Old 9th January 2007, 02:43   #1
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
sounds like water drops in songs.

Motherboard: Intel D850GB
CPU AND RAM:1.7 Ghz processor 1gig ram
Sound Card or Chip:Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM AC'97
Video Card: nVidia GeForce FX5500
Operating System: Windows Xp sp2
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Winamp version: 5.32
Instalation: Pro Install
Plugins: installed plugins
Settings: shared
Hijackthis: hijackthis
sample of problem: http://psychomaniac.trybalink.net/Fo...din%20feat.mp3
Problem: my songs sound like i have water drops in them,unless this song does have water drops in it. please check. i already did the direct sound tweaks and that did not help.
also my winamp closes or crashes on its own without a warning if it sits for along time idle.

did clean install then put my plugins (all of dros plugins) in so it could be a plugin maybe ???
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 01:26   #2
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
can anybody even confirm if the song does or does not have water drops in it? thanks.
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 08:53   #3
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
That song plays fine here, I didn't notice anything peculiar.

Does it happen for all songs, or only that one?
Does it play ok in other media players?

As for the crashes, error details would be useful (if there are any).

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2007, 00:13   #4
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
no its more then one song. but i would swear my life that they never had the water drops in the song before. oh yeah. the water drops DO NOT appear in other media players.

Last edited by psycho_maniac; 11th January 2007 at 01:14.
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2007, 09:38   #5
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,078
Are you using DirectSound or WaveOut for your sound output?
(Preferences>Plugins>Output)

Try the other one

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2007, 12:32   #6
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
it does it in both. so far ive tried it in windows media player modern and classic players and goldwave media editor. could it really be one of the plugins i am using? i even installed winamp in a new folder and still does it. i tried using classic skin to see if memory use was an issue but its not.

heres some more info:
Output format: 44100 Hz, 16 bits per sample, 1 channel
Active buffer size: 470 ms (41454 bytes)
Device: "02: Intel(r) Integrated Audio"
Mixing: software, primary buffer: inactive

Buffer playback cursor: 12348 bytes
[===================#============================================]
Buffer write cursor: 8594 bytes
[=============#==================================================]

Data buffered:
Total: 454 ms (40004 bytes)
Async buffer: 26 ms (2304 bytes)

Buffer locks done: 860
Underruns: 0
Time played: 0:22.230 (1960686 bytes)
Time written: 0:22.683 (2000690 bytes)
Total time played: 4d 22:13:56.076
Volume: 0.000000 dB / 0.000000 dB

also i cannot get the thing next to the spectrum analyzer to come up. i even clicked on it and no go..
see here

Last edited by psycho_maniac; 11th January 2007 at 13:09.
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2007, 20:52   #7
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
You mean the beat visualization thingy? The main window needs to be wider for that (i.e. increase the size of the main window).


Are you sure you tried the DirectSound output tweaks?
It says "Mixing: software", whereas if hardware acceleration is enabled I believe it should read 'hardware'.

Also, were you playing a mono file when you copied that text?
[edit]
Duh, that's what the screenshot shows...
Or did you checkmark 'Force mono' in Prefs > Playback?
[/edit]

As for the Winamp install to a new folder, was that a clean install with no third-party plugins?

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2007, 00:28   #8
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
ok i feel dumb for the visualization thing. i guess it wasnt wide enough. ok well i did a totally clean install with no plugins and no settings imported and NO WATER DROPS. now how do i go and find out how they got there? and i DID have force mono, because the way my speakers are set up.

[edit1]is there any way i can extract ALL the plugins from dros exe so i can install them one at a time?[/edit1]

[edit2] if i import my settings and that is why the water drops are there(im being cautious on everything) is there any way i can reset the settings? (delete winamp.ini then open winamp?)[/edit2]

[edit3] ok its my settings. i just imported them and i got the water drops again. then took the previous winamp.ini file i copied to a temp folder and put it back and its gone. [/edit3]

[edit4]ok i found the problem....its force mono[/edit4]

Last edited by psycho_maniac; 12th January 2007 at 02:03.
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2007, 12:43   #9
john@ROCKNTV1
Registered User
 
john@ROCKNTV1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: i have broken not a single rule and you deleted my sig craigF.. OK MY TURN CRAIGF and smelter thank for bumping bulks flame post
Posts: 641
Re: sounds like water drops in songs.

Quote:
Originally posted by psycho_maniac
Motherboard: Intel D850GB
CPU AND RAM:1.7 Ghz processor 1gig ram
Sound Card or Chip:Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM AC'97
Video Card: nVidia GeForce FX5500
Operating System: Windows Xp sp2
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Winamp version: 5.32
Instalation: Pro Install
Plugins: installed plugins
Settings: shared
Hijackthis: hijackthis
sample of problem: http://psychomaniac.trybalink.net/Fo...din%20feat.mp3
Problem: my songs sound like i have water drops in them,unless this song does have water drops in it. please check. i already did the direct sound tweaks and that did not help.
also my winamp closes or crashes on its own without a warning if it sits for along time idle.

did clean install then put my plugins (all of dros plugins) in so it could be a plugin maybe ???
psycho_maniac

you did not say what format you were encoding to,
so i will tell you i have heard this in many streams useing
low bitrate mp3, it seemS to become less as you encode toward 64kbits,the reason i like aacp.
john@ROCKNTV1
john@ROCKNTV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2007, 13:29   #10
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,293
i already found the problem its in the force mono function.
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump