Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

View Poll Results: Is this thread a repost ??
Yes 0 0%
No 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th April 2005, 17:40   #1
EY0B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Hi all - Winamp shuts down after clicking file,options, help, etc...

I've done the uninstall and reinstall thing. But I couldn't find the winampa.ini just the winamp.ini.

All I do is wanna click file so I can access my shoutcast channels, but I can't.

I have Windows XP Home, Pentium IV 3 gigahertz, 512MB RAM, Service Pack 2. I've been using Winamp for awhile, i'm not sure what I did to make this mess up.

I tried to upload a pic of my desktop with my PC properties and Winamp, but I guess it didn't upload to the forums.
EY0B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2005, 23:05   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Hi,

Are you using any desktop enhancing utilities? (like Perfect Menu, Samurize, StyleXP, etc.)

Are you using the classic or the modern skin?

You said you un- and then reinstalled, so I assume you don't have any 3rd-party plugins installed?

Do you have the latest version of Winamp installed? (i.e. 5.08d, or 5.08e if you have DRM-protected WMA files)

Please post a HijackThis log.

You can try uploading your screenshot again, maybe it will be useful. Click the 'post a reply' button at the top or bottom of this thread:

Maybe the file is too big to attach, try shrinking it down a bit.

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 11:36   #3
EY0B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Hopefully this uploads. I took a picture of the desktop saved it as jpeg in mspaint. I took out the background.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled1.jpg (52.3 KB, 370 views)
EY0B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 11:40   #4
EY0B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
I went to the homepage of winamp, and clicked the latest version or the default one that's on the d/l page.

I don't recall putting any 3rd party plugins. I mainly use winamp for shoutcast radio stations.

I'm using the Modern skin.

I'm not using any desktop utilities. I have Anti-Vir, and Spyware Doctor running in the background. You can see their icons on the bottom right in that pic.
EY0B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 14:15   #5
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
Please post a HijackThis log.
"Hi all - Winamp shuts down after clicking file,options, help, etc..."

Could you explain a bit more what happens exactly?
What file format? (mp3/wma/etc. if relevant)
Does it happen with all files?
When does Winamp shut down exactly?
Do you get any error messages? If so, please post them.

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 14:59   #6
EY0B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
There are no files associated with the problem as far as I know. or pop up error messages/numbers.

I start winamp, click file, it pauses for a moment, then it shuts down.
Attached Files
File Type: txt logofhijackthis.txt (7.6 KB, 448 views)
EY0B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 18:52   #7
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Do you (or anyone else) have any idea what these entries are?

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {6411FF29-83DD-187B-6FD9-46E8EAB6EB86} - C:\DOCUME~1\MICKAE~1\APPLIC~1\ONCEGL~1\PartShow.exe

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Stylemovecitybody] C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\birdsitestylemove\that cake.exe

O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [find roam] C:\DOCUME~1\MICKAE~1\APPLIC~1\THIRDM~1\Modeplussoft.exe

I couldn't find any info about them, but they look suspicious to me. Hopefully someone else here will have time to look at it and give you instructions. If no-one else replies and you don't know what these entries are, I'll post back here later.


I see traces of Creative software. Do you have a Creative soundcard? If so, read this.

Also try the DirectSound output tweaks.


In the first post you said you un- and reinstalled Winamp. Please confirm you followed the instructions as outlined in the clean install procedure.

If you switch to the classic skin, does the problem still occur?

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 20:49   #8
EY0B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
I don't know what those items are. And yes, I have a Creative Soundcard. I could try the classic skin, and will try to un/reinstall again.
EY0B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2005, 14:03   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
According to this post, it would seem that the problem is being caused by Spyware Doctor. Please report the problem to PC Tools. Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump