Old 11th October 2008, 04:07   #1
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
IDE master/slave dvd-rw/hdd

Currently, my system is running two SATA HDDs, but I have an extra 400GB ATA133 HDD lying around that I would like to add to my system for extra storage. My system is running a single DVD-ROM on an IDE connection.

If I add the extra HDD on the same IDE cable, will it run fine with the DVD-ROM set as master and the HDD set as slave? Or, is there another way I should have it setup?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 04:12   #2
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
It has been my experience that putting the HD to cable select works best. It should work just fine.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 15:09   #3
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Re: IDE master/slave dvd-rw/hdd

Quote:
Originally posted by Namelessv1
If I add the extra HDD on the same IDE cable, will it run fine with the DVD-ROM set as master and the HDD set as slave?
Yes, but I'd use the DVD-ROM as a slave. That will keep your hard disks sequential.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2008, 04:45   #4
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
Alright. Thanks for the help, guys.
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump