Old 13th August 2001, 21:49   #1
reidjudd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5
avstut00 (Huh?)

Ok, I downloaded the simple
box project: AVSTUT00

Compiled with VisualC++ without problems
and this APE file was created:

c:/programfiles/winamp/plugins/avs/avstut00.ape

I shutdown and restarted WinAmp,
looked in the WinAmp
Preferences->Plug-ins -> Visualization

And there is no "Tutorials / BOX v1.0"
listed in the list.

So what else should be done
in order to get this most simple
APE to run?
reidjudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2001, 02:22   #2
Lucid DM
Eat, skin, sleep. Repeat.
(Major Dude)
 
Lucid DM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: all over the place.
Posts: 1,490
Send a message via AIM to Lucid DM
I believe APEs run in AVS. So put it in your AVS folder, run AVS, and it should be in the Add menu.
Lucid DM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2001, 03:12   #3
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
Mind if ya could send me that APE since I don't got a C++ complier? That would be good!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2001, 15:59   #4
reidjudd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5
Hello Robert Zaichkowski,

You wrote:

> Mind if ya could send me that
> APE since I don't got a C++ complier?
> That would be good!

No problem.

Here is the compiled
project with the APE
The compiled files are
copied back to the top
level directory.

I copied both the avstut00.avs
and the avstut00.ape files to the
WinAmp plugin directory:

"C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\avs"

as suggested by "Lucid DM".
Then I exited and restarted WinAmp.

However, I still don't see any
simple box throbbing to the beats.
Let me know if it runs for you in
your environment.

Maybe somethings messed up with
my WinAmp environment.

Reading the WVS docs, I see that
perhaps we need some sort of .dll
to be created and placed somewhere
in the Winamp\Plugins directory.
Attached Files
File Type: zip avstut.zip (82.9 KB, 106 views)
reidjudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2001, 16:07   #5
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
Drat! The link does not work since it will only create a PHP file!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 20:06   #6
reidjudd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5
> Drat! The link does not work since
> it will only create a PHP file!

We found a bug in the Winamp
forums attachment process.

It creates the correct file (84859 bytes
in size) with the wrong name. Just
rename it to: 'AVSTUT.ZIP' and it will
open with your favorite de-zipper.
reidjudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 04:16   #7
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
OK! I already got the file that you sent by e-mail, Reid! And I wrote to you about what was wrong!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 18:14   #8
dirkdeftly
Forum King
 
dirkdeftly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cydonia, Mars
Posts: 2,651
Send a message via AIM to dirkdeftly
Umm...in MY C++ compiler, it won't open correctly, and it doesn't look like the needed header files are there...help? (Maybe I should go back to rhide...)

"guilt is the cause of more disauders
than history's most obscene marorders" --E. E. Cummings
dirkdeftly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 20:20   #9
LittleBuddy88
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to LittleBuddy88
You made an *APE* object witch is a file that is used in avs.
Start avs & check in...
+
Render APE
*it should be here*




Linus
LittleBuddy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2001, 15:22   #10
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
It will appear in the Tutorials, NOT Render APE! I checked!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump