Old 15th November 2003, 02:34   #281
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
wow. you almost gave me a heart attack there. have fun splitting up those bitmaps. . .

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2003, 17:52   #282
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
balance.bmp uses the following frames, right?

code:
1, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 28
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 02:18   #283
LuigiHann
Forum King
 
LuigiHann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 80's Japan
Posts: 3,436
Send a message via AIM to LuigiHann
Check skinner's atlas. *I check* those are correct for the main balance. However, if you use the eq-winshade balance, you will end up displaying frames that aren't on that list. I'd suggest only animating those frames, and putting copies of them in the empty frames to prevent apparent glitching. Stillwater uses them as an easter egg.
...
You probably knew that. You're values will suffice, they are accurate.


Who is the milkman? What is the purpose of the goggles?
LuigiHann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 11:48   #284
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
All hail LuigiHann, cartographical interpreter extraudonaire

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 14:59   #285
StillWater
Forum King
 
StillWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nov 1978
Posts: 3,883
yeah, even if you use a different template for everything else, I'd still recommend using the balance.bmp from Skinner's Atlas. It's got the frames all labelled on it, so it means you don't have to keep counting them to figure out which ones to skin and how.

Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny.

All my skins: @ winamp.com @ 1K1WS @ Deviantart.com

My latest Flash Project: BreathingEarth.net
StillWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 16:00   #286
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
Who says the EQ winshade balance uses an animation? It's just a slider.
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 17:44   #287
LuigiHann
Forum King
 
LuigiHann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 80's Japan
Posts: 3,436
Send a message via AIM to LuigiHann
situation
Quote:
Originally posted by Cleanup
Who says the EQ winshade balance uses an animation? It's just a slider.
All right, here's a thought experiment. Have the main window in full mode, and the EQ window in windowshade mode. You now have TWO balance bars. Assume we're using a skin with only your frames of balance bmp drawn, and the empty frames are left white. Now, if you slide the main balance bar, it will look fine, and the slider on the eq-winshade bar will move along with it. Now, if you move the EQ-winshade slider instead of the main slider, the main slider will move with it in the same way. However, the eq-winshade bar is more precise than the main one is (because it uses a thinner slider), allowing more frames to be shown in the main balance bar than one normally sees. It isn't a common situation, which is why most skinners don't know, and why Stillwater uses it for an Easter Egg.
...
get it now?


Who is the milkman? What is the purpose of the goggles?
LuigiHann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 20:27   #288
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
Look, but don't touch.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artemisrunning.jpg (48.0 KB, 180 views)
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 20:28   #289
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
And here's how I handled the windowshade.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artemis-ws.jpg (13.8 KB, 183 views)
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 23:22   #290
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
idk if i like the winshade too much....sry.

if I were you i'd make the bone longer, and have the middle of the C-buttons for the man be the buttons for the c-buttons on teh winshade.

Last edited by dlinkwit27; 16th November 2003 at 23:56.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 00:25   #291
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
maybe somethign like this.
Attached Images
File Type: png untitled-1 copy.png (7.0 KB, 161 views)
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2003, 00:04   #292
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artemisrunning.jpg (90.2 KB, 175 views)
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2003, 00:52   #293
caz
Major Dude
 
caz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in my house.
Posts: 745
Send a message via ICQ to caz
Make the eq slider outline darker, make a few other lines in your eq darker - at the moment it seems too inconsistant...
I think mainly owing to the darkness of the cbutton outlines, it makes the main appear to have more contrast.

Dont really know if Ive said that before...if I have, I apologise.

Other than that, it looks good

caz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2003, 00:55   #294
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
also the dents on the EQ are a lot lighter then teh holes/dents that are all over the main.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 01:26   #295
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
playlist problem.

I've run into a problem with the playlist involving general Winamp gayness: the playlist display area in WA2 goes far to the left, so far that it's touching my border slightly and covering up the LCD highlight.

Is there a way to edit this in Winamp's settings for the user, or is there an alternative solution?

NOTE: I darkened the EQ sliders. Problem attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artyproblem.jpg (30.5 KB, 158 views)
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 01:34   #296
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
Nearly finished. Playlist problem is present in attachment.

pardon the fuzzy screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artemisrunning.jpg (49.9 KB, 156 views)
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 01:45   #297
Kepstin
Senior Member
 
Kepstin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada!
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to Kepstin Send a message via AIM to Kepstin
There is nothing you can do about the playlist areas, that's just the way it's set. You are probably going to have to make the side bars on the playlist thinner to get it to match up.
(Oh, and i'm back from the dead)


There used to be more stuff, but hey, links die over the years.
Generic Plating: Red, Blue
Kepstin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 01:46   #298
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
Nah. Instead, I went lazy, and just trimmed off the highlights in a smooth fashion.

That's all for now. I'll do the PL stacks tomorrow, and who knows, maybe it'll even be a complete skin.

QUESTION: This skin doesn't have application buttons (close, minimize, window-shade)... would it still be eligible for publication on Winamp.com?
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 02:06   #299
Kepstin
Senior Member
 
Kepstin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada!
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to Kepstin Send a message via AIM to Kepstin
Actually, i was thinking something like this:
(and about the app buttons - no idea )
Attached Images
File Type: jpg artemisside.jpg (7.8 KB, 166 views)


There used to be more stuff, but hey, links die over the years.
Generic Plating: Red, Blue
Kepstin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 04:10   #300
Cleanup
The WWYD Jerk
(Forum King)
 
Cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 2,385
Nah. It's a done deal.

And while I'm at it: http://www.deviantart.com/view/3935968/

I think my Photoshop skills have improved.
Cleanup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Classic Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump