Old 3rd January 2004, 23:11   #1
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
winamp freezes randomly

this happens on winamp 2.91 and i figured if i got winamp 5 it would stop, but it does it on 5 too. i start a song and randomly it will freeze. the music keeps playing but i can't access winamp. after a while it unfreezes. sometimes it will still be frozen after the end of a song and i have either use task manager to close it and reopen it, or just wait until it unfreezes and it will go to the next song. it doesn't always freeze during every song but sometimes it freezes more than once during the same song. it always freezes if i skip to certain parts of a song, at least if a lot of time is between the part i skipped to and the original part.

what's really weird about this is when it's frozen i can't open any new internet explorer windows. if i do they freeze in the same way. the homepage opens but i can't access the program. when winamp unfreezes, so does ie. i either have to wait for winamp to unfreeze or close it with task manager. internet explorer never freezes normally.

i tried defragging and that did not work. i can't think of any other solutions. anyone have an idea? thanks.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 03:34   #2
Boris888
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3
For the record I'm getting the same problem. What sound card are you using? I'm on an Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro if that helps any, and I'm using XP. If anyone can help that would be great.
Boris888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 04:57   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
1) Uninstall -> Reinstall

Read full thread (eg. remove/disable potentially incompatible 3d-party plugins, etc)
Also, if installing Sonic Burning & Ripping Engine, be sure to reboot first.

2) Make sure DirectSound Output is selected & configured correctly

3) Run a free: virus scan | trojan scan | spyware scan (Spybot S&D - free software) | free online spyware scan | Adware scan (Adaware6 - free software)

4) Update: motherboard/chipset drivers | Sound card drivers (re: Audigy) | DirectX

5) Run memtest to determine whether one of your RAM modules is faulty.

6) Run Scandisk (Win9x/ME), or Checkdisk (Win2k/XP): Start > Run > chkdsk /r

Defrag your hard drive/s
(Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Defragmenter)

7) Test your media in other players to determine whether the same problems occur. It's possible that one or more of the files you are trying to play are corrupt.

8) Shut down the pc, open the case, and clean out any dust. Turn the comp back on and check that all your fans are spinning.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 06:59   #4
sewer_monkey
Junior Member
 
sewer_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 14
Send a message via Yahoo to sewer_monkey
This may also be useful to you:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....threadid=65298

Do you have the MiniBrowser in WinAmp open by any chance? WinAmp seems to use IE for its MiniBrowser.
sewer_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 09:11   #5
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
thanks, i think it was because the direct sound was configured incorrectly. hopefully this permanently fixes it because after i defragged it worked for a while and after i updated sound drivers it worked for a while, but both times it went back to not working.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 19:06   #6
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
nevermind, that didn't work. it's freezing like normal again.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 23:54   #7
0verBurN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
I'm having the EXACT same problem. Anyone have any idea how to correct this?
0verBurN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 05:50   #8
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
also, i have sound max integrated audio. i tried uninstalling and reinstalling before but that didn't fix it. i also scanned for viruses and had none and removed spyware with ad-aware and it still is not fixed. any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 01:40   #9
macgyver_31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
I've also had the same problem and tried many diffrent soud cards and it still does this freeze thing.... but i'm starting to wonder if it dont have something to do with the type of hd or on how much is on the drive...I've got over 90gigs of songs on a western digital 120. But later thoughts have taken me to think.. most of my songs are out of my collection but all the ones that friends have brought over allready encoded are the ones that seem to make winamp freeze... i'm starting to wonder if this problem is more caused by improper encoding or modified files by whatever means.. on all the computers i've seen and repaired many of these people download files and i've seen the way some songs are modified to also make the computer connect to porn sites... all it is to say is watch what download goto a pay site it's not that cheep. But if more people use this type of downloading prices might drop at your local record store and internet sites. all the changes can lead to something good dont get me wrong file sharing is your own personal pref it's just like when i was younger friends shared audio cassetts.. ya can't stop friends from sharing what they allready own..
macgyver_31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 04:01   #10
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
updated direct x and that didn't fix it either.

edit: and i never use minibrowser.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 22:42   #11
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
still need help please.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 22:55   #12
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
I had this problem in Winamp 2.91 aswell, and sometimes get it in Winamp5(but VERY rarly). Mostly only happens when I'm playing a video, or trying to do something to winamp while it's playing a song. There isn't much you can do.

As for the IE freezing, I never had this problem... but I don't use IE, for reasons like that. :-/

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 23:33   #13
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
so there's nothing i can do to fix it?
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 00:24   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Not unless you provide:

1) all relevant system specs:

pc or motherboard make/model
cpu & ram
video and sound cards/chips
Windows OS (plus sp)
DirectX version
IE version

all in one post together (yes, we already know your sound chip and DirectX),

2) a startuplist (attach result log to a new post c/o "Post a Reply" button),

and

3) you confirm that you have:
done EVERYTHING as recommended in my first post

ie. properly uninstalled & reinstalled (see link, read it all),
run the virus/trojan/spyware scans (spybot s+d, not adaware),
updated motherboard/chipset/sound drivers,
configured Winamp / DirectSound Output properly


Also bear in mind that the problem could simply be caused by bad quality / corrupt mp3's.
Did you rip these MP3's yourself, or did you download them from some dodgy p2p service like Kazaa?
What kind of quality are these MP3's?
Do they cause similar problems in other players?

This is assuming you are playing MP3's. . .
ie. does the problem occur with other/all filetypes/formats?
(wav, midi, mod, ogg, audio cd, video, etc)


The more information you provide, the easier it is for us to provide a solution.
The less information you supply, the more likely it is for you to be ignored.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 01:41   #15
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
my winamp is still not fixed so here is all the info you asked for.

1)model:dell 8250
motherboard: planar motherboard (that's all it says on dell specs site for my pc).
processor: 2.4ghz b pentium 4
ram: 512mb rambus
video card: radeon 9700 pro 128mb
sound: Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device, SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
os: windows xp home sp1 (build 2600)
direct x 9.0
ie 6.0
winamp 5

2)http://www.geocities.com/xonearmedsc...tartuplist.txt

3)i tried everything you said except for update the motherboard/chipset drivers because the only info i can find about my motherboard is that it is planar. i also couldn't get spybot to successfully run. it always freezes at "running bot-check (2957/5835: C2.lop)"

also, winamp still freezes even if ie is closed.

i tried playing both mp3s that i downloaded and mp3s that i ripped myself and cds, midis, and wavs, but none of them prevented the freezing.

on the direct sound configuration post it says "Checkmark 'enable hardware acceleration'" but mine has that box greyed out when i either select sound max or primary driver.

i didn't have any viruses and on firewall scan it said this: "You have blocked all of our probes! We still recommend running this test both with
and without Sygate Personal Firewall enabled... so turn it off and try the test again." and no possible trojans were listed.

i would greatly appreciate any help you could give me.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 02:09   #16
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
i also closed every single program and process that i could using task manager and tried winamp and it STILL froze.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 05:08   #17
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
i got spybot to work and removed all the spyware it detected and winamp still freezes.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 05:34   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by xraycat
i got spybot to work and removed all the spyware it detected and winamp still freezes.
Please post a new startuplist


Also, go to:
http://support.dell.com

Click on "Downloads" tab at top
Select Dimension 8250

On the new page, first select:
Download Category: Chipset Drivers
Select your Windows OS (WinXP)
Click "go"

Install the latest Intel 800 Series Integrated Chipset drivers

Then go back and select:
Download Category: Audio Drivers

Install the latest Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio drivers.


Finally, upgrade to DirectX v9.0c


Now uninstall Winamp, then delete the Winamp folder & winamp.ini, then reinstall (though you can try it without first, and also see if you can now configure DirectSound Output).


Note: you may well need to reboot after each individual driver update.




Re: startuplist

Goto: start -> run -> msconfig
In the "Startup" tab, uncheck the following:

TkBellExe = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
QuickTime Task = "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

I'm going to assume that Spybot S&D got rid of the WildTangent Updater entry
(updater = C:\Program Files\Common files\updater\wupdater.exe)



The only other possible conlict I can see could be one with StyleXP

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

STYLEXP = C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXP.exe -Hide


I'll go into the "Downloaded Program Files" after you post your updated StartUpList


Finally:

In Zone Alarm firewall config
make sure winamp.exe has full internet access
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2004, 04:03   #19
xraycat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Posts: 17
thanks, i did everything you said and it seems to be working now but that might not last. here is the new startup list: http://www.geocities.com/xonearmedsc...artuplist2.txt

hopefully it will stay working this time. thanks again.
xraycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2004, 05:03   #20
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hi

Well, that's really great news.
I truly hope that the problem doesn't return.


In msconfig -> startup,
keep an eye on the QuickTime QTTASK and RealOne TKBellExe (realsched.exe) entries,
because they have a nasty habit of re-enabling themselves.


The new startuplist looks much better. Try to keep it this way.

There's just one remnant to get rid of relating to Huntbar spyware:

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[{26E8361F-BCE7-4F75-A347-98C88B418322}]
CODEBASE = http://dst.trafficsyndicate.com/Dnl/T_92/QDow.cab


Go to C:\Windows\Downloaded Program Files
Locate and delete this file.

Note, some files in there are obvious to recognise, some aren't.
So you may need to right click them and select "properties"
to properly identify this little critter.



Some extra advice:

Run Spybot Search & Destroy regularly, at least once or twice a week.
Be sure to search for and install all updates before running the scan.

Also go to the "Immunize" section
enable both the Immunizer and Browser Helper features.

Then click on the link in there for more info about SpywareBlaster
(which leads to this site)

Download & install SpywareBlaster
and follow the instructions.

(check for updates, install updates, click "enable all protection")

Note: Once setup, after you click the "enable all protection" and close SpywareBlaster,
it will then prevent 90%+ spyware/malware from ever being installed again.

Also, you should install & regularly run Adaware6

Adaware will also find one or two adware objects and spyware cookies that Spybot S&D wouldn't normally find.
Note: Both programs find/remove some items that the other one doesn't.
But both programs perfectly compliment each other.


Spyware/malware has become a major threat these days
and the problem is getting worse by the day.

The method laid out above is the best possible freeware solution for 99% spyware prevention/protection.


The combination of a virus/trojan/spyware/adware free system and all the correct hardware drivers & config is what (mostly) contributes to a fully smooth and operational pc. Of course, we cannot account for faulty/damaged hardware.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2004, 22:27   #21
xarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
WINAMP FREEZE

Every time i play movie on my winamp 5.05.. my computer freeze.. i can only hear the sound.. and i have to restart.. what should i do ?
xarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2004, 07:01   #22
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
What about trying one of the suggestions?

Btw, please keep it to one thread:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....12#post1475412

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2005, 06:39   #23
Priest78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4
Hail!

I readed all of texts above. But my problem is a little different.
When I play a song in Winamp, it restarts my computer, after 5-20secs playing. Restart means: screen goes blank and system starts to boot up again. Therefore I can't find any error log or error message. I disabled the auto-restart function in XP, but it doesn't matter. When I play a song in Media Player, my system working normal. I have Soundmax (AC'97), but when I uninstalled its driver and put a SB PCI 128 audio card in my computer, Winamp still restarts. Even so, I kept the SB card in my machine.
System specs: Asus P5P800 MB; Intel P4 3Ghz Prescott; 2*512Mb RAM, Asus Radeon 9600XT, Win XP SP2, DX9c, latest drivers are installed.
I bought my MB & processor 2 days ago. With my "old" computer the WinAmp works normally. My "old" computer is: Abit SR7-8X MB, P4-2Ghz and the same Radeon 9600XT, sound card, memories and XP!

There's a list that I did to find the problem:
- changed sound card
- changed & checked my RAMs with MemTest 86+, I changed memory slots too
- reinstalled XP and tried with first-started OS (it means: no viruses, no ads, no spywares, etc.)
- tried with WinAmp 2.81 & 5.08 & Sonique 1.96 (of course I want to use WinAmp but both restarts)

I can't believe that happens in 2005 Even so, I can play a game and watch a movie (avi, mpg) without restart (at this moment). I don't use 3rd party PlugIns. I just installed the WinAmp 2.81 & 5.08 Lite to a non-exist directory.
What is in WinAmp and the similar programs that isn't included in MediaPlayer? Or it is a hardware failure? I hope it isn't true.

Thanks for advance.
Priest78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2005, 12:53   #24
pederezo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
FREEZÝNG COMPUTER

I had the same problem.I search internet but couldn't find any solution.Then I tried somethind.I downloaded winamp lite and copied and pasted the plugin of winamp lite to winamp 5.08 full.Now there is no problem.winamp works with modern skin and plays all kind of media files.(Winamp lite wasn't playing some files in my computer.)
pederezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2005, 13:43   #25
Priest78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4
Re: FREEZÝNG COMPUTER

I found the solution of my problem. Maybe your problem is the same. My power supply unit was a piece of shit. I bought an other PSU, and my computer running normal, no more restarts. My "old" PSU was a Sirtec 360W. My new PSU is an Ultra-Power ALU ATX 420W. Their website is:
THIS.
Priest78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 09:41   #26
kolorafa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
winamp freezes on track change

For me, winamp freezes then crashes had a chance of about 5% on local files, and 60% of remote (http) mp3 files, BUT!

winamp only crashes when i use scroll to jump to next (above minimized playlist and scroll to change) or used global hotkeys to change

i saw that using next button or b jump only 1 song but using scroll and global hotkeys IT JUMPS FOR 2 at once

when i use B to jump one at a time winamp never crash, but using scroll or hotkeys it a chanse described above


I found a bug in winamp that cause that:
in Preferences > General > Playlist uncheck
"Mousewheel scrolls double the above number of lines (default)"

global hotkeys and scroll will jump only for 1 and from that time winamp never crashed for me, but as i can see now scrolling will not double lines at scroll


Any one else had the same problem/bug?
kolorafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 16:36   #27
Zogundar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
I've just recently noticed a similar problem. I haven't had any crashes *knock on wood* but sometimes when changing tracks, I believe as you described, when switching to another file on a playlist, the currently playing file skips a bit, before finally changing to the next. A hiccup, if you will.
Zogundar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2011, 17:46   #28
kolorafa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
I saw only this problem with that one option enabled, i didn't skip anything bug it froze on change and i needed to force shutdown and run it.

I'm using out_ds.dll with fade on, with music is everything ok for me.

From time when i unchecked this option, winamp didn't froze even once (but i don't change songs to fast )
kolorafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump