Old 24th February 2005, 17:33   #1
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
FM Tutorial help.

I'm doing the Frisbee Monkey tutorial and using his exmaple skin and i've just finished the background part. So far i'm understanding the coding side pretty well. I have a problem though, when i check my progress the skin background doesn't appear. Here is the code i have so far:

Skin.xml
PHP Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>

<WinampAbstractionLayer version="0.8">
      <skininfo>
      <version>1.0</version>
      <name>Tutorial skin</name>
      <comment>Yup</comment>
      <email>pete.stevens@gmail.com</email>
      <homepage></homepage>
      <screenshot>skin.png</screenshot>
      </skininfo>
      
   <include file="xml/player.xml"/>
   <include file="../default/xml/pledit.xml"/>
   <include file="../default/xml/thinger.xml"/>
   <include file="../default/xml/eq.xml"/>

</WinampAbstractionLayer>
Player.xml
PHP Code:
<container id="Main" name="Main window" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1">
   
   <include 
file="player-normal.xml"/>
   <include 
file="player-elements.xml"/>

</
container
Player-normal.xml
PHP Code:
<layer id="normal" w="380" h="165" droptarget="pldr">

   <
layer id="player.normal.background" image="player.normal.background" x="0" y="3" sysregion="1"/>

</
layer
Player-elements.xml
PHP Code:
<elements>

   <
bitmap id="player.normal.background" file="player/mainbase.png"/>

</
elements
Any ideas to what is going wrong? I've checked that all the designated files are in the right folders and everything.

Thanks for any help.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 18:23   #2
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Change your abstraction layer for a starter in skin.xml to...
code:

<WinampAbstractionLayer version="1.2">



Change your player.xml to this...
code:

<include file="player-elements.xml"/>
<container id="Main" name="Main window" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1">

<include file="player-normal.xml"/>


</container>



You had defined your elements last, always a good idea to define them first, that way player-normal.xml knows where to find it's images from, seeing as how you called player-normal.xml first...

Then change your player-normal.xml to look like...
code:

<layout id="normal" w="380" h="165" background="player.normal.background">

<!--insert rest of skin here-->


</layout>



That's LAYOUT not LAYER for the group tag,so your player-normal file had no ID definition, oh and don't forget to close it when you are done...

I removed the 'droptarget="pldr"', not sure why you would need that for a beginner skin, although you might wanna add 'desktopalpha="1"' to the layout tag if you plan on using DTA

That should do it, I'm a little fuzzy on skinning these days, been a while since I did any, but that should do it, failing that, make sure all your elements are where they should be, all the file names are correct etc etc.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 18:37   #3
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Thanks for clearing up that bit of code but the background image still doesn't show.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 19:04   #4
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
post a link to your skin, can't be more than a few kb right?, should attach here no prob.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 19:20   #5
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Thanks Mr. Jones.

Edit//

Uhhh.. This is a bit wierd, the maximum file size is 102400 bytes and my file is 166kb but it wont let me up-load it so here is a link http://www.myfilestash.com/userfiles/digivis/bleh.wal
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 19:30   #6
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Couldn't download that file, however I recreated your file here.. anyhow, have a play with this, it should be what you are trying to do...

So that's...

code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<WinampAbstractionLayer version="1.2">
<skininfo>
</skininfo>
<include file="xml/player.xml"/>
</WinampAbstractionLayer>



code:

<include file="player-elements.xml"/>
<container id="Main" name="Main window" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1">
<include file="player-normal.xml"/>
</container>




code:

<elements>

<bitmap id="player.normal.background" file="player/mainbase.png"/>

</elements>




code:

<layout id="normal" background="player.normal.background">

<!--insert rest of skin here-->


</layout>

Attached Files
File Type: wal yo.wal (3.7 KB, 104 views)
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 20:47   #7
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Wahoo! thanks Mr. Jones for your help. Greatly appreciated.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2005, 23:29   #8
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Heh, i'm a little confused of how to add the songticker. Do i add it in a new XML script or put it somewhere else?

On a side not, the coding of my skin is going very well, just the song ticker is a bit confusing.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 01:40   #9
JW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 304
If you're just using the standard songticker, it looks something like this. This would go in the same XML file that defines the player container you want the ticker to appear in:

PHP Code:
<text id="Songticker"
     
display="songname"
     
default=""
     
showlen="1"
     
ticker="1"
     
x="278" y="74"
     
w="140" h="15"
     
font="verdana.ttf"
     
fontsize="15"
     
color="#0000FF"
     
align="center"
/> 
"showlen" puts the time at the end of the ticker. "ticker" (I believe) makes it scroll back and forth. I'm also using a TrueType font; using a bitmap font is similar. Then just set your position, size and color, and place it in a group and you're done.
JW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 18:30   #10
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Ah thankyou. I found out i had it in the wrong place.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump