Old 25th February 2003, 09:57   #1
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
kazaa whores

before this starts, may i point out that i am using kazaa lite, the latest version - i'll have no spyware thankyou.

[rant]
so, i tried to download a song i had heard in daredevil (the song happens to be by a band called Evanescene), and it is a very good song - no problems there. So, i load up kazaa, search for it and find it! wow, fantastic, it was labelled at 320kbps...pity kazaa only supports 128kbps really isn't it. i downloaded it anyway (about 3Mb, about the right size for a 128 mp3 of about 3mins 30secs long)...to find out that it was 80kbps,m with a sample rate of 22kHz, distorted like fuck, really bad background noise, practically unlistenable - i'd bet it was transcoded. THANKS!

so i download another version (labelled as 128kbps, closer to 4Mb, looking good!)...but this one isn't any good (the song actually pauses for up to 3 seconds at 4 places).

WHY CAN'T PEOPLE RIP AT DECENT QUALITIES? (by decent, i'll do with 128 off kazaa). and why can't they label things correctly?? ALL of my music (although it's ogg) has the correct titles, and i am more than happy to share.

(i now have the song, due to the ever-reliable IRC)
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2003, 13:29   #2
jon_joy_1999
Major Dude
 
jon_joy_1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The box under the stairs in the corner of the basement of the house half a block down the street from Jerry's bait Shop. You know the place.
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to jon_joy_1999
laugh my fucking ass OFF
none of my music is encoded at anything less than 320K (I rip all my music at rates above 800k and I download (at the college) nothing less than 320k)

jon_joy_1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2003, 13:32   #3
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
...why? 320k is overkill, 256 at highest, 160 will do
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 00:02   #4
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by jon_joy_1999
laugh my fucking ass OFF
none of my music is encoded at anything less than 320K (I rip all my music at rates above 800k and I download (at the college) nothing less than 320k)
320K? Why? If you are that unconcerned about disk space, why don't you just use some sort of lossless WAV compression? Or OGGs?

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2003, 08:48   #5
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
the best rip is about 192, and if u going to download music, then use winmx, kazaa is only good for very big files that lost of people have

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2003, 12:34   #6
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
pity kazaa only supports 128kbps really isn't it.
No, im pretty sure kazaa supports up to 320kbps mp3. I try for a minimum of 160kbps, but often find 192 or 256 files.

Transcoding is a big problem, but i cant really justify complaining about it when its free...
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2003, 16:17   #7
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
u have a good point it is free. but people should at lest be nice enough to give out some good free stuff. Then the world will be a much happyer place. . But with kazaa u never know what u will get, so use a diffrent program to be able to download with more secuitry.

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2003, 18:05   #8
Merlin
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
(Forum King)
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,209
It's been said before - if you want audio quality, then you buy the CD.


as he faced the sun, he cast no shadow
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2003, 23:47   #9
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
yes that is true, but then what about all the programs that loss money b/c no one is downloading them. And who can bet free, instead of $15

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2003, 10:26   #10
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
Quote:
Originally posted by Merlin
It's been said before - if you want audio quality, then you buy the CD.
cd not on sale over here yet. it's only one song, and i can't afford the shipping anyway
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2003, 13:01   #11
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
Is it just me, or are Evanescense nothing special?
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2003, 14:11   #12
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
i have only heard "bring me to life"...and i like it.

but i'll be sticking with my real music for now
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 12:29   #13
mArt|mArt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to mArt|mArt
Quote:
find out that it was 80kbps,m with a sample rate of 22kHz, distorted like fuck, really bad background noise, practically unlistenable
This was probably a mp3Pro-file ... those files has 2 streams, one mp3 and one mp3prostream that holds the highfrequency info... so what you hear is just the mp3 stream, wich is 22khz. this also explans why kazza doesn't understand it.

a mp3Pro at 80kbit does 'sound' like a good mp3 at 128kbit, but since it is more compressed, it lacks some richness in sound according to audiophiles.

more info:
http://www.mp3pro.com/
mArt|mArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 13:11   #14
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
Quote:
Originally posted by mArt|mArt
This was probably a mp3Pro-file ... those files has 2 streams, one mp3 and one mp3prostream that holds the highfrequency info... so what you hear is just the mp3 stream, wich is 22khz. this also explans why kazza doesn't understand it.

a mp3Pro at 80kbit does 'sound' like a good mp3 at 128kbit, but since it is more compressed, it lacks some richness in sound according to audiophiles.

more info:
http://www.mp3pro.com/
ROFLMFAO.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
oh god, wait...let me get my breath and make me stop shaking so i can answer...
firstly mp3pro is really bad
secondly, 80kbps mp3pro does NOT sound remotley as good as 128kbps mp3. whilst mp3pro may sound better at lower bitrates, this sounded especially poor, especially on some decent speakers, with a decent soundcard.
it was 22khz, if not, then the distortiopn was part of the song on the cd, and not on a different rip from a different cd i obtained later.

please, use a decent file format, at a decent bitrate, and a sample rate of 44kHz.

I am no audiophile, but i know bad quality sound when i hear it. this is why i use ogg vorbis. which is MUCH BETTER than mp3pro AND mp3 AND wma.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 14:06   #15
moeburn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
This may be totally irrellavent to your comments, but i suggest you switch to DirectConnect, or its sibling, DC++ (faster, more reliable than DC). First of all it contains more data available than Kazaa (4 petabytes), secondly it has a multi-hub network, inwhich i have never had a problem (but you can to a multi-hub search). There are "user-friendly" hubs where you must label everything correctly, not be sharing incomplete files, and be sharing at least 10GB, depending on the hub.

Best of all, theres no child porn
moeburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 19:16   #16
mArt|mArt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to mArt|mArt
well I'm not using mp3pro... but i have tried it =) cant say i liked it very much... mp3pro doesn't sound totaly crappy if you have a mp3pro decoder,,, (not included in winamp3)

but if the file you got was a mp3pro, you wouldn't know unless you have a mp3pro decoder installed...

and yes... all this is irrelevant... mp3pro sucks, and is not free...
mArt|mArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 19:26   #17
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by moeburn
First of all it contains more data available than Kazaa (4 petabytes)
Usually there's more than 6 petabytes being shared on the kazaa network.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 19:41   #18
Carmagio
Major Dude
 
Carmagio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: My own personal subspace
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Carmagio
Re: kazaa whores

Quote:
Originally posted by binary hero
before this starts, may i point out that i am using kazaa lite, the latest version - i'll have no spyware thankyou.

[rant]
so, i tried to download a song i had heard in daredevil (the song happens to be by a band called Evanescene), and it is a very good song - no problems there. So, i load up kazaa, search for it and find it! wow, fantastic, it was labelled at 320kbps...pity kazaa only supports 128kbps really isn't it. i downloaded it anyway (about 3Mb, about the right size for a 128 mp3 of about 3mins 30secs long)...to find out that it was 80kbps,m with a sample rate of 22kHz, distorted like fuck, really bad background noise, practically unlistenable - i'd bet it was transcoded. THANKS!

so i download another version (labelled as 128kbps, closer to 4Mb, looking good!)...but this one isn't any good (the song actually pauses for up to 3 seconds at 4 places).

WHY CAN'T PEOPLE RIP AT DECENT QUALITIES? (by decent, i'll do with 128 off kazaa). and why can't they label things correctly?? ALL of my music (although it's ogg) has the correct titles, and i am more than happy to share.

(i now have the song, due to the ever-reliable IRC)
Welcome to Kazaa..... wait till you download a game only to find out it's actually black and white, or some old dumb game you didn't intend to d/l.

Every advance in knowledge brings us closer to the mystery of our own being....
Carmagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 20:48   #19
mArt|mArt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to mArt|mArt
yeah.. we all love that, dont we? or how about movies, why do ppl rename everything to something that has nothing to do with that it is?
mArt|mArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 21:22   #20
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
i dont have the bandwidth to dl games

(but i am downloading a 2 cd movie...which i know is the movie (thanks avipreview)).

mArt - must have something to do with them having too much bandwidth and a hatred for all prople
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 22:22   #21
moeburn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
this is what i'm saying, in Direct Connect, i haven't had one download that didnt turn out to be what i wanted (and i've downloaded about 20gb from it) where as on kazaa, it happened very often. Unfortunately, DC is sh*t for getting songs. It mostly only has isos and movies, no self-extracting exes for games (only isos) and barely any songs.
moeburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2003, 22:38   #22
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
i'm telling everyone go use winmx, its got lots of people, easy to find files, u know that they are really called. its faster and with Napmx u can add other servers that can double or triple the files to be found.

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 01:07   #23
moeburn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
With direct connect or DC++, there are no 56k'ers. And everyone must (usually) share a minimum from 5-30gb of data. Imagine that, about 4 petabytes of data, from tons of users, downloading at your modems full speed? Sorry 56k'ers, but this is for broadband!

i tried winmx and i hated it, i could never find the file i wanted. With DC++/DC, i found a very rare game on ISO (combat mission) on the first try! I wouldnt suggest standard DC, it takes up too much system resources. To get DC++, go here:

http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net
moeburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 02:34   #24
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
if u used winmx and did not find the file on the winmx server, thats y there is napmx, b/c people make there own severs and with those u can find anything, i have been able to

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 04:56   #25
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
Meh. I don't care, it is free... the only thing I have to bitch about right now is that
ATMO, I WENT TO YOUR SITE AND CAN'T FIND ANY MORE OF YOUR MUSIC, YOU BASTARD!!! I want more!

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:04   #26
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
damn raven u really want some from ATMO!

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:09   #27
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
Oh yes baby.

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:15   #28
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
ur an odd one, just like dlink always says

and go winmx, use winmx, its better then kazaa, not spy ware, use winmx

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:18   #29
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by White_Raven
Meh. I don't care, it is free... the only thing I have to bitch about right now is that
ATMO, I WENT TO YOUR SITE AND CAN'T FIND ANY MORE OF YOUR MUSIC, YOU BASTARD!!! I want more!
I need a decent host first. I only have 10mb of space with my isp that can outside link and has enough bandwith to handle it, so because of the space limitation i can only have a max of 2 tracks at a time uploaded.

My sites currently hosted with brinkster, and only have 16mb of bandwith per day to play with, so hosting them there isnt an option.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:19   #30
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
Yeah k one question is winmx FREE or no? If NO, there's my answer.

And I am a damned odd one, and proud of it.
Pick of the fucked up litter.

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:20   #31
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
Hmm... Where can I get some more of your muzak then, Atmo? You've gottanutha loyal here!

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:25   #32
zplsoccer
Major Dude
 
zplsoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 585
Send a message via AIM to zplsoccer Send a message via Yahoo to zplsoccer
yes winmx is free download herer , and so is napmx (u it to put more servers on winmx download that here 0

Yes my spelling sucks, I know that and it can't be changed
zplsoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 05:29   #33
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by White_Raven
Hmm... Where can I get some more of your muzak then, Atmo? You've gottanutha loyal here!
Heh, glad you like it.

Give me a few days, i should be on a better server then and i'll upload some more.

If all else fails i'll upload my stuff to http://www.iuma.com
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 14:45   #34
moeburn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
i used to know of a site that gave 500mb free, unlimited transfer, no ads. But then they died (gee i wonder why ). Anyways the best one i know of rite now is www.web1000.com, 50mb free no ads, no online website making crap like geocities or tripod either. They allow everything there, even p0rn!
moeburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2003, 21:28   #35
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by moeburn
They allow everything there, even p0rn!
Yay! P0rnz0r!

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2003, 23:06   #36
Picaune
Banned
 
Picaune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A Yurt
Posts: 474
Send a message via ICQ to Picaune Send a message via AIM to Picaune Send a message via Yahoo to Picaune
Re: Re: kazaa whores

Quote:
Originally posted by Carmagio
Welcome to Kazaa..... wait till you download a game only to find out it's actually black and white, or some old dumb game you didn't intend to d/l.
Hey! Quit dissing Lio- I mean Bullfrog!
Black and White is scripted like heck, but it's the first Bullfrog game in full 3D with translucency and characters that aren't sprites!
Picaune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2003, 23:11   #37
Picaune
Banned
 
Picaune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A Yurt
Posts: 474
Send a message via ICQ to Picaune Send a message via AIM to Picaune Send a message via Yahoo to Picaune
Quote:
Originally posted by Atmo
Heh, glad you like it.

Give me a few days, i should be on a better server then and i'll upload some more.

If all else fails i'll upload my stuff to http://www.iuma.com
I got an Apache on my toaster if all else fails. Best just for hosting muzak since both the compu and the connection are slow as heck (1GHz celeron acting like a 286 over a cable modem acting like ISDN) but it works and I have 6GB left to burn.

Atmo, didn't I ask this before and get ignored?
Picaune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2003, 23:18   #38
Swae
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Swae
ok, i only read the first page....

um, Kazaa isnt a music thing, its just a "file sharing" thing. What it realy is is a way to get those programs you cant afford... ie 3dstudio, maya, photoshop... etcetc, And you are just grabbing shit of other peeps boxes, so even thinking that you can get anything reliable is insane. If you want music files, just search the web, there are tons of sites with all kinds of bootleg, free, or promotional files. Even Live365 is doing some crazy shit now(you have to be hosting a station tho..) Anys, bitching about kazaa is a simple waste of time imo. I mean, you are reaching into someone elses hard drive... what you expect?
Swae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2003, 23:27   #39
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
i expect people who leech off me to have the common decency to label and tag all of their stuff correctly. i do it myself (hell. i even retag all the porn i download, to give more accurate descriptions). yes, it's my harddrive, i don;t see the point of fucking labels up, it's just a waste of time, and is done ON PURPOSE.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2003, 00:19   #40
Picaune
Banned
 
Picaune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A Yurt
Posts: 474
Send a message via ICQ to Picaune Send a message via AIM to Picaune Send a message via Yahoo to Picaune
binary_hero, you are aware that it is now a virtual requirement of Kazaa 2 to get at least 1GB uploads before you can start getting priority in downloads? I think those idiots are trying to get 1GB uploaded by looking for uncool stuff (with no queues) and retagging it to cool stuff to bump up their upload:download ratio.
Picaune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > The Bitchlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump