Old 8th December 2007, 12:30   #81
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
btw, aero glass is also supported in bussines.

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 13:50   #82
RandomCarpet
Senior Member
 
RandomCarpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BG
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally posted by martin.deimos
i will definitly look at this after my cs-exam today.
which param do you pass with the function?
Good luck with your exam !

I'm passing the "text" param, but I think it crashes regardless of the param.

Oh, and the XUI I'm testing with is one that overwrites the standard implementation of Wasabi:Button, don't know if this is important.

Latest skin: fCrcl
RandomCarpet is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 15:23   #83
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
Exam was fine
I will take a look after i've been to the supermarket

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 16:44   #84
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
sorry i cannot reproduce your bug
PHP Code:
        <Wasabi:Button id="close" x="-20" relatx="1" y="5" h="15" w="15" text="x" action="CLOSE" /> 
PHP Code:
Global Button ex;

System.onScriptLoaded ()
{
    
group sg getScriptGroup();

    
ex sg.getParent().findObject("close");
    
ex.setXmlParam("text""O");

The reason for getParent() is just that the script runs in a subgroup.
the x of this button is converted to O w/o a crash

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 17:39   #85
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Alpha2k6
Did some more 720p video testing.. 1 AVI file, 1 MKV file..

Winamp 5.51: AVI slowmotion unwatchable, MKV does not even open.
Windows Media Player: AVI works, MKV works
Video Lan Player: AVI works, MKV works

OS: Windows Vista Ultimate X86
did you add mkv to the directshow plugin extension list?
Rocker is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 22:10   #86
RandomCarpet
Senior Member
 
RandomCarpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BG
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally posted by martin.deimos
sorry i cannot reproduce your bug
Maybe I did not explain clearly what I meant, take a look at this test skin:
Attached Files
File Type: wal test.wal (2.4 KB, 334 views)

Latest skin: fCrcl
RandomCarpet is offline  
Old 8th December 2007, 22:16   #87
denilson3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to denilson3 Send a message via Yahoo to denilson3
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
As for choppy video, Winamp can't fix a slow computer when Areo is killing it's resources already.
well i'm having stuttering problems on 2ghz core 2 duo, 2 gb ram, nvidia 8600M GT. not a slow computer. and other players work fine.
denilson3 is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 00:41   #88
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
again no crash.
perhaps it's the coloreditor that's crashing for you? or try a clean 5.51 install

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 10:18   #89
Alpha2k6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally posted by Rocker
did you add mkv to the directshow plugin extension list?
No I didn't.. so Winamp is not supposed to play these files by default ?

With matroska getting alot more common these days then it was a few years ago.. it would be a good idea if Winamp could play them
Alpha2k6 is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 12:00   #90
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
@randomCarpet: although I had no crash and the text is set to "", you could try to locate the button itself instead of the group

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 12:31   #91
RandomCarpet
Senior Member
 
RandomCarpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BG
Posts: 265
yes, I've tried that and it doesn't produce a crash, but text is not changed either

Tried the test skin with a clean install on another pc (winXP) w/o Color Editor or any 3d pardy plugins installed - crashes again. Will send you the mini dump file, if that's of any help.

Will be able to test on a vista machine in few hours from now.

Latest skin: fCrcl
RandomCarpet is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 13:03   #92
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
yep please test on a vista machine since i am using vista as well.

btw, i havn't the official 5.51 beta installed. my gen_ff is a lil bit newer (the rest is some pre-5.51 beta stuff), so perhaps it got fixed, although i cannot find any entry in the dev logs. i will try again as soon i have a complete new build from egg

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 15:21   #93
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Quote:
Originally posted by Alpha2k6
No I didn't.. so Winamp is not supposed to play these files by default ?

With matroska getting alot more common these days then it was a few years ago.. it would be a good idea if Winamp could play them
No, I doubt Winamp will advertise that it can play something that depends entirely on the rest of the system to play. I think that Windows is still missing a Matroska splitter and decoders for most formats you can place in the container. The default list of extensions is only of formats Windows can play 'out of the box'. If I recall correctly it has an MPEG 2 splitter and decoder, AVI splitter and then decoders for Microsoft video formats.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 18:02   #94
RandomCarpet
Senior Member
 
RandomCarpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BG
Posts: 265
@martin.deimos: it's probably already fixed then , there is no difference on vista.

Maybe you can try it with a seperate install of this public build.

Latest skin: fCrcl
RandomCarpet is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 18:09   #95
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
i will try as soon i have a new build - this might be the best idea to proov if it's fixed or not

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 18:34   #96
BZRK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
It looks like an old bug that was fixed in 5.5 has been reintroduced. I'm talking about the "Random weird bold font glitch in Local Media views" bug.

When I start Winamp 5.51 (build 1741) everything looks fine, but as soon as I select another local media view, the font in the media library goes bold.

My OS: Vista Business 32bit (Dutch)

Here's a screenshot:

BZRK is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 19:42   #97
wwivhobbit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@wwivhobbit

Quirk #2 shouldn't be happening at all.
There shouldn't be any duplicates (exact same path & filename) in the local mldb.

What I meant by duplicate was more than one version of a song (with the same song title).

When I delete the version that I don't want to keep, Winamp loses the place in the list where I was, and goes back to the top of the list.
wwivhobbit is offline  
Old 9th December 2007, 20:08   #98
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Correct. That is expected behaviour.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 00:34   #99
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
broken album art

Hi,

just installed 5.51 beta. Used 5.5 before.
I have ripped some of my CDs with Easy CD extractor 11 with automatically album art. While the album art looked perfectly in ECDE it is broken in winamp.

It looks like this:

(see attachment)


if necessary, I can provide some sample MP3

I don't know if it is winamp's or ecde's fault.
Attached Images
File Type: png broken_art.png (30.6 KB, 404 views)
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 17:22   #100
wwivhobbit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Correct. That is expected behaviour.
Expected behaviour? by who? This behaviour certainly doesn't lend itself to easily weeding out a 100,000+ song collection.
wwivhobbit is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 20:54   #101
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
The Wishlist is this way -->
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 22:07   #102
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
Back to my broken album art.
It's definitively winamp. I found this http://*******.com/yaku9e app extracted the album art form. The jpegs are perfectly fine. Winamp screws them up.
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 22:27   #103
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
@Wizard.

I have not been able to recreate that problem. You should post some MP3s so that the devs can have a look at them.
Juanus is offline  
Old 10th December 2007, 22:41   #104
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
Juanus,

I have uploaded some sample file: http://page.mi.fu-berlin.de/ossipov/...n%20Ratico.mp3
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 00:20   #105
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Wizard,
There is definitely something weird with the file that you sent me. But I cannot recreate the problem.

Maybe DJEgg or one of the devs could shed some light.
Juanus is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 01:29   #106
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
I can reproduce it and also with this album.

It's basically caused by an id3v2 unsynchronization bug, usually exhibited more frequently by embedding art with iTunes.

Maybe there's a fix for it....? We shall see.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 01:54   #107
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Interesting. Thanks for tracking that down Egg. Even more of a reason not to embed album art.
Juanus is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 08:45   #108
Disasterpiece
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 30
And when will we see the final release? (:

ECS nForce3-A | AMD Sempron 2800+ @ 2000 | 1GB DDR400 A-Data | WD Caviar Black 500GB | ATi Radeon 9550 128MB/128bit | Yamaha YMF724F-V & Sennheiser HD-555 | Samsung SyncMaster 206BW
Disasterpiece is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 09:31   #109
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
usual answer:
as soon as it's time for it

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 11th December 2007, 11:39   #110
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
I found a minor bug today...
When I play a mp3 file that does not have ID3v1 but has title, artist, album etc ID3v2 tags, it does not read the album tag from ID3v2, but reads title. However once I save a new ID3v1 tag, and later remove it, it detects the tag from ID3v2.

For me it displays the folder name as the album as I have 'Smart' metadata reading enabled. Its happened with about 5 mp3 files belonging to 2 albums.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 12th December 2007, 19:12   #111
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Hey

1. How is it going with 5.51 testing? Will see another beta/final before christmas? That would be a big christmas present. Heh..
I still dont think you have looked into my two bugs though since they are not even posted in the "Known issues" section in the first post (and you could reproduce them). I have seen that another guy have got the ML window problem too (posted somewhere in this thread)... :P
I think I will love 5.51 but if the bugs are fixed before final - Even better!
For known issues section:
--------------------------------------------------------
* Songticker not showing songtext at startup (WA Modern Skin, shuffle=off, double-clicking on m3u playlist file)

* Media Library window bug in Modern skins (not Bento) - Opens behind other windows..
--------------------------------------------------------


2. And another thing:
When watching a video in Winamp, I cant change the volum when having the video in fullscreen. I can only change it when the video window is not in fullscreen.
Is it supposed to be like this? Just wondering..
(I forgot to say that I change the volum with buttons/a wheel on my keyboard)..

Keep up the good work
Kn0tte is offline  
Old 12th December 2007, 23:03   #112
Banditbond
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Don't know if its a bug or not implemented by now,
but based on the Winamp Feature Site version 5.5 added:

Quote:
New! Album Art Support for Portable Devices
I synched my Sansa e260 as an MTP device today, but no Album Art was transfered (cover.jpg in each album folder - Winamp 5.51 beta).

Is only IPod supported at the moment ?
Banditbond is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 04:33   #113
avc747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to avc747 Send a message via Yahoo to avc747
Installed 5.51 beta and still same problem as 5.5, there is still no Rip/Burn option, any suggestions on how to once again get this back?

Always loved winamp why I purchased the pro version, but this is a sticking point with me as it is a function I use often.

avc747
avc747 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 05:22   #114
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@avc747

We can't reproduce the problem.

Make sure all of the following are checkmarked in the Installer Options:
  • Multimedia Engine -> Audio Playback -> CD Playback and Extraction
  • Multimedia Engine -> Sonic Ripping/Burning Support
  • Winamp Library -> Core Media Library Components -> CD Rip & Burn
Do you see your CD Drive listed in the Media Library tree?

Or maybe you're confused by it not being listed under the Rip & Burn node?

You can re-enable that option via:
Winamp -> Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Media Library -> Tree Options tab:
Group CD/DVD Drives under the Rip & Burn parent


@TheUniqueTiger

Isn't that expected behaviour?
ie. if there's no album metadata and 'guess mode' is enabled, then it will always use the containing folder for album...

I can't reproduce the problem where it doesn't read an existing ID3v2 album field if there's no ID3v1 tag. Or maybe I misunderstood your post?


@Kn0tte

Nope, neither of those minor issues are fixed yet. Sorry.
Note, I still can't reproduce the ML one (yes, I know Benski said he could).

I can't reproduce the fullscreen video volume issue either.
The up/down cursor keys on my keyboard work fine, as does the mouse in the osd volume level area (I don't have a volume wheel on my keyboard, but the multimedia volume keys for controlling system volume also work fine).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 05:34   #115
avc747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to avc747 Send a message via Yahoo to avc747
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@avc747

We can't reproduce the problem.

Make sure all of the following are checkmarked in the Installer Options:
  • Multimedia Engine -> Audio Playback -> CD Playback and Extraction
  • Multimedia Engine -> Sonic Ripping/Burning Support
  • Winamp Library -> Core Media Library Components -> CD Rip & Burn
Do you see your CD Drive listed in the Media Library tree?

Or maybe you're confused by it not being listed under the Rip & Burn node?

You can re-enable that option via:
Winamp -> Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Media Library -> Tree Options tab:
Group CD/DVD Drives under the Rip & Burn parent
@DJ Egg

THANK YOU - very simple fix that I did not see, ripping right now!
Allan
avc747 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 08:40   #116
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
ColorThemes Menu: R-Click > Options

1. Start Winamp with Bento (for this example)
2. Open Right Click menu and see that there is only 1 CT menu.
3. Now refresh Winamp (F5) and right-click again.
4. There will now be 2
5. For each refesh + menu open there will be one more.

If you now swith to another skin, Def Modern Skin, you'll see that all of bento's options is still in the r-click>options menu. You can go mad till you're menu is very big indeed.

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Can't reproduce this. Usually caused by some 3rd-party plugin...

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 09:50   #117
THPSFG
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: :morF
Posts: 79
Great build and no complaints from a user that doesn't really push Winamp to it's limits, but why oh why do thy great Nullsoft not believe in png compression for thee included skins? I was able to knock off 10+KB from Bento with pngCrush.
THPSFG is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 11:12   #118
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

@TheUniqueTiger

Isn't that expected behaviour?
ie. if there's no album metadata and 'guess mode' is enabled, then it will always use the containing folder for album...

I can't reproduce the problem where it doesn't read an existing ID3v2 album field if there's no ID3v1 tag. Or maybe I misunderstood your post?
I agree on the guessing thing, but in this case the problem isn't that... Suppose you have a file which has no ID3v1 tag, but all ID3v2 tags, still it didn't take the album tag from ID3v2 but it took other tags. This has happened with only some files in this way, so can't really say where exactly the problem lies.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 11:23   #119
Alpha2k6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally posted by THPSFG
Great build and no complaints from a user that doesn't really push Winamp to it's limits, but why oh why do thy great Nullsoft not believe in png compression for thee included skins? I was able to knock off 10+KB from Bento with pngCrush.
Maybe because most users don't have more than a few skins they use.. and 10 Kb is nothing when whe do have 1000 Gb harddrives
Alpha2k6 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 16:43   #120
avc747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to avc747 Send a message via Yahoo to avc747
Quote:
Originally posted by pjn123
ColorThemes Menu: R-Click > Options

1. Start Winamp with Bento (for this example)
2. Open Right Click menu and see that there is only 1 CT menu.
3. Now refresh Winamp (F5) and right-click again.
4. There will now be 2
5. For each refesh + menu open there will be one more.

If you now swith to another skin, Def Modern Skin, you'll see that all of bento's options is still in the r-click>options menu. You can go mad till you're menu is very big indeed.

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Can't reproduce this. Usually caused by some 3rd-party plugin...
@pjn123

Thanks for the extra info, so far having no problems ripping, album art is really not important to me, but I will look into the skins you mentioned. I see you are from South Africa and I am guessing your location is Cape Town, just reminds me of Table Mountain. (My family has been doing upper end safaris for about 30 years in total)
Peace
AvC
avc747 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump