Old 18th August 2002, 22:45   #1
Startrekfan821
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Winamp for windows 3.x

Where can I get a 16 bit version of winamp for windows 3.1, or will 32 bit winamp work on windows 3.1 with the 32 bit programs patch?
thanx for help.
Startrekfan821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 22:56   #2
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
Winamp is 32-bit only, sorry.

I think there are mp3 players for Windows 3.11 though...

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 23:10   #3
Startrekfan821
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
I want it to play music cds. I have a patch from microsoft that allows
windows 3.1 to run most 32 bit windows programs. do you think it would work like that, i would probably still need an older 32 bit version though still too. also are you sure there are no old 16 bit versions at all? I don't care if it is version 1.00 as long as it will play music cds.
Startrekfan821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 23:18   #4
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
Winamp Heaven for all the old versions of Winamp.

Try it anyway... if the processor is up to it (fast 486 at least, preferably Pentium + MMX) it may work. But I suspect you may need to look elsewhere...

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 00:13   #5
Startrekfan821
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
its a pentium 150 mhz w/22mb ram.
Startrekfan821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 00:18   #6
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
I don't think you can get Winamp to work on Windows 3.1x, even if you install Win32s...

For mp3s use WinPlay 16 (Although as a rule you need a Pentium 60 or 486/DX4-100 to be able to decode mp3s in realtime - otherwise you need to set the mp3 player to downsample mode).

CDs will of course play, as will wavs (as they don't require such processor intensive decoding).

Your best bet is to ditch Windows 3.1x and install 98lite on the machine - it'll work fine on a P150, and you'll be able to use Winamp.
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 00:57   #7
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
yes, ditch 3.x even though it is extremely cool that someone still uses that file manager

i wonder if i could write an mp3 player for 3.x...?

hell, i'll sell you a p200 with 64mb ram. pmsg me

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 01:03   #8
rm'
Banned
 
rm''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 11,361
Quote:
Originally posted by liquidmotion
yes, ditch 3.x even though it is extremely cool that someone still uses that file manager
C:\WINDOWS\system32\progman.exe
rm' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 05:12   #9
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
Quote:
Originally posted by rm'


C:\WINDOWS\system32\progman.exe
not in XP you don't

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 06:00   #10
rm'
Banned
 
rm''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 11,361
Oh yes you do:
Attached Images
File Type: png yesyoudo.png (34.0 KB, 332 views)
rm' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 06:11   #11
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
i have the last word. i agree with rm'. old school file manager is available in xp, it's just not quite as useful anymore.
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 06:18   #12
idynkydnk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 428
Why do you have windows 3.x?
idynkydnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 06:45   #13
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,028
it sucks that macs have th epatent on that file system....

from that i mean having the menu at the very top of the screen with no pixel seperation. even if you full size IE and put the file menu on their you still get a pixel seperating the file bar. its less efficent cuz you have to slow your mouse down to click. even the start menu has a pixel of speration to slow you down..... its stupid mac is mean.... i want file to be at the very top and not a stupid title bar....

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 07:14   #14
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
Quote:
Originally posted by rm'
Oh yes you do:
damn, foiled again (had to change c:\ to e:\ :P)

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 08:57   #15
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Even better - you can still get the MS-DOS executive working under Windows XP... yeah.
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 09:08   #16
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Quote:
Originally posted by c2R
Even better - you can still get the MS-DOS executive working under Windows XP... yeah.
Blarg. Executives never really work. They just sit behind big desks and wear vests.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 09:15   #17
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,308
lol

curious george, silly little monkey......


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump