Old 10th April 2016, 03:19   #1
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Impossible to resolve host

Hi,

This is going to be my last go around and I'm probably done from the whole streaming things because apparently technology has changed. It was a lot easier before than it is now. Virtual DJ 8 says I am connected directly to them which is fine. Ports 8000 are open to my internal IP address of my machine. SO VDJ can connect but my shoutcast says no. I've used my admin password my other password. Hell I've even put a random password and I still get the "impossible to resolve host" issue. The server is running on my screen in cmd which i see it. Even the installation went smooth. WTH is my ip address to connect to and listen? This is the part that confuses me the most. Why can't I just stream from my box, why do I need shoutcast? So with that being said, what IP address do I use with shoutcast when I want to stream on virtual DJ 8. This is been going on for months and it's driving me insane. I'm about to bash my head against the wall to how complicated this has become from 6 years ago.
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 03:57   #2
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
I just had a discussion with someone. My port forward is correct. IP address and local IP of my machine which is 192.168.0.4 and my ip address. Ports 8000-8001 are open. I even tried disabling my firewall. Nothing seems to work. I put in my ip address with port as the stream and used my password and it still doesn't work. What the hell is going on here? Before anyone says it, my server is running for shoutcast on my screen in cmd.
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:01   #3
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
what do you mean your shoutcast 'says no' ? do you have any logs to show that the client is attempting to connect and broadcast? what are the exact errors you get and from what program are they being generated?
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:13   #4
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Virtual DJ gives me this error Impossible to resolve http://myip:8000/ I click on shoutcast server and it runs with no errors.

When I run sc_serv I get this in logs

#Software: SHOUTcast
#Version: 2.4.7.256
#Fields: c-ip c-dns date time cs-uri-stem c-status cs(User-Agent) sc-bytes x-duration avgbandwidth
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:16   #5
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Virtual DJ Error https://gyazo.com/60a93453197c73b4d02c06e4ddefff87

Port forward https://gyazo.com/33f4c9922e4caa4d19c1e6728dcb0a3d
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:25   #6
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
ok so your forwarding your external IP to your internal ip... if you already on the internal network (obviously) then you dont need to use the external ip or port forwards (only if you want to have others tune in who are not on your local network). you are forwarding to 192.168.0.4. you are trying to connect to 127.0.0.1. those are not the same. if you have shoutcast configured on the same computer as vdj. and shoutcast srcip and dstip are both set to 'ANY', the 192 and the 127 should both work locally. if its set to just 'localhost' or 127.0.0.1, then only that machine will be able to tune in. if thats the case you should bind shoutcast to the local lan ip 192.168... and not your loopback address 127.0.0.....
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:27   #7
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
I'm trying to broadcast outside my box for listeners.
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:30   #8
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
lets see that shoutcast config file
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:32   #9
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
adminpassword=***********
password=***********
publicserver=always
requirestreamconfigs=1
streamid_1=1
streampath_1=http://24.1.202.219:8000/
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 04:46   #10
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
6 years ago, I use to connect to this directly from virtual dj without shoutcast http://24.12.217.41:8000/VirtualDj.mp3. Now I require a host and it's become nearly impossible for me to connect to the outside world.
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 05:54   #11
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Someone help me for the love of God and Jesus Christ.

https://gyazo.com/53f11b4788c43408f444e7e2257ea8be
https://gyazo.com/e24b89b4958e269658182c9aca0ce1a6

How come I can stream, all ports everything is perfect yet nobody can hear my stream but I can on local?
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 06:35   #12
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
When people try to access the ip address on a browser it says not allowed. Can someone please help me understand why am I the only one hearing the music from local and not outside when firewall antivirus everything is OFFFF?
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 06:45   #13
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
https://gyazo.com/e95f13cbd7a9ce10e361284201593b6e
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 06:50   #14
Ankido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
I'm not going to sleep for days until I figure this out. My death is in your hands. I will figure this out and someone will try to help if my life depends on it. I'm sick and tired of shit shit not making sense.
Ankido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 21:43   #15
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
the stream path is incorrect in your config
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 21:45   #16
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
here is an example using multiple streams on a single server

the stream path is everything after the first / in the url, and is used to define the url for that specific stream id.

code:

http://domain.com:port/256mp3
http://domain.com:port/128mp3




code:

streamid_1=1
streampath_1=256mp3
streammaxuser_1=500
streamauthhash_1=##############

streamid_2=2
streampath_2=128mp3
streammaxuser_2=250
streamauthhash_2=##############

streamid_3=3
streampath_3=64mp3
streammaxuser_3=100
streamauthhash_3=##############

streamid_4=4
streampath_4=24mp3
streammaxuser_4=50
streamauthhash_4=##############

streamid_5=5
streampath_5=256aac
streammaxuser_5=100
streamauthhash_5=##############

streamid_6=6
streampath_6=128aac
streammaxuser_6=100
streamauthhash_6=##############

streamid_7=7
streampath_7=64aac
streammaxuser_7=50
streamauthhash_7=##############

streamid_8=8
streampath_8=24aac
streammaxuser_8=50
streamauthhash_8=##############

dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2016, 21:55   #17
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
also if you want to have this server be listed publicly you would need to generate an authhash and set that in the config for every stream
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2018, 17:32   #18
djMarky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 10
i BELIEVE YOU HAVE TO INPUT YOUR 5 DIGIT PIN AFTER PASSWORD
djMarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump