Old 3rd July 2008, 13:31   #41
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@Nunzio

Yes, I can reproduce the Rip & Burn crash.

I've got Sonic installed, but to disable it and repro the crash, all you need to do is move primosdk.dll out of the Winamp root folder.

Clicking on the Rip & Burn root node causes an instant crash.
Clicking on any of the CD Drive views and it stalls on 'Calculating...' for a while, and then crashes.

I think it's related to primo.w5s service/flags...


@Omega X

Yes, we should change the default path for the error reporter output logs, so it doesn't crash on Vista when trying to write to a non-writable path.
Please go to: Prefs -> Error Feedback and manually change the "Path to store data" to a folder somewhere in C:\Users\(username)\*

I couldn't repro the crash however.
When I click the 'Search the web for artist' button in Bento mcv, it just opens the Browser tab and shows the search results.

If I click the 'More information about this artist' button, it goes to Now Playing, but is currently showing 'no results found' due to some serverside issue (was working wonderfully in dev/QA, but is broken in production).


Hmm, just found a bug myself, I think...

Is the Home button in Bento browser opening spinner.com for anyone else, or is it just me?

/me goes off to see what Martin has fixed internally...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 14:11   #42
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Is the Home button in Bento browser opening spinner.com for anyone else, or is it just me?

Same here.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 14:53   #43
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 131
why is the new skin not shown under vista in the tray? i know the ini tweak. but will it come into the final?
Hanschke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 15:01   #44
Cianca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 336
Winamp Drop Box is an emulation of old wasabi playlist?


Have the dynamic drag 'n' drop of song as w3playlist

The universal god of light, love, wisdom and rok n rol
Cianca is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 15:03   #45
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@Nunzio

Yes, I can reproduce the Rip & Burn crash.
Good. Then it's confirmed.
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Is the Home button in Bento browser opening spinner.com for anyone else, or is it just me?
Same here - spinner.com (which it also defaults to when first opening the browser)

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 15:15   #46
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@Hanschke

No. You'll still need to use the winamp.ini tweak

[Winamp]
vista_thumbnail=1

The reason why it's not been implemented in Prefs UI is because it still doesn't work when Winamp is minimized to the taskbar (i.e. it only works when Winamp is visible on the desktop), which still requires a major rewrite to fix it.
Sure, one workaround is to set Winamp to show in both taskbar & systray, so it'll minimize to systray instead...


@ujay/Nunzio/all

Looks like spinner.com is now the browser home page by design...


@Nunzio

The Sonic/Rip+Burn crash is now fixed internally :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 15:49   #47
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@ujay/Nunzio/all

Looks like spinner.com is now the browser home page by design...
I don't know if I like that but... what will be, will be!
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@Nunzio

The Sonic/Rip+Burn crash is now fixed internally :-)
Good news!
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 15:54   #48
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 131
@djegg

thx for the info here a dmp file

http://rapidshare.com/files/126814524/report.zip.html
http://stashbox.org/151282/report.zip
Hanschke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:10   #49
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@Hanschke
Unless I've missed it somehow, what is the crash log from exactly? How do we reproduce it? (step-by-step method of reproduction)

ps. rapidshare still sucks - so I reuploaded the log to stashbox :-)


@YtseJam

Local Media now uses Gracenote in the View Info pane thing.
Bento skin also uses it for the MCV artist/album/search links etc. I'm not sure if there's any way now to stop at least some core cddb components being installed... sorry.

Re: Setup resetting default skin to Bento
This has been fixed internally. Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:44   #50
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,398
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Dependencies dependencies dependencies. With each version there seem to be more and more...

Okay, thanks...

YtseJam is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 17:08   #51
Myorz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Hi.

I experience a weird issue with this new beta version.

I can't reduce the Info frame, at least not totally.

I would like to reduce this latter in order to see the cover, nothing else.



This problem only occurs with Bento, not Big Bento.

Any suggestion ?

Thanks in advance.
Myorz is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 17:18   #52
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Well, it's not the "playlist" frame you've depicted above, but is instead the errr.... uhhh....
"File Info, Visualization, Stored Playlists, Equalizer, Skin Settings" frame!

Anyway, I can also reproduce it...
With Bento, it can not be dragged "as far to" the left as it can with Big Bento, but no biggie!
I could care less.
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 17:52   #53
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Well, it's not the "playlist" frame you've depicted above, but is instead the errr.... uhhh....
"File Info, Visualization, Stored Playlists, Equalizer, Skin Settings" frame!

Anyway, I can also reproduce it...
With Bento, it can not be dragged "as far to" the left as it can with Big Bento, but no biggie!
I could care less.
With all due respect to Nunz and anyone else that monitors this board. We should all care about winamp whether its a feature you personally use or not. thats what makes winamp so great is that everyone can customize it to their own wants and desires. I don't think that anyone should belittle anyone elses request. (Unless you are Kn0tte then you deserved it)

Nunz, what if someone said to you that they could care less about your Sonic/Rip&Burn crash wasnt important because the majority of people install Sonic support anyway? That wouldn't be very nice. Whether its a problem that affects a large or small number of users, lets just aknowlege and let people know that things may not get fixed immediately, but we are listening and appreciating our differences.

We are a community, lets all care about each other. Thank You.

:::steps off soapbox:::
Juanus is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 17:58   #54
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
1) the pl/mcv frame issue is fixed (there are also some smaller related issues)
And this is REALLY a minor issu compared to sonic

2) we've got new default homes, based on some language packs for bento browser.
EN_US spinner.com
ES/NL/PL have some localized spinner sites

the site is loaded according to the language pack.

Since we needed handle the savings now a lil bit different all previous browser homes got reset.

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 18:10   #55
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Wow @Juanus! LOL!

:::steps up onto the soapbox:::

You've berated me!
I never said I didn't "care" about Myorz or any other members or their wishes. I acknowledged the same behavior but also indicated that it was no biggie for me and I could care less about it (in that regard).

If it's something Martin can easily change, then it's all good... and it seems it was an easy change and Martin has already fixed it...
Quote:
Originally posted by martin.deimos
the pl/mcv frame issue is fixed (there are also some smaller related issues)
And this is REALLY a minor issu compared to sonic
:::stumbles off the soapbox:::
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 18:26   #56
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Chill people. It's fixed.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 18:28   #57
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
It's all good, Egg.
It's all good.
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:19   #58
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
Weee... New version. Shame that this bug with repeating few seconds of the song is not fixed (yet?).
Oh well new Winamp works good anyway.

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:33   #59
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@Serpher
Sorry, but we still can't reproduce that problem.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:37   #60
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

@Omega X
I couldn't repro the crash however.
When I click the 'Search the web for artist' button in Bento mcv, it just opens the Browser tab and shows the search results.

If I click the 'More information about this artist' button, it goes to Now Playing, but is currently showing 'no results found' due to some serverside issue (was working wonderfully in dev/QA, but is broken in production).

After cleansing my Winamp settings folder, it no longer crashes but the skin still dies when that button "Search Web For This Artist" is pressed with an error in "browser.maki".

"More Information About This Artist" does work for me however. I did run into that same issue you described earlier but its working now.

Oh, and I hope the final will be digitally signed to avoid the bad looking yellow "unauthorized access" dialog when Winamp calls for elevation. If so then disregard.
Omega X is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:45   #61
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Yes. The final build is digitally signed. Beta builds aren't.

What's the details of the browser.maki error exactly?
What's your Windows OS and Internet Explorer version?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:05   #62
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Error: Thu Jul 03 14:58:02 2008 (Big Bento/xml/xui/browser/browser.maki) - Internal error - #0021.00614F24.189 Script Fatal Error


OS: Vista HP SP1

IE: 8 Beta 1
Omega X is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:17   #63
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 131
I cannot tell you cause i dont get any message but i got this dmp after i hear mp3s and look on my c drive.
Hanschke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:19   #64
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
Error: Thu Jul 03 14:58:02 2008 (Big Bento/xml/xui/browser/browser.maki) - Internal error - #0021.00614F24.189 Script Fatal Error


OS: Vista HP SP1

IE: 8 Beta 1
i got this too after trying to delete the modern skin and the big one cause i dont need them.

vista x64 with sp1
Hanschke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:21   #65
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Maybe I'm wrong, but Bento depends on Big Bento, most components are shared between these skins and the needed files are all in the Big Bento folder.
Koopa is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:48   #66
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Yes. You are right. If you delete the Skins\Big Bento folder, then you might as well delete the Bento folder as well, because it isn't going to work.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 23:19   #67
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 121
Uhm... the two new buttons in Bento's mini panel view (or whatever it is called) look quite... strange.
Maybe they should rather look like the "Play" button... flat or sth...

Just an idea.

Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 23:33   #68
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
The "mini panel view" you refer to is called "Windowshade mode". I assume that you are probably talking about these 2 new buttons...


I rather like them. They "stand out"!
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 05:09   #69
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
anyone else having problems with the in_swf plugin i cant get it to work (no config or anything)

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 06:29   #70
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Really dislike the spinner homepage, tons of script error dialog pop up when I go to the browser.
Set the default homepage to about:blank.

Wonder why the mem usage of winamp continue to increase even when its not playing anything and minimized?
With modern and cpro skins it slowly increses.
With classic skins its pretty stable, mem usage jumped up once.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 13:05   #71
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally posted by robdog2004
anyone else having problems with the in_swf plugin i cant get it to work (no config or anything)
The plug-in has no configuration. The only probelm I'm aware about is, when you open a .swf file, you have to open the video window manually, it doesn't work automatically.

But this is may one of the many format limitations and no missing feature.
Koopa is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 14:44   #72
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@robdog2004
Other than what Koopatrooper already mentioned above, the only other reason I can think of for SWF files not playing is if Flash isn't installed on your system (or if you've got an old version).

Go to http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/ in Internet Explorer and install the latest Flash Player.

Other than that, and as Koopa said, SWF playback is fairly limited (no volume control, no EQ, no seeking, etc) due to the limitations and restrictions of the format itself.


@iron2000
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Known Bugs/Issues:

2. ...Please ignore (don't report) any script errors in any of the online features. These have been enabled for testing/dev purposes, but will be disabled fully in the final release.
Though yeah, I also preferred the old simple homepage.
The thinking behind setting spinner as the homepage is because it shows more of the features working (media monitor, etc). I personally would have chosen www.winamp.com/media/music instead...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 14:46   #73
liyo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
The plug-in has no configuration. The only probelm I'm aware about is, when you open a .swf file, you have to open the video window manually, it doesn't work automatically.

But this is may one of the many format limitations and no missing feature.
Another minor problem, is not possible to change swf volume from winamp, at least in vista.

Thanks for this release!
liyo is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 15:19   #74
rjc862003
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Winamp Performace build 2124

I have downloaded the latest build ( as of this post)

and it works

then I noticed winamp was useing 75+ mb of ram and above average cpu 15-30% load (baring this is not a winamp bug) and some new fuction causeing this I must say this is almost enough to make me quit useing winamp and move to some (other) player [before you ask this is a clean install of winamp]

cpu and memeory useage is not much better useing classic skin's 50mb ram in use 12-20% cpu load

idealy winamp should not use more then 1% when playing and no more then 30% when loading and no more then 20mb of ram at anytime [its a media player not a ubb3r 1eet game)


(End thought )I have been a long time Winamp user and well I am servely disapointed in winamps performace in that its not what it used to be
I usely download every beta I can get but this one well
takes the bloatware cake ( crys him self to sleep) bigger = not better

edit (because I love winamp I have been fumbleing around
with some tools I have found that installing a tool called piro ( a extension for windows task man) I can use the discard fuction to keep the ram useage down to only wat winamp is useing AT THE MOMENT ie under 8 mb maby some kind of fuction that will force winamp todo this and not cache & or buffer anything thats not needed for playback

discarding don't seem to affect how winamp fuctions in the Slightest

[/code]http://www.prnwatch.com/prio.html[code]

Last edited by rjc862003; 4th July 2008 at 15:41.
rjc862003 is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 15:33   #75
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
i should already have the current flash installed im getting where its trying to play the swf as a music file dont know if it helps that the swf files i have a 2 part file (the swf and then the flv file)

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 18:15   #76
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
Will 5.54 be using Lame 3.98, since the final was released today?

http://lame.sourceforge.net/index.php
papadoc is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 18:30   #77
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
@DJ Egg
Thanks for replay.
With that bug I just must remember to use "Cancel" button instead of "OK".

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 18:39   #78
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@papadoc
Yes. Hopefully :-)

@rjc862003
Sorry, but we can't reproduce that issue, certainly not the cpu-usage anyway.
It never goes beyond 2% for me (though usually stays at 0).
Are you running a vis plugin at the time maybe?
As for mem usage... Windows Task Mgr is not accurate and cannot be trusted :-/
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 18:56   #79
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
@ papadoc

Quote:
Originally posted by papadoc
Will 5.54 be using Lame 3.98, since the final was released today?

http://lame.sourceforge.net/index.php
You should be able to just pop the new version in Winamp's Plugin folder anyway. Maybe back up the older one first.

Take care.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 4th July 2008, 20:19   #80
rjc862003
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
screen of the issue in question

Winamp Winamp why has tho for saken me wat is they bidding thy winamp

http://img395.imageshack.us/my.php?i...wwhywtfxq2.jpg

playing one song 192kbs 44100 24 bit direct sound no visualation or other crap winamp clean install

even if tastman has like a 10% err 50mb is a hellis ammount of ram for a media player
rjc862003 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump