Old 8th May 2006, 01:14   #1
Toshikazu1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Toshikazu1
Multiple keyboards?

Nothing really to do with WinAmp, just music in general.

I'm currently using a USB keyboard, and would like to have something set up (cheap, preferably) that can play the virtual keyboards I use on something other than my normal keyboard. I would just go buy a MIDI keyboard, but lack of funds keeps me from doing so. Just wondering if anyone knows some way to get a makeshift "keyboard" keyboard to work? I was planning on just modifying the older keyboard and remapping it, but don't want to possibly screw up anything with my new one. Anybody have any ideas?
Toshikazu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:18   #2
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,446
Interesting notion but why would you want multiple keyboards unless you were a:

ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:20   #3
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
its perfectly possible if you use usb keyboards, however you cant have indivdial locks enabled on each, eg pressing caps lock on one turns it off on them all. having multiple keyboards has no real use however since you cant type in two places at once

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:26   #4
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
Do you mean you want to turn a:

into a:

?
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:27   #5
beanboy89
(Major Dude)
isn't very custom
 
beanboy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,004
I've always wondered if I could use two mouses on my PC so I could be able to drag two cards in Solitare at one time.

beanboy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:32   #6
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,446
I can't use two mice, keyboards, etc. because I'd not have that other hand to "do business" with.

We don't mean to be unsympathetic to your plight but please explain more fully what your intentions are and we'll try to help

We're merely out of work comedians
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:41   #7
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
Oversexed out of work comedians.
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:47   #8
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
I think he means two smaller keyboards to work in line with eachother...



but I could be wrong...
psyfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:50   #9
Toshikazu1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Toshikazu1
Quote:
Originally posted by InvisableMan
Do you mean you want to turn a:
[Image]
into a:
[Image]
?
More or less, yes. I have a few "virtual" keyboards. These just show a keyboard and which keys you are pressing and allow recording ( I'm hoping to use them with ACID PRO) through another program (not with a line in, just through SoundRecord if need be.) And moreso, I am also planning on modifying how the older keyboard looks or just getting some way to make the keys push on the keyboard (maybe by putting some sort of holder and using the keys to push down on the key, I'm working on this) and having it work that way. I'm sure this probably sounds confusing, but with all the free time I have, I'm sure I could pull this off. The main reason I want to use the second keyboard (which will have keys remapped if my fauxcover idea wont wor,) is that I could have one remapped (I'm hoping that's possible) and one regular, to type normally.
Toshikazu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 01:53   #10
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
All you need to do is make the computer think that the second keyboard is a... Well, keyboard, instead of a keyboard. The computer is stupid, it won't know better. Simply remapping it could work, using some sort of program inbetween the second keyboard as a proxy. Isn't there something like that out there, already?
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:03   #11
Toshikazu1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Toshikazu1
Quote:
Originally posted by InvisableMan
All you need to do is make the computer think that the second keyboard is a... Well, keyboard, instead of a keyboard. The computer is stupid, it won't know better. Simply remapping it could work, using some sort of program inbetween the second keyboard as a proxy. Isn't there something like that out there, already?
I wish it was that easy, but for some reason the computer isn't showing any sign of the other keyboard being hooked up. I can't type on it, and none of the lock buttons on it are lighting. I'm going to make sure this thing still works (lol sorry for bringing this all up if it doesnt) but would still appreciate any info on how to make it work.

-edit-
Also, I have seen a few freeware keymappers and will be using one for the job if I can figure this out. Thanks for all the help so far everyone.

Also, to clear up (some, hopefully) confusion; I'm learning how to play piano/keyboard and as I'd said before, just can't afford something to work with. I figured there might be some way to do this and you guys are helping tons. Thanks in advance for helping me make this idea work!
Toshikazu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:08   #12
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
You can usually get keyboards for pretty cheap. Used for even cheaper, this sounds like more trouble than it's worth.
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:15   #13
Toshikazu1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Toshikazu1
Quote:
Originally posted by InvisableMan
You can usually get keyboards for pretty cheap. Used for even cheaper, this sounds like more trouble than it's worth.
Yeah, this is true, but unfortunately cheap != free. Free is about the only thing I'm looking at right now.
Toshikazu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:20   #14
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
It has been said that keyboards come to those who wait.
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:21   #15
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,446
Lame old skool Chev humor:

I come on keyboards that wait.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:23   #16
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
Oh damn, we brought out old school Chev, we're all screwed now.

Seriously. Clench up before he gets to you.
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:32   #17
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,446
Seriously, I'm all by myself here at home and it's the opportune time to beat *Standing Hampton into submission.

*Obscure reference to Sammy Hagar's album release in 1981, which is apparently British slang for an erection/hard on/boner/what Chev has in his hand.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 02:47   #18
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
Time to haunt the post your picture thread for potential victims!
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 16:41   #19
Mr_007
Banned
 
Mr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,838
Quote:
Originally posted by ElChevelle
Interesting notion but why would you want multiple keyboards unless you were a:

[Image]
Mr_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 00:59   #20
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
Quote:
Originally posted by beanboy89
I've always wondered if I could use two mouses on my PC so I could be able to drag two cards in Solitare at one time.

The computer world has always been restricted to single mouse use. I've had dreams about the possibilities of "dual-mousing"; multitasking as we know it would be redefined. Now that's one revolution I'd wait for. Hell, we have dual-core CPUs, dual- (and sometimes quad-) GPUs, dual monitors. Why not?

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 01:33   #21
MrMagick
Major Dude
 
MrMagick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Back in Iowa!
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to MrMagick Send a message via AIM to MrMagick Send a message via Yahoo to MrMagick
Actually, check out the Multi-touch Screen. I am realy super psyched to see this in comercial use at an affordable price. Even though I might be 50 by then.

-~MrMagick~-
MrMagick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 01:54   #22
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,446
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_007
Yet another thought provoking post from the mind of Mr_007.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 01:57   #23
MrMagick
Major Dude
 
MrMagick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Back in Iowa!
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to MrMagick Send a message via AIM to MrMagick Send a message via Yahoo to MrMagick
Yeah man, he's just full of it... I mean 'them'

-~MrMagick~-
MrMagick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 06:56   #24
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
Quote:
Originally posted by MrMagick
Actually, check out the Multi-touch Screen. I am realy super psyched to see this in comercial use at an affordable price. Even though I might be 50 by then.
The one part in the video where he sorts and resizes the photos like they're on a table... Wow, just WOW.

*Fantasizes about virtual turntables*

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 09:10   #25
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,333
Give it a market and I give it two years before it's mainstream. I smell Apple picking this up and branding it as theirs like they did with streaming mp3s.
*cough*podcast*cough*
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 23:23   #26
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 10,059
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
If you went and invested time and money into learning and getting AcidPro, getting a cheap midi-kyboard should be easy by comparison. I'm sorry, but it's just a harsh truth, you gotta get a real music keyboard. What you're saying is almost like saying "I have the latest and greatest Photoshop but I don't have a camera...

Just part with the money and get the damned midi keyboard and the wire that hooks up to the sound card. Used or not, small or big, just do it. They're not too expensive. It's not that hard. Steal the money from the last mofo that pissed you off if you have to... Shit... That might be me...

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 01:23   #27
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
Quote:
Originally posted by InvisableMan
Give it a market and I give it two years before it's mainstream. I smell Apple picking this up and branding it as theirs like they did with streaming mp3s.
*cough*podcast*cough*
And mp3 players.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump