Old 6th September 2012, 12:17   #1
clamor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
wma is an incompatible format?

hi, I wanted to sync for the first time some music on my winamp app on my htc desire s.
But winamp on my windows xp laptop says that wma is an incompatible format and the tracks won't be transferred.
Is this correct? It would be too bad because it would make the app useless for me
clamor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 12:54   #2
Cypherous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
WMA is a windows audio format, i doubt they would be able to add support for wma without it costing them a fortune in licensing, winamp on windows just uses the locally installed codecs to decode the audio so there are no issues but on mobile devices its a different matter, its why i have my audio collection in MP3 as its almost universally playable.
Cypherous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 13:00   #3
clamor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Cypheros thank you, that makes sense, but my device's own music player is able to play wma's. So I thought it wouldn't be a problem for winamp either...
clamor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 13:12   #4
Cypherous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Sadly i dont have much experience when it comes to android, i know as far as windows goes all codecs are shared between applications whereas with android based applications they seem to have their own codecs, for example i cant play .flv files with my default player, however QQPlayer will play these just fine, so i'm suspecting that codecs are compiled in to the application itself rather than shared with the rest of the system.
Cypherous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2012, 14:01   #5
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i'm surprised winamp doesn't offer to convert (transcode) wma to mp3 when putting such files on a droid from a pc.

ps. keep in mind that wma is lossy and so is mp3, so you lose quality in the convert, but u prob won't notice.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump