Old 21st November 2006, 01:08   #1
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
"New" Laptop

I got a wreck of a laptop from my friend, and he says he wants nothing of it. It has a 2.8P4 processor, half a gig of ram, and he's offered me the hard drive for $20. I need to fix this thing up.

Here's the problem, though. Whenever I boot it, I get the "NTLDR is Missing." error. I need to find a way around this. I was hoping to run OpenSuSE on this thing and call it a day, but I have to idea if it will boot from CD.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 02:36   #2
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
Yeah the NDLDR might be a smoked HD or just some fucked up partitioning. What I would do is go into the BIOS and set it to boot to CD and then you should be good to go.

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 02:37   #3
skryingbreath
Post initializing...
 
skryingbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,065
Holy fucking Google, Batman!
DUUR
skryingbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 03:53   #4
S-uper_T-oast
Forum King
 
S-uper_T-oast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fnord?!
Posts: 2,657
My lappy's processor is only going at 1.667, but I guess I do have two of them.
S-uper_T-oast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 04:02   #5
MStar
Major Dude
 
MStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hardcore Heaven
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via ICQ to MStar Send a message via AIM to MStar Send a message via Yahoo to MStar
Quote:
Originally posted by S-uper_T-oast
My lappy's processor is only going at 1.667, but I guess I do have two of them.
Mine are only running at 2.0.

MStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 04:07   #6
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
3.4GHz on my lappy, baby!

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 05:39   #7
S-uper_T-oast
Forum King
 
S-uper_T-oast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fnord?!
Posts: 2,657
But I got two! TWooOWOooOOoooOOoOoooOOO.

And a dedicated graphics card.

And 2gigs of ddr2 ram!

And I can play unreal tournament 2007 at 1280x800 at full everything at 200fps!

And I have a massive epenis!
S-uper_T-oast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 06:50   #8
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Quote:
Originally posted by S-uper_T-oast
And I can play unreal tournament 2007 at 1280x800 at full everything at 200fps!
That's really nothing to brag about; almost any computer can play UT07 at full graphics.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump