Old 8th October 2002, 12:59   #41
Robouk
Senior Member
 
Robouk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 274
IMO, the best winamp 3 skin ever made (yet)
I really love it, Thank you so much for your hard work.
Like Vica says, skins like these make the rest of us look like childsplay =)

Robouk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 13:38   #42
sunblocker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 15
so bartibartman, thats ur very own fault - now, after u've started implenting custom vis modes in the main window *drool*, is it possible to create ones (or use standard *.vis) by ur own? i think i need to know more bout the maki background how u've implented that stuff
rock on

*mmd3 silver2|orange running in background*
sunblocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 14:03   #43
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
OMG!!!

I LOVE this skin!
This is THE best skin EVER!

/me tries to calm down a little..

A great combination of fantastic gfx skills and very good coding skills!

One suggestion:
I love it that the winshade mode automatically places itself at the top of the screen, but it would be cool if it also automatically sets itself always-on-top when in winshade mode, (ofcourse that would be an option), and then resets itself to whatever AOT state it had before switching to winshade mode...

What do you think about that?

edit:
I found a bug...
When you close the eq/vis/color drawers, you can still "control" the stuff in those drawers through the main window, you put ghost="1" on the background layer right?


-Plague

Last edited by Plague; 8th October 2002 at 14:35.
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 14:38   #44
Pete2K
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Pete2K
DAMN
Pete2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 14:50   #45
Adil
Major Dude
 
Adil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,377
Send a message via ICQ to Adil Send a message via AIM to Adil Send a message via Yahoo to Adil
Quote:
Originally posted by Adil
wow, looks great !
The size is good, the usability is good, the graphics are good... everything's sweet in this skin.. can't wait to have it working.
Now that I tried it I can say that it's an amazing skin...
fantastic man, 5stars skin!
Adil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 15:51   #46
rpeterclark
Major Dude
(Reviewer)
 
rpeterclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,388
Absolutely fantastic!

Why isn't this posted in the Winamp skin section? [edit]Nevermind, you just submitted. I should read before I post.[edit]
rpeterclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 15:57   #47
mc^^^^
Forum King
 
mc^^^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Perth, Australia MSN: mcbriar@ii.net Posts: All your posts are belong to me!!!!
Posts: 2,608
Quote:
Originally posted by Pete2K
DAMN
'nuff said

mc^^^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 19:00   #48
Drex
Senior Member
 
Drex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Somewhere over the mountains...
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to Drex
There are so many awesome color themes to choose from...I wish there was a random color theme mode that changed the theme per song, or something like unto it.
Drex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 19:12   #49
cakemikz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to cakemikz Send a message via Yahoo to cakemikz
i think i am going to cry...where do you all learn to do stuff like this?! tell me NOW..i am not good at coding or in photoshop..grr..you are up there amongst the champions good sir
cakemikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 20:47   #50
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
I have some more suggestions..

When idle, your skin has a [00:00] timer, but when something is playing it goes to be a [0:00] timer (winamp3 standard)..

If you want it to still be a [00:00] timer when playing, I've made a script for that which can be found in the tips & tricks thread (sticky)...
Just a suggestion..

Next suggestion would be to add some margins to the thinger componentbucket..
As it is now, the playlist icon is a little bit to the left, it would look better if you centered it by adding margins to the left of the componentbucket..

thats all for now..


edit:
one more..

the winshade mode, could you make it so it places itself not in top-left corner but like 20 pixels out from the corner (x=20) so that the windows icon is accessable...
As I'm running 1024*768 right now, this will make the winshade fit perfectly between the icon and the minimize button on the window titlebar (I'm having Trillian docked to the right of the monitor too)

But it's a good placement on higher resolutions too..


-Plague

Last edited by Plague; 8th October 2002 at 21:02.
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 20:55   #51
Robouk
Senior Member
 
Robouk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 274
I agree about the thinger icon thing^
Robouk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 21:05   #52
bartibartman
Member
 
bartibartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 58
WOW, thank you...

Can´t believe the great resonance of MMD3.

Thank you for all your comments. It makes me very happy that you like it.

I now try to answer to a few comments:

Some people said: "it uses hardly any resources at all"
Hm, really ?

I figured out that the songticker needs a lot of system resources.
Thats one of the reasons I made the Songticker-Menu for.
But in my opinion the Equalizer-Visualisation and the Advanced-Vis still needs to much resources. But I can´t figure out why.

>> it might be cool if a player could rotate through the
>> different themes on it's own while listening to music...

Yeah that would be cool. But I think its impossible at the moment.
I spend more than 10 hours trying to access the ColorThemes directly with MAKI. But no way...


>> lovley how you managed to change color themes inside
>> the skin, and the cbuttons in every component window

The Buttons in the component windows are easy. Just look at "components-normal.xml". All you need is a new group for the buttons and then simply put this group in the groupdefs for the windows.
For example:

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.statusbar" inherit_content="0">
<group id="wasabi.frame.layout" x="0" y="0" w="0" relatw="1" h="0" relath="1"/>
<group id="wasabi.frame.playerbuttons" x="0" y="-44" w="111" h="44" relaty="1"/>
<LayoutStatus id="standardframe.layoutstatus" x="126" y="-22" relaty="1" w="-156" relatw="1" h="17" exclude="{system}" />
<script id="standardframe.script" file="scripts/standardframe.maki" param="28,39,-56,-84,0,0,1,1" />
</groupdef>


To access the ColorThemes from a skin you need this group:

<groupdef id="main.ctlist" background="player.ct.listbg">
<ColorThemes:List id="main.colorthemes.list" x="0" y="0" w="165" h="100" sysregion="1"/>
<Button id="Switch" action="colorthemes_switch" image="player.button.switch" downimage="player.button.switch.down" action_target="main.colorthemes.list" x="134" y="108"/>
</groupdef>


To do this in a drawer you must fake it. The problem is that the list is always on top of the other elements. In my Script I show the the group for "main.ctlist" only then if the drawer is on its final position. During the animation only a few bitmaps are shown, which look exactly like the real List.

Maybe there is a problem with desktop alhpa. I can´t test it cause I only have a WINDOWS98 system.


What about the ColorThemes? Are there enough? Do you miss some?

To mc^^^^:
>> iv been looking thru the coding, gr8 job man! how long did it take >> you to code/design/make?

Don´t ask. Think I nearly need 100 hours for everything. But I need a lot of time to test some things, because the documentation is still somewhat badly incomplete. But it really made fun...


To epidemic88:
>> oh .. but why are there 2 sets of prev and next
>> buttons in the window shade mode?

I thought it is somehow logically that you can select the next/prev song directly at the Songticker. But most people will search them where the normal Buttons stand, I Think. Rather double than not at all

to sunblocker:
>> so bartibartman, thats ur very own fault - now, after
>> u've started implenting custom vis modes in the main
>> window *drool*, is it possible to create ones (or use
>> standard *.vis) by ur own?

Hm. It´s possible. You can replace one of them. After you unzip the .wal-File there are 6 larger Files in the player directory.
Boxesb0000-anim.png, Box-anim.png, Mmd3b00000-anim.png ....

Its just a sequence of 30 images in one file. The resolution of one image in the sequence is 110*56 pixels.

to ThePlague:
>> I love it that the winshade mode automatically places
>> itself at the top of the screen, but it would be cool if
>> it also automatically sets itself always-on-top when in
>> winshade mode, (ofcourse that would be an option), and then
>> resets itself to whatever AOT state it had before switching
>> to winshade mode...

This is a great idea. I will do this in next update. But it must be configurable. I don´t know if this is everyones taste. But I would like it.

>> I found a bug...
>> When you close the eq/vis/color drawers, you can still
>> "control" the stuff in those drawers through the main
>> window, you put ghost="1" on the background layer right?

Ahhhhh. You are right. That will be fixed. Or is this possibly a feature???

More later... THX for all the comments
bartibartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 21:54   #53
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
I made the fix for that bug, simple xml changes..

PHP Code:
  <layer id="playeroverlay" x="0" y="0" image="player.bgbase.overlay" sysregion="1"/>

  <!-- 
EQ/Vis Button Overlay -->  
  <
group id="onofflayer" x="347" y="23" w="34" h="174" sysregion="1" move="1"/> 
I removed ghost="1" from playeroverlay and replaced it with sysregion="1".
I also added move="1" in onofflayer..

the move=1 is because without it, there is an area which won't be possible to click on and drag the player..
this will fix that..

also, about the fix for the thinger componentbucket, might I suggest that you also insert some margins to the right aswell, to make the last icon centered...

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 22:15   #54
davidadamczyk
Senior Member
 
davidadamczyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wherever
Posts: 101
....wow.

Speechless.
davidadamczyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 23:31   #55
digitalspyder
Senior Member
 
digitalspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maqedoni (f.y.r.o.m)
Posts: 138
oh boy!

this is great, and it's fantastic that you have managed to skin the whole playlist, everything

great work ,great code ,and i think that from this skin there will be a lot of inspiration for every skinner

and i liekd the comments and suggestions that were made from The Plague

Great work man, once again

u deserve all this praying here and at devart also, for one day u have more than 2500 downloads, u desrve it!
digitalspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 23:43   #56
bartibartman
Member
 
bartibartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 58
Talking

Hi ThePlague,

Thanks for the great suggestions...

Quote:
When idle, your skin has a [00:00] timer, but when something is playing it goes to be a [0:00] timer (winamp3 standard)..
Huh. I think you know my skin better than me. I didn't see that so far.
But its funny. I use the standard timer without maki. I only add
timeroffstyle="1" to the timer text tag. Don´t know why Winamp3 makes a difference.
In the begin of coding I used your "Old Winamp timer" script. But I thought it uses to much system resources. (Before I know that the songticker is the bad boy). I will check this out for the update version. Of course the old timer looks simply better.

Quote:
Next suggestion would be to add some margins to the thinger componentbucket..
Thats right. I used leftmargin and rightmargin for the thinger in the winshade mode but not in normal mode. Don´t know why. This will be fixed.


Quote:
the winshade mode, could you make it so it places itself not in top-left corner but like 20 pixels out from the corner (x=20) so that the windows icon is accessable...
Yep... I think I must consider the controlling of the winshade mode a little bit.
But the 0,0 Position ist only for the first call of the winshade mode.
If you move the bar and go back to normal mode MMD3 saves the position for the next call.

And there is another little bug in the first call of the Winshade mode. If you have the windows taskbar on the top of your screen MMD3 places the winshade window nevertheless on position 0,0. So you can´t see very much of it.

I will use getViewportLeft() and getViewportTop() instead of 0,0
(of course getViewportLeft()+20)


...and thanks for the comments...and thanks for the fix of the XML-Bug in the "playeroverlay" and "onofflayer" ....and of course a "Thank you" to your Mother which gave you those eagle eyes...
bartibartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 23:59   #57
QaBOjk
Senior Member
 
QaBOjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Igloo, Canada
Posts: 103
wow this skin is great! way functional, perfect graphics, I love it!]
You put so much work into this and it shows - this is the best skin made! awesome work! I love it
QaBOjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 00:38   #58
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
This skin is absolutely fantastic. Best winamp skin yet. Amazing. Keep up the good work. I cant wait to see your next skin!
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 00:39   #59
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
cLICKING AND DRAGGING IN THE SPECIFIED AREA CAUSES THE TREBLE KNOB TO TURN.

dAMn CAPS LOCK!
Attached Images
File Type: gif w00t.gif (54.6 KB, 294 views)
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 00:42   #60
QaBOjk
Senior Member
 
QaBOjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Igloo, Canada
Posts: 103
I also love how you designed this to look excellent while streaming shoutcast or something! no more position track line, the knobs disapear, and it looks great!! great thinking!
QaBOjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 00:50   #61
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by SNYder
cLICKING AND DRAGGING IN THE SPECIFIED AREA CAUSES THE TREBLE KNOB TO TURN.
Could not replicate bug. Works fine for me.
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 02:08   #62
pyu
Senior Member
 
pyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Singapore
Posts: 119
Send a message via ICQ to pyu
My god - this skin owns all other skins! I like the small mode -> very functional!!

BTW, congratulations on the DS over at deviantart.
pyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 02:27   #63
TheMilhouseMan
The Weird One
(Senior Member)
 
TheMilhouseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 299
I just downloaded this and all I have to say is this is totall awesome. One of the best. 5 stars

TheMilhouseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 03:13   #64
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
hmmm.. the bug doesn't seem to be happening now. I'll see if it was just a freak accedint not cause byt the skin or if it is actually a bug.

I'll get back to you.

{edit} it is doing it again! but I don't know what it is i did that started it up again.
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 03:25   #65
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
ok, i don't know what the fuck is gone, but after like 5 minutes of fucking with the main skin, pressing various buttons, playing some songs, messing with the eq, turning it off and on, opening and opening the draw, eventually... i was able to reproduce the bug. this time (not sure if it was the same as last time) it started happening after I had just opened the eq draw, turned off the eq, and closed the draw.
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 03:37   #66
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
oh oh

my discovery has gotten worse. I have circled more exactly the area, yes areaS, that make the treble knob and now the bass knob move. I happened to stumble on the bass area when I realized the treble area was larger than I thought.

RED = Treble
GREEN = Bass
Attached Images
File Type: gif uh oh.gif (53.1 KB, 308 views)
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 03:50   #67
knole_z
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 146
After the eq has been shown and hidden again you can click through the main window to change the settings. The left most eq bar just happens to be right under that spot you circled. Also happens with the vis drawer - whichever one was last pressed. This is what ThePlague mentioned a while ago. And I'm guessing it is already being fixed?

The thinger icons could also be a little lower as well maybe, to center them?

Otherwise, the most well designed, thought out, attractive, useful skin I have seen. Damn good job

* Just discovered variable font size for ticker - sweet! *
knole_z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 04:52   #68
tucker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 35
I thought that BOOM would own my desktop for a long, long time...think again!! This skin is so imaganitive and detailed...it's exicution is flawless. I can't wait to use it more and to see what will come out next now that the bar is so high!

Rick
tucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 04:52   #69
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
oh. well, I'll be on my way then...
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 04:57   #70
whatboy
Senior Member
 
whatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami,Fl Post : 2392
Posts: 470
Really love the Vis

Is there a web site for this skin to see if there is any updates on it.

I love that you dont need Desktop Alpha on this skinz hehee
whatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 05:02   #71
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Here is an odd bug.

I popped in a music CD that I wanted to listen to. I havent tried that on WA3 yet. It crashed winamp, using this skin.

Now, if Im using the default skin, winamp does not crash, a dialog box just comes up and tells me something along the lines of "the CD audio converter has failed, recommended you restart winamp.".

But while using this skin, it crashes. Didnt try it on any other skins. I guess I could, but wont unless asked because I am very lazy.

Does anyone know brennans email address? I want to ask him if this (http://www.zeropaid.com/news/article.../10082002a.php)
will allow monkey radio to come back online.

EDIT: Nevermind, found his email.
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 06:29   #72
H@Ody
Junior Member
 
H@Ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to H@Ody
Question

Gees can someone give me a help? I can't seem to find this cool MMD3 skin in the Winamp3 skin section and I can't wait to try it out! This skin looks awesome! Some links to the skin or the skin's download page would be extremely helpful thanks!!!

[Edit] Ooops nevermind then I've found the link on page 1. I just downloaded it and MAN~ this is really an eye candy!

Last edited by H@Ody; 9th October 2002 at 06:49.
H@Ody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 09:01   #73
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Not just eye candy, but incredibly functional, accesable, and easy to use.

Now I switch between this and Mercury undecisevely.....
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 09:06   #74
Hawk
Senior Member
 
Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 157
Smile

Quote:
Originally posted by badrad
Not just eye candy, but incredibly functional, accesable, and easy to use.

Now I switch between this and Mercury undecisevely.....
The same here Two of the damn best skins I ever saw
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 10:34   #75
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
great skin dude

i like how you put the colour controls in the main window, very cool.

I think it'd be better if, rather than using so many animation, to do things dynamically, the treble and bass knobs are similar betweem boom and mmd3, but yours are a bit jumpier becuase you use animation.

anyway, thats pretty minor, over all, its really good

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 10:58   #76
simon snowflake
Skin Wizard
(Forum King)
 
simon snowflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium. does anybody know where the toilets are?
Posts: 4,636
Send a message via ICQ to simon snowflake
hmm, seems i don't have any reason to make a skin anymore

damn this is good

don't be a thief of your own life.... : DEXYD - Digitally EXpressing Your Dreams

Join the Winamp Enthusiasts Forum - Join the Winamp Skin Love facebook group:
simon snowflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 17:59   #77
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally posted by knole_z
[B]This is what ThePlague mentioned a while ago. And I'm guessing it is already being fixed?
yup, I made a fix for it which has been implemented..
It was just a minor xml issue..

Quote:
Originally posted by bartibartman
...and thanks for the comments...and thanks for the fix of the XML-Bug in the "playeroverlay" and "onofflayer" ....and of course a "Thank you" to your Mother which gave you those eagle eyes...
lol
thanks dude, I guess I just have eyes for details..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 18:44   #78
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
it went live on the winamp.com site, courtesy of yours truly

great skin man.

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 19:05   #79
QaBOjk
Senior Member
 
QaBOjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Igloo, Canada
Posts: 103
<joke>I dont see it in the Featured Skins area? where is it?</joke>
QaBOjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 23:28   #80
~Gadabout~
Junior Member
 
~Gadabout~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to ~Gadabout~ Send a message via AIM to ~Gadabout~ Send a message via Yahoo to ~Gadabout~
Cool Sweetest skin

This is the coolest skin I have ever downloaded. I've been using the base skin since I downloaded WA3 and never really switched to a different skin. If I did I would use it for maybe a few days. But this skin is a keeper! I keep in winshade mode and it works so sweet!

Anyway, my only problem is that going above 999mins. There isn't enough room for the numbers anymore. See following attached file.

Other than that, I have to say again, I don't think I am going to be switching to another skin for a damn long time
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mmd3.jpg (6.9 KB, 298 views)
~Gadabout~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump