000 64MB PCI card installed. It's not the latest and greatest but it does what I need it to do for now.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 20:58   #29
whatboy
Senior Member
 
whatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami,Fl Post : 2392
Posts: 470
just buy a Alienware system





just dont pay attention that if you buy one the company can then pay my check
whatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 01:03   #30
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
Last I checked into Alienware it was way more expensive than my budget would allow. I barely squeaked by when I bought the computer I have now. I paid about $210(including shipping) for the computer.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 01:11   #31
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Quote:
Originally posted by deeder7001
I've disabled the onboard video so I can use the RAM for stuff. I have a Radeon 7000 64MB PCI card installed. It's not the latest and greatest but it does what I need it to do for now.
I'll bet that's actually slower than the onboard video, but yeah. I think 512 meg is enough memory for a system with a video card, but when you start eating it up for video memory, you'd be light.

Another advantage to the nvidia chipset on your VC is that it's very linux friendly if you wanted to try that. Nothing else is very well supported.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 02:25   #32
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I've decided to get the 7600GT the first chance I get. It's a little more than I was thinking but what the heck. I'll be able to play the few games I have at high resolutions.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 02:44   #33
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I think mine is a 7600GS, for PCI express. It's a good card.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 02:46   #34
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
For the price of the 7600GT, it better be a good card. $164 isn't exactly cheap unless you know a better place to buy it.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 02:58   #35
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Buy.com has it for $150.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 03:09   #36
whatboy
Senior Member
 
whatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami,Fl Post : 2392
Posts: 470
I have that card. I bought it from tigerdirect for 140. I been playing rainbow six: Vegas and its been running pretty good
whatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 04:27   #37
Phyltre
Forum King
 
Phyltre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Freefall
Posts: 2,751
Send a message via AIM to Phyltre Send a message via Yahoo to Phyltre
I'm still loving my ATI x800xl. It's aging quickly but until directX 10 goes mainstream there's no reason to upgrade.
Phyltre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 08:06   #38
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
I dont think you'll be dissapointed with the performance of the 7600GT deeder.

I bought one (gigabyte silent pipe) on sunday to go in my htpc and was very impressed with it, especially considering its modest power requirements. Running vista w/ aero + hd video it never missed a beat and gaming was fine on it as well, as long as AA/AF weren't cranked up too high.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 14:07   #39
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I don't even know what AA/AF is.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 18:28   #40
Phyltre
Forum King
 
Phyltre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Freefall
Posts: 2,751
Send a message via AIM to Phyltre Send a message via Yahoo to Phyltre
"In digital signal processing, anti-aliasing is the technique of minimizing the distortion artifacts known as aliasing when representing a high-resolution signal at a lower resolution. Anti-aliasing is used in digital photography, computer graphics, digital audio, and many other domains. In the image domain, aliasing artifacts can appear as jagged, blocky or moiré patterns, popping, strobing, or unwanted sparkling; in the sound domain, as rough, inharmonic, or spurious tones, or as noise.

Anti-aliasing means removing signal components at too high a frequency to represent *before* (re-)sampling at a lower resolution. When sampling is performed without removing this part of the signal, it causes undesirable artifacts."


"In 3D computer graphics, anisotropic filtering (abbreviated AF) is a method of enhancing the image quality of textures on surfaces that are far away and at high angles with respect to the camera so the projection of the texture (not the polygon or other primitive it is rendered on) appears like a trapezoid instead of a square. Like bilinear and trilinear filtering it eliminates aliasing effects, but introduces less blur at extreme angles and thus preserves more detail. Anisotropic filtering is relatively expensive (usually computationally, though the standard space-time tradeoff rules apply) and has only in the '90s become a standard feature of consumer-level graphics cards."

All hail wikipedia.
Phyltre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump