Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

View Poll Results: How big is your HD?
0-10GB 8 11.94%
10-40GB 13 19.40%
40-80GB 22 32.84%
100-200GB 13 19.40%
200-500GB 6 8.96%
500-1TB 5 7.46%
Voters: 67. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:10   #1
Timzone8
Major Dude
 
Timzone8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 569
Send a message via ICQ to Timzone8 Send a message via AIM to Timzone8 Send a message via Yahoo to Timzone8
Who's Got The Biggest HD?

Ok, I'm NOT talking about the biggest hard drives as in physical hunks of crap, but as in Gigabytes and Terabytes?
I'm currently leading with a 10GB HD!!!
Timzone8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:13   #2
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
El-Loco, whip out your diskspace and show the man some digital sex.
Germ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:19   #3
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
I have an 80 and a 120 GB.

Hard Disks: (Total/Free: 188.96/12.09GB ¤ Total/Free space on: C: 74.47/10.56GB ¤ G: 114.49/1.53GB)

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:31   #4
Bizznatch
Forum King
 
Bizznatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,174
Send a message via AIM to Bizznatch
Hard Drive 1: Western Digital 36gb SATA Raptor (10,000 rpm, 8mb cache)

Hard Drive 2: 200gb Maxtor ATA133 w/ 8mb cache 7200 rpm

[05:30] <Bizznatch> Hard Disks: (Total/Free: 224.39/174GB ¤ Total/Free space on: C: 34.47/14.59GB ¤ D: 189.92/159.41GB)
Bizznatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:40   #5
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Hard Disks: (Total/Free: 76.33/30.88GB ? Total/Free space on: C: 16.32/8.44GB ? D: 60/22.43GB)

¬_¬

80GB Maxtor
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:45   #6
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
HA. I have a 4gb hard drive in my computer right now. which might eplain why i need a new comp.

P.S. i accidentally voted for the 500GB option. If a mod could fix my stupid mistake i would appreciate it.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:49   #7
missyob
Angel of Winamp
 
missyob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Winamp House
Posts: 4,578
I have 2 80 GB hard drives.

I have lots of space to store stuff

~ Missy
missyob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:55   #8
Raz
Forum King
 
Raz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 6,470

Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:59   #9
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
1 80Gb Maxtor D740x 2Mb cache
1 120Gb Maxtor Plus 9 8Mb cache

I think there's around 90Gb free at the moment.

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 14:08   #10
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
I have 30GB of 150GB(formatted) free.

2x WD800JB (80GB, 7200, 8MB)

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 14:17   #11
Da PlaN-R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Da PlaN-R Send a message via AIM to Da PlaN-R
80gig Maxtor upgrade from my old 20gig quantum witch was nearly full. Dont think it will last when i get broadband though
Da PlaN-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 14:29   #12
s1138
Alumni?
 
s1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: joja
Posts: 6,936
Send a message via ICQ to s1138 Send a message via AIM to s1138 Send a message via Yahoo to s1138
i got a WD 100gig, and 20gig
since i have been running low on disk space, after christmas, i will be purchasing a 200gig.

s1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 14:39   #13
whatsitsname
Senior Member
 
whatsitsname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: astralia
Posts: 386
i have a 2gb,obviously i'm not going to win biggest HD
is there a 3,4 or 5 division
whatsitsname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 14:40   #14
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
I have a 60 gig that is almost full and a 20 gig that is full.



Quote:
Originally posted by s1138
after christmas, i will be purchasing a 200gig.
thats my plan too.
psyfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 15:13   #15
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
In my main box i'm using a couple of 160gb seagate 7200.7 SATA drives in a RAID0 array, with an 80gb 7200.7 and a 60gb baracuda IV as backup drives.

Here's my smallest drive:



Seagate ST157A

Capacity: 44.7 MB
Speed: 3600 rpm
Average Read Time: 40 ms
Cylinders: 733
Heads: 7
Sectors: 17

Full specs: http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/...ta/st157a.html

I ripped it out of a 286 a few years back, and yes, it still works.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 15:28   #16
BMWboy
Registered User
 
BMWboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: next the the guy that lives over there
Posts: 1,360
Ive got a WD 40, 120, and 160 GB HDD for a total of 320 GB.
BMWboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 16:12   #17
Mike H.
Forum Esperantist
(Major Dude)
 
Mike H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to Mike H.
I have a 20 GB HD.
Mike H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 16:22   #18
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
I wish I had more spots for devices. I have 2 CD-ROMs and 2 HD's which maxes me out.

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 16:24   #19
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
two x 80 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Western Digital
one x 40 GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache Western Digital
one x 20 GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IMB Deskstar


Hard Disks: (Total/Free: 93.61/2.49GB ¤ Total/Free space on: C: 5/0.89GB ¤ D: 74.51/0.43GB ¤ E: 14.1/1.17GB)
Network Drives: (Total/Free: 106.73/10.37GB ¤ Total/Free space on: H: 24.99/1.4GB ¤ I: 32.25/0.21GB ¤ J: 44.49/7.08GB ¤ K: 5/1.67GB)

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 17:41   #20
Lord British
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
well in a few years the holographic hardrive will be released i hear there almost done with it no and the space on a holographic drive is ...unlimited! mwhaha
Lord British is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 18:04   #21
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
code:
paul@hicks:~$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1 458M 266M 168M 62% /


"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 18:15   #22
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
1 x 40Gb IBM DeathStar ()
2 x 80Gb WD SE 8Mb cache in RAID-0 config

= 200Gb in total.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 18:23   #23
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
Quote:
Originally posted by SSJ4 Gogitta
two x 80 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Western Digital
one x 40 GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache Western Digital
one x 20 GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IMB Deskstar


Hard Disks: (Total/Free: 93.61/2.49GB ¤ Total/Free space on: C: 5/0.89GB ¤ D: 74.51/0.43GB ¤ E: 14.1/1.17GB)
Network Drives: (Total/Free: 106.73/10.37GB ¤ Total/Free space on: H: 24.99/1.4GB ¤ I: 32.25/0.21GB ¤ J: 44.49/7.08GB ¤ K: 5/1.67GB)
*EDIT* - I'm blind. Ignore the next line.

Do you have no CD-ROMs or just an uber motherboard with more than a primary and secondary?

And I need more hard drives:

http://images.viper007bond.com/disksvin.jpg


- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 18:55   #24
corkhead0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 548
External hard drives, Viper :P

I'm going to pick one up soon to use with my 80GB internal.
corkhead0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 19:55   #25
THPSFG
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: :morF
Posts: 79
I have a 100 GB internel and I just purchased a 250 GB Maxtor OneTouch Firewire/USB2/1.1 making for grand total of .35 terrabytes
THPSFG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 20:02   #26
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by corkhead0
External hard drives, Viper :P

I'm going to pick one up soon to use with my 80GB internal.
Second computer, actually.

one 80 GB in each, 20 GB in one, 40 GB in the other.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 20:23   #27
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
Yeah, didn't even realize. Now that I'm going to have a bitch machine powering a webcam for my rabbit, I think I'll throw some hard drives in there and use it for a storage device. Great idea.

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 20:34   #28
WomanOfHeart
Major Dudette
 
WomanOfHeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere no one can find me...in my own head.
Posts: 978
I have an 80GB and a 40GB. The 40 will soon be replaced with a 120.

WomanOfHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 21:29   #29
bored154
Major Dude
 
bored154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: near mid of CA Posts: not much........ B-Day: August 1st
Posts: 1,348
Send a message via Yahoo to bored154
i got 80gb(on right now), 10gb(fucked up), and a 5gb(in old comp). all of them are seperate cuz i cant fit another hard drive in my computer...

Supporting"RE-MOD Bilbo"
.::My SETI::..::My Forums::..::My New Site::..::Winamp IRC::..::My DeviantArt Page::.
bored154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 00:41   #30
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
I have 1 x 60GB and 1 x 6.4 GB in my PC.

My Dad has 3 x 120GB and in his File server, adding a 4th this afternoon.
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 01:42   #31
Timzone8
Major Dude
 
Timzone8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 569
Send a message via ICQ to Timzone8 Send a message via AIM to Timzone8 Send a message via Yahoo to Timzone8
lmao@Germ
Looks like the adverage is 80-200GB, so i'm only 1/10th out-of-date with a 10GB HD...
Anyone have a Terabyte HD? or a Yottabyte HD (if that's possible)?
Timzone8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 01:52   #32
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
http://www.sun.com/storage/highend/9980/index.xml

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 01:57   #33
Timzone8
Major Dude
 
Timzone8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 569
Send a message via ICQ to Timzone8 Send a message via AIM to Timzone8 Send a message via Yahoo to Timzone8
O_o "wow"
Timzone8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 04:16   #34
lavaboy
Member
 
lavaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 50
Send a message via ICQ to lavaboy
I got a western digital 40GB HD.

C:\ Windows 2000 10GB
D:\ Windows XP 10GB
E:\ Storage 5GB
F:\ Music 5GB
G:\ Movies 5GB
H:\ Documents 5GB

120GB external western digital HD coming next month. Plan to store everything on it.
lavaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 04:18   #35
ShyShy
Amazon Bush Woman
Forum Queen
 
ShyShy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Sticks, Queensland
Posts: 8,067
Ok, can someone just name the person that has the biggest HD? All those numbers just scare me.
ShyShy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 04:23   #36
DragonSon
Fears the boots
Forum King
 
DragonSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,445
One 80 GB and one 160 GB coming soon from BestBuy.
DragonSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 04:42   #37
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
10 inches... they don't call me a horse for nothing
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 08:04   #38
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
16.1 inches.

OH...I though we were talking screen size.

40GB in my VAIO notebook, and 60GB in my M3's Music Keg. Only 20 GB on my PC's data partition, so the 60GB cartridge is where all my FLACs reside. Pretty sad when my car outguns my home PC for HDD space.

Anyway, I've got real disc-envy going for some of these 200GB+ folks. What a notebook user wouldn't give for that kind of space in an internal disc. *sigh*...500+ albums encoded losslessly on a portable...in my lap on an airliner. :drooling on my keyboard:

C'mon technology...move faster! Where's a 2.5" 120GB platter when you need one?

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 08:30   #39
lavaboy
Member
 
lavaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 50
Send a message via ICQ to lavaboy
wouldn't it take forver to defrag say 120GB drive with only 1 partition? cause files would have alot more room to spread around?

NTFS Partitions rule!
lavaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 08:41   #40
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
Quote:
Originally posted by lavaboy
wouldn't it take forver to defrag say 120GB drive with only 1 partition? cause files would have alot more room to spread around?

NTFS Partitions rule!
I use NTFS too...I believe SpeedDisk beats defrag for running time, but it still wouldn't be a speed demon on a big partition. If I had a 120GB+ disk I'd divide it into 1 music partition(s), 1 (pre-edit) video partition, 1 data partition, 1 downloads partition (quarantine area) and 1 system partition.

Oh yeah, and 1 partition for the porn.

The HDD in the car has to be FAT32, though (Linux systems don't recognize NTFS).

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump