Old 20th May 2012, 14:51   #1
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
NSIS Studio

I've been working on a GUI for NSIS for sometime. The idea was to create something as good as commercially available installers but which is based entirely on NSIS.

The download link is given below.

NSIS Studio v1.1 BETA (Includes NSIS Setup)
NSIS Studio v1.1 BETA (GUI Only)



Comments and suggestions are welcome.
Please don't email me directly. Leave your comments in this thread.

Please note that this app is still in testing and may contain various bugs. Please don't use it for anything critical. Also the project file format is not finalized. Any projects created with this version may not be compatible with future versions.

Screenshots:



teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 01:03   #2
ZmAn3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 178
I get a error about nsis not being on my system is the program looking for it in its default location? because I choose to install Nsis on another drive
ZmAn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 08:16   #3
T.Slappy
Major Dude
 
T.Slappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 521
Send a message via ICQ to T.Slappy
Screens look great but I have the same problem - "NSIS was not found on your system".

Cool looking skinned Graphical Installers: www.graphical-installer.com
I offer NSIS scripting, C/C++/C#/Delphi programming: www.unsignedsw.com
Develop NSIS projects in Visual Studio 2005-2017: www.visual-installer.com
or RAD Studio 2009, 2010, XE-10.2 Tokyo: www.rad-installer.com
T.Slappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 14:52   #4
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Do you have 64 bit windows?
What is the value of the registry key 'HKLM\Software\NSIS' ?
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 21:44   #5
ZmAn3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 178
I do have 64Bit that key does not exist

I do have a HKCU for nsis but non of the keys have a path to the install directory
ZmAn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 03:55   #6
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Could you please check if the following key has the path?
HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\NSIS
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2012, 02:15   #7
ZmAn3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 178
yes sir it does so in there the default key is "H:\NSIS" which is correct for my install of nsis
ZmAn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2012, 07:20   #8
T.Slappy
Major Dude
 
T.Slappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 521
Send a message via ICQ to T.Slappy
Yes, I have 64bit Win7.
As NSIS is 32bit application it's registry keys are mapped to WOW6432Node.

Edit: Creating fake key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NSIS with path to NSIS on 64bit machine works.

Cool looking skinned Graphical Installers: www.graphical-installer.com
I offer NSIS scripting, C/C++/C#/Delphi programming: www.unsignedsw.com
Develop NSIS projects in Visual Studio 2005-2017: www.visual-installer.com
or RAD Studio 2009, 2010, XE-10.2 Tokyo: www.rad-installer.com
T.Slappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2012, 15:26   #9
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Issue fixed. Install it over the previous version.

NSIS Studio v1.1 (2012-05-23) BETA (Includes NSIS Setup)
NSIS Studio v1.1 (2012-05-23) BETA (GUI Only)
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2012, 16:52   #10
mrjohn
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Thanks for your work !
I've notice that when I uninstall NSIS_Studio, start menu folder is not deleted,tested on XP SP3 x86
mrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2012, 06:11   #11
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
NSIS Studio v1.1 (2012-06-02)

* Fixed issue with removal of shortcuts on uninstall

Download:

NSIS_Studio_Setup_GuiOnly.exe - 214 KB
NSIS_Studio_Setup_Full.exe - 2 MB


Application Homepage and More Screenshots Here
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2012, 13:47   #12
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,362
why don't you use the checkboxes and icons that are part of the "arrow theme"?
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2012, 04:43   #13
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks for the link. Will add it soon.
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 10:48   #14
ravermeister
Senior Member
 
ravermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne
Posts: 198
Send a message via ICQ to ravermeister
Hi, can anyone tell me, why it is not possible to specify
the Registry Root HKCU -> HKEY_CURRENT_USER
in the Variable Definition view?
ravermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 16:05   #15
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
If Installation Mode is set to "Per Machine" in Settings tab then HKCU is not accessible.
If you wish to install for a particular user then change install mode to Per-User or Mixed Mode
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2012, 09:19   #16
ravermeister
Senior Member
 
ravermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne
Posts: 198
Send a message via ICQ to ravermeister
Thx for the tip, that solves it.
by the way, great work!
ravermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2012, 07:58   #17
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
v1.2 (2012-06-16)

Changes:
  • Redesigned Pages tab with preview for each installer page
  • More themes added - 'New Logo' and 'Floppy'
  • Option for specifying the main app EXE file. Exe Icon will be used for Uninstaller entry in Control Panel and for creating shortcut in start menu folder.
  • App Info will be written to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\${PRODUCT_NAME} by Installer
  • InstallPath and InstallMode (CurrentUser or AllUsers) will be saved to registry key given above
  • Language selection dialog will be shown even if user is re-installing the app
  • Fixed: The selected link was not displayed in installer Finish page
  • Fixed: The selected header image was not used by installer
  • Fixed: The option 'Allow user to change shortcut folder' if unchecked resulted in a script error
  • Fixed: Progress window cannot be disabled. Removed option for the same.

Download:

http://www.mediafire.com/?gnm3d4czslqat

Screenshot

New 'Pages' tab

teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 05:01   #18
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
If anyone has any suggestions for improving this app then please let me know.

I'm planning to add the following soon:
  • Check for Windows version
  • Task for killing process
  • Task for unzipping files
  • Task for importing REG files
  • Task for downloading and installing .NET and JRE automatically
  • Creation of 'update' setups where installer will contain only newer files
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 06:31   #19
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
v1.3 (2012-06-24)

Changes:
  • Added installer page for LockedList plugin. It will check for running programs in $INSTDIR.
  • Added check for missing files before generating installer. Missing files will be highlighted with an option to re-scan the source folder.
  • Added drag-drop support for Files tab. Files can be drag-dropped on the file list and the folder tree.
  • Added new themes - 'Puzzled' and 'Shiny'
  • Changed default display name to ${PRODUCT_NAME} v${PRODUCT_VERSION}
  • Fixed issue where loading an existing project would throw an exception
  • Fixed issue where the 'Selected' checkbox on Finish page settings for Run and ReadMe, if unchecked resulted in script error
  • Fixed issue with header image display. Header images with '-r' in the filename will be displayed on the right side
  • Fixed issue with 'Refresh' option on Files tab
  • Fixed issue: LicenseFilePath was not saved when saving project

Download:

http://www.mediafire.com/?gnm3d4czslqat
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2012, 06:37   #20
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
v1.3.1 (2012-07-01) Update

Changes:
  • Fixed issues with working directory. The working directory will be set correctly for the shortcuts created by the installer.
Next Version:
  • Multi-volume setups and work-around for 2GB installer limit
Download:

http://www.mediafire.com/?gnm3d4czslqat
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 15:35   #21
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
NSIS Studio v2.0

Changes:
  • Support for NSIS Unicode. Unicode/Ansi version of NSIS will be detected correctly.
  • Option for creating data files compressed with 7-zip. This provides better compression and avoids the 2 GB limit for NSIS exe.
  • New toolbar and UI layout
  • Option to Abort while the build is in progress
  • Installer file name can now have variables. For example, '${PRODUCT_NAME}_${PRODUCT_VERSION}_Setup.exe'
  • Fixed issues with ordering of variables in 'Variables' tab
  • Fixed issues with selection of condition in 'Sections' tab
  • Minor bugfixes and improvements

Download:

http://www.mediafire.com/?gnm3d4czslqat


teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2012, 04:37   #22
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
NSIS Studio v2.1

Changes:
* NSIS was not detected on 64-bit windows

Download:
http://www.mediafire.com/?gnm3d4czslqat
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2012, 16:19   #23
iDyn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Hi there,

I've just registered to comment in this topic. Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time on working on this. I've wanted to use NSIS for a while and I'd rather use a straight-forward GUI tool to create the setup than to mess around with the scripts file. I was quite lucky to stumble upon your topic through Google!

I've only had a quick play with your tool, but the only suggestion I could make (if you're still open to suggestions) is to allow us to apply our own themes. In the installer we currently use, you simply select the appropriate images and then it uses them - if that makes sense.

I look forward to having a better play around with the tool tonight!
iDyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2012, 16:24   #24
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
@iDyn

You can change the theme by clicking on the images in the Themes tab. When you click on any image, it will open another window where you can pick another image.
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2012, 19:40   #25
iDyn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Hi there,

Oh that's perfect! I didn't realise that! Thanks for letting me know!
iDyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 17:28   #26
anandharaja
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
This Program Support UltramodernUI?
anandharaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2012, 16:12   #27
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
@anandharaja

Not yet. You will have to manually edit the generated script in order to use UltramodernUI.
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2012, 16:47   #28
teejee2008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
The next version is a major update and will take some time.

Following features are planned:

# Splash image / audio options for installer
# New Installation tasks - Starting/stopping services, editing environment variables, extracting archives...
# Importing *.reg files for editing registry
# Fix for various issues on 64-bit and non-english windows systems
# Localization and translation support
# Check for supported windows version, minimum RAM, etc.
# Check and download options for .NET, JRE, IE, etc.
# Options for setting file attributes, installing DLL files to GAC, skipping files during uninstall and more...
# UI for creating installation tasks, variables, etc has been simplified. Installation tasks can be created and edited with less effort.
teejee2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2012, 13:22   #29
anandharaja
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
Thank You teejee2008 for your great work. i expect you update this package often.
anandharaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2012, 09:05   #30
alphaalphagamma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Please add support to recognize operating system version, and to install accordingly!

thank you so very much for this wonderful program!
alphaalphagamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump