Old 19th December 2010, 15:15   #161
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,055
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
the chain breaker is neat
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 15:09   #162
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Nice smooth mashup. Here is another, rather flashy one... for Christmas
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - mandelbox stepper.milk (17.5 KB, 918 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2011, 20:18   #163
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Another slow

Mandelbox clone
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - castle in the air.milk (19.4 KB, 917 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 08:40   #164
tOad_007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Hi Nitorami

Just a quick note to say how much I love your presets (I've joined just to say that).

I've browsed through thousands of presets, mashups etc from so many people over a long time and I have to say yours are by far the most impressive - others are good sure, but you are so so varied in your content with each one.

I have found is that certain people will just do constant variations of the same preset - a few is good but 5+? - overkill - then people will do mash ups of mashups of mashups etc etc.

You come up with such distinct ideas and shapes that it is just amazing. I love getting to 'm' when there is a large preset pack because I know there will be something new from you (goose i.e was just plain brilliant, as are your disco's, stormy sea etc). For so many people making so many presets, I can browse through 10 different artists and find near similar content or something that has been used before, whereas yours is just unique and fresh. Love it.

Thanks for the time you put into it, my friends and I enjoy them very much.

Cheers

tOad
tOad_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2011, 15:12   #165
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Orbit trap experiments

This here is very calm, rather a slideshow.
It may not work on ATI cards, I had to set the warp shader model to max, otherwise the compiler would try to unroll the mandelbrot iteration loop and complain that he can't handle 1900 instructions. Unfortunately in milkdrop there is no control over loop handling.

It works on Nvidida in shader model 4, not because the number of instructions is higher but because the compiler does not unroll the loop.
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - mandelbrot orbit trap ocean style.milk (12.3 KB, 880 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2011, 18:51   #166
Xetick
Junior Member
 
Xetick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vaxjo, Sweden
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitorami View Post
This here is very calm, rather a slideshow.
Lucky for me so do I have a Nvidia card and I can't deny that your a genus when it comes to milkdrop presents. Very nice and it seems to always pick nice images to view. But as you said it's a slideshow so anyone viewing it should keep that in mind.
Xetick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2011, 18:07   #167
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Pixies Party

My most complex work so far. Parts of the code still need some tidying up but I hope at least the gross bugs are gone. It is best suited for party / celebrative style.

I am not entirely sure whether an endless loop can occur so please tell me if it hangs.
It runs at 30fps on my configuration but looks better at higher rates > 40fps.

Martin
Attached Files
File Type: zip martin - pixies party.zip (54.6 KB, 1119 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 01:34   #168
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
Wow, impressive sense of space. I just miss some elements defining the sky, besides the clouds, like stars or a planet.
Here's a new preset, based on some old ones.
Attached Files
File Type: milk amandio c - salty beats.milk (8.6 KB, 732 views)
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2011, 11:16   #169
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,055
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
I was thinking the same, the sky could use some accents. Very nice work as usual though! I like how reactive it is.

I was thinking of your preset instantly after watching the first part of this demo video:


this was published a few hours ago and featured on the facebook channels of Nvidia Germany and PhysXInfo.com
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2011, 17:04   #170
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Ignore

This is an old one, I just made the parameters editable in the preset initialisation section on special request. Apart from that, it is not different from the original.
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - no religion.milk (9.4 KB, 710 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2011, 19:33   #171
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
A mashup

here you go
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - X Portal.milk (9.8 KB, 751 views)

Last edited by Nitorami; 23rd August 2011 at 21:21.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2011, 22:54   #172
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
This is a very calm preset, showing a selection of views of the 3D mandelbulb fractal.

Anybody who is interested can add his own views. Well, there are certainly better tools for that than MD but it's quite fun and easy.
The short and simple way to play around:
The views are defined in the preset init section. Goto the preset init menu, set design = 1 and slightly modify the ax,ay,az parameters in the last line if (n==21, anz+=1; ....)

Details for those who want to know:
Each line in preset init code if(n==...) defines a view. Normally they cycle through, but if you set design= 1 or 2, the cycling stops and only the last view of the list is shown, without lighting and background. You can now modify it until you are happy with it.

To create a new view, simply copy & paste the last line to end of the list, and increment its number if(n==22....). As you can see, there are 10 parameters, which I will explain further down. Actually you do not need to define all parameters in each line, the missing ones are taken over from the line above. For instance, if you only want to increase zoom, it would be sufficient to write if (n==22, anz +=1; zo = 3, 0);

Do not confuse commas and semicolons or you'll get an error message.

What you see is a sort of mandelbulb fractal. It has the shape of a ball with a cliffy surface, which is the interesting part. The bulb is sitting at zero (0;0;0) of the coordinate system and its radius is approximately 0.8 to 1.1. The parameters are:

ax, ay, az are angles to rotate the bulb. Note that rotation also modifies the surface, which was originally a programming error but I decided to leave it in because it makes the structure more varied and interesting.
x,y,z is the camera position. Select a point close to the surfaces and outside the bulb. Increasing z moves forward, increasing x moves to the right, increasing y moves up. The camera always looks forward (in z-dirction).
zo is zoom. Use with care, the higher it gets, the more difficult it will be to move around, and even small changes of the position may take you inside the bulb (gray) or too far away (black). Set zo = 1 if you get lost, or restart from a working view.

Manoevering can get frustrating if you do not know what you are doing. Hint:
What you see is a cube shaped aperture of the bulb surface. You CANNOT look to infinite distance. Same as the width and hight of the viewing cube is limited, so is the depth. For instance there is a structure, slightly foggy, somewhere in middle distance. If you now increase zoom by factor 4, it will be gone, because the visible cube (width, height, depth) shrinks by factor 4 and the structure is now beyond the maximum viewing distance. To find it again, you need to carefully step closer by increasing z. To simplify that, I made the design=2 mode.
You should see a tinted draft image. Structures in the front part (20%-30% of the visible distance) will appear green. Zoom works around this distance. Adjust z until the structure becomes bright green, then increase zoom moderately, not more than factor 2-4 at a time. That should keep the desired structure in the focus.
Instead of zooming you may also just move closer to an object. Normally it is better to keep zoom low and to move close. That will show more structures in the back and make the view appear more spacious. At high zoom, the image will flatten, same principle as for a camera or microscope.
Very close structures are painted red, just as a warning that they may not render properly.

Remaining parameters:
su is a parameter to change the pattern of the surface. Normally 0.
br is brightness, normally 1
lim is the "bail out" parameter for the fractal. 4 is usually a good choice. Lower values make the structure more fragile, higher values more bulky. With higher values, the surface will also have more detail, but this is undesired when the resolution (zoom) is not sufficient to show the detail.

When finished, don't forget to set design=0.
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - mandelbulb slideshow.milk (17.1 KB, 671 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2011, 06:56   #173
yhscchpcbr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 449
any idea if there is an issue with nvidia cards? i am just getting highly banded circular (concentric) grayscale gradients, or is it necessary to first adjust parameters to get anything interesting?

typical screenshot:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/ctnufu

thank you martin in advance for taking the time to look at this

ayahuasca chupacabra
yhscchpcbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2011, 09:40   #174
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
I am having the same issue also, with an nvidia card.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2011, 13:34   #175
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Thanks for telling me, guys. This is most odd because I also have an Nvidia card.

I have however noted certain certain weird behaviour with the handling of q variables in the warp shader. Quite probably a problem of the compiler overoptimising certain expressions, killing the function.

I tried to fix that in the modified version attached but don't know whether it works on your cards. If it does not, would you please be so kind as to try the following workaround:

In the warp shader, rather at the top, where it reads

static const float iter = 6 + (myzoom >= 50), limit = q10;

please exchange q10 by a constant such as 2 and tell me whether that solves the problem


I cannot attach a sample image of how it should look like because the buggy forum software would reject jpgs as "invalid format".
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - mandelbulb slideshow.milk (16.8 KB, 598 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2011, 15:46   #176
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
I think I found the problem. Inside the fractal iteration loop, very high numbers can occur and exceed the valid floating point range of the shader units. This seems to cause unexpected problems which may depend on the video driver, the code and the compiler. Normally such events should be trapped and throw an exception but the shaders don't do this, probably to save computing power. Checking two floats before multiplication would cost extra instructions and is normally not necessary.
I tried to bail out of the loop if the values get too large but that drops the frame rate significantly, so I clamped the numbers. Costs a few extra instructions as well but that cannot be avoided.

Anyway, this should now be a stable version.
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - mandelbulb slideshow.milk (17.6 KB, 678 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2011, 02:33   #177
yhscchpcbr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 449
seems to work now:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/lsc0r8

my card is (still): nvidia geforce gt 120

ayahuasca chupacabra
yhscchpcbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2011, 02:34   #178
yhscchpcbr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 449
oh, also, very very cool as usual!

but also too bad there is no way to do deep zooms in md though (i'm sure you'll figure out a way though if it's possible)

take care

ayahuasca chupacabra
yhscchpcbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2011, 15:02   #179
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
A taste of oldschool
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - lock and release.milk (13.5 KB, 732 views)
File Type: milk martin - carpet weaver.milk (10.5 KB, 723 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2011, 16:04   #180
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
Very cool, the lock and release. Here's also a carpet-like preset. Btw, the mandelbulb slideshow is working fine now.
Attached Files
File Type: milk amandio c - penrose tiles.milk (6.0 KB, 653 views)
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2011, 19:37   #181
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Just a scenic impression of the thing I'm currently working on. That said, I'm actually not working very hard... will take a while to finish, if ever.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clipbrd01.jpg
Views:	373
Size:	38.7 KB
ID:	49296  
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2011, 11:57   #182
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
The rendering looks beautiful.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2011, 12:38   #183
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
A mandelbox variation in cylinder coordinates, slow and meditative.
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - prismo jenkins last expedition.milk (19.3 KB, 894 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 19:33   #184
blastofftek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 51
You gotta be kidding me...

... this is AWESOME!!!
blastofftek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 19:12   #185
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Thank you... and don't ask me how many hours I spent on that
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 19:39   #186
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
I am working on a different scenery, but the central problem remains, the tradeoff between speed, noise and sharpness. However I try, I cannot get a sharp picture while moving through it, so I need to make a decision whether I want to have a slideshow with rather sharp but static images, or a movie, which is more interesting but somewhat blurred and noisier.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zwischenablage01.jpg
Views:	576
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	49338  
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 22:02   #187
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,055
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
Yeah, Milkdrop3 would need freely adjustable cycle numbers for multipass renders. Martin, what can i say, you're truly a wizard.
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2011, 13:00   #188
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Enjoy the morbid charm of this decaying architecture
Attached Files
File Type: milk martin - city of shadows.milk (17.8 KB, 738 views)
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2011, 15:37   #189
blastofftek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 51
How marvelous! It reminds me of some Crash Bandicoot 2 or maybe Jak 3 stages, don't you think?
PS. Cool sky.
blastofftek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2011, 18:09   #190
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
Beautiful, surreal. I think the mandelbulb and it's variations will come to the mainstream through movies etc in the near future.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2011, 08:30   #191
JohanSebastian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
I just stumbled across this thread and man! I gotta say, these are THE MOST AMAZING computer generated visuals I have ever seen. I am totally mesmerized by the intricacies, the detail, the 3D effects, and most of all, that ALL THIS comes from one program? Milkdrop, the Bomb!

My favorites include City of Shadows, Wreck Diver (I can turn that 1 on and just let it run forever), the Mandelbox series, which are mindblowing (I feel like Im watchin the 1st Star Trek movie with V'Ger, WOW! Mesmerizing!), Blue Mountains, Tunnel Race, Bridge of Khazad_Dum (FREAKIN AMAZING DUDE! This is like watching a clip from Lord of The Rings), Rogue Wave, and The one that AMAZES ME THE MOST, "Adrift on a Dead Planet"!

I can scarcely believe this preset is all done without any video files, or JPGs?!?!? Strictly Math Algorithms? Even the descending moon?! Holy Crap!

I built a system earlier this year for my VJ shows. I went all out and invested in an NVIDIA GForce 580 ($500 for the card alone), which btw can compile Dead Planet in about 3 seconds (the only preset which takes any appreciable time to load out of like 5k presets I have for MD. Its worth the wait though!).

I am still wondering how to be able to mix some live video or some of my kinect effects on top of Milkdrop (see my posts under Milkdrop Source Code) for my VJ Shows. If I had that there's no limits on the types of shows I can do.

I wonder if there's any way to grab the output of a window and pipe it into another program?? Im not looking to change Milkdrop at all, I just want to get ahold of the output so I can overlay stuff on top of it. Anybody have any ideas about how that can be done?

Anyway, Great Work!
Johan
JohanSebastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2011, 14:05   #192
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
Hi. I'm really not into video hardware, but I suppose there are devices who can mix input from 2 pc's.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2011, 15:21   #193
blastofftek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 51
@JohanSebastian: Hi... I've many times grabbed a snapshot with PrintScreen, then pasted it into ms Paint with ctrl+v. If you need video, maybe software like camtasia studio or other screen capturers can do it, but i'm not very sure how, I've just seen other people doing it on youtube.
blastofftek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2011, 15:48   #194
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Thanks JohanSebastian. Yes, it's all algorithmic, I try to avoid static jpgs where possible.

Milkdrop is not exactly suited for that sort of visuals but I felt challenged to overcome its limitations. although it would be far less headache to do certain things on a platform that actually supports geometry and a z coordinate, rather than milkdrops flat mesh.
Flexi suggested WebGL which is in fact tempting, but at the moment I'm just too lazy to change. I am used to MD, plus it has the advantage to simply make the visuals available to everyone using winamp.

I know nothing about overlaying videos in realtime, but definitely seem to remember that AidenRigel had announced something like that, although there were still some problems. I guess it is possible via the windows API and a decent script language, as you say by rerouting the pipes, but I'm not the expert. You'll need to ask a decent programmer.

P.S. the problem with dead planet is that it uses more than 512 shader instructions which take a lot of time to compile. I made a light version as well, which looks virtually identical but will load much faster.

@blastofftek: Sorry, I don't know Crash Bandicoot or Jak 3, so I cannot comment. I'm probably too old . But maybe ResidentEvil 4 was sort of inspiration.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2011, 22:42   #195
JohanSebastian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Nitorami

I see where your presets have the "martin" prefix. Is that you? Im curious as to why your login on here is Nitorami. Is it because "Martin" was taken on this BB? Again, I am just curious..

At any rate, since I started using MD about a year ago, I remembered seeing the Martin prefix on many of the presets which came with MD. Yours have always been among the better presets for MD.

And again, I gotta say these recent ones are astounding. re: The Dead Planet preset, I have Dead Planet Light, which is also very good. I was just letting you know the main Dead Planet one does load on my machine, and while it does take about 3-4 seconds to compile, its worth the wait.

Amandio: thanks for your post. I started doing VJ shows at my favorite nightclub, and its a VERY small nightclub. I have a very limited amount of space for my computer setup, and its on the other side of a wall, not in the same room as the rest of the club/band/projector.

I use a Logitech wireless keyboard to run my shows. This is an amazing keyboard! I can walk around the entire club with it and control the computer with it. I can even go outside! (I go out to smoke, and I'm able to see the projector screen through a window).

People see me walking around with the keyboard, which is also backlit, and they ask me "what are you doing with that?" I point to the screen and say "Im running the special effects on the projector". That starts ALL sorts of interesting conversations. I even dance with this keyboard in one hand, and control the projector while I am dancing. Thats FUN!

So while I am aware of video mixers and the like, I not only need to be able to do everything on one system, I want to. I dont want to be locked into standing in front of the computer (like a DJ). I need/want to be able to roam around the club. I also want to do everything with one program, so I dont have to wade thru the crowd back to my computer and change programs.

There's a lot of VJ programs on the market, and yet none of them have everything I want/need. Some have good capabilities with video loops/live video. Winamp has MD/R4. So then if we throw in the Kinect, which is a fairly new device, I have yet to seen any VJ programs which have that built into them. So thats when I started to write my own program. (I have been a programmer for 30+ years).

I want to be able to incorporate MD into my program somehow, someway. ESPECIALLY now that we have these recent presets from people like Martin/Nitorami, and several others. Man these are AWESOME! Hence the reason for my thread(s) here on this forum.
JohanSebastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2011, 07:37   #196
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
The idea is good, but remember the best presets are heavy on pc resources. You won't have other programs running at the same time without sacrificing resolution and framerate.
But if you are into programming, maybe MD can do the trick. It s possible to use video files in MD, not in real-time though, using an external script.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2011, 19:28   #197
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
JohanSebastian

Yes, my proper name was already taken, as could be expected. I still decided to use it in my presets.

As to your video plans, Amandio is right of course that you'll need a lot of GPU/CPU power to do all this. I have an athlon 3500+ and an ageing GeForce 7600, and don't get all presets running at 30fps fullscreen, also struggle to play HD videos from my camcorder, let alone doing both at the same time.

What springs to mind is avisynth and virtualdub. Certainly not VJ software, rather made for video processing. These are open source, and I used to tinker with them to manipulate HD videos from the camcorder. Avisynth is not quite easy to handle but extremely powerful, and allows to add your own C++ plugins. Maybe that could be a starting point.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 11:03   #198
Amandio C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 400
I don't know of any program that can do what Johan wants.
But even if possible, it would probably look like those weird new-age music clips mixes in Youtube. If you want something visually interesting, it must be properly designed from scratch.
In MD that will require a lot of work since what exists now of this kind is still experimental.
Amandio C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 18:32   #199
MadnessR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
I've had trouble with some of the newer presets, Martin. I just get a light blue border. Anybody know why??? Using an Nvidia Geforce 7800 S with latest drivers...
MadnessR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 19:48   #200
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 815
Not sure, but I deliberately used some border recently to cloak artefacts. Press M while the preset is running, goto "drawing: borders, motion vectors" and set the outer border thickness to zero. Not sure whether this will help, though. Border is already 0.005 only and looks ok on my GeForce 7600, but maybe changing these settins helps. Please keep us informed.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop > MilkDrop Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump