Old 29th October 2001, 10:43   #1
sylvio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2
IP vs domaine name

Hi,

your product is very great, mutiple brodcast/quality, and it is interesting to make it work.
Which I did.
But I spend hours.

The mistake I made? Well dosen't look like a mistake to me:

- making a request to http://myMachineName:8000/listen.pls
>> the stream work for 2-3 sec, and stop.

- same installation, but the request is whit IP adresse
http://192.168.1.1:8000/listen.pls
>> it works fine.


Any solution to avoid hard-coding IP adresse in web page... well DNS are made for that.

Thx
sylvio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2001, 07:29   #2
asphaltsurfer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: switzerland
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to asphaltsurfer
my server did fine with this : http://myMachineName:8000/listen.pls
asphaltsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2001, 10:35   #3
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
You are sharing a cable/DSL connection among several machines, I guess?

Either of "mymachine" or "192.168.1.1" will only work inside your own internal network, but not on the Internet.

The first thing you need to do is to run Shoutcast on the machine that's directly plugged into the cable/ADSL modem. Then find out that machine's outbound IP address -- the one that doesn't begin with 192.168.*. (To find out a machine's IP addresses, run "ipconfig" from the MS-DOS prompt.) Then publish that outbound address.

Sadly, in all likelihood you can't publish a "hostname" instead of an IP address on your web page, because you actually need administrative control of a DNS server at your ISP in order to add a mapping from a certain hostname to your IP. Most people won't have that.

Alternatively, you may try one of numerous dynamic DNS services out there. But you'll probably find them unreliable.

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 12:04   #4
sylvio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2
thank for your help.

I'm using it as a intranet radio, intramuros only, so there's no need to be accasable from the net.

I find the solution:
Using http://myMachineName:8000/listen.pls dosen't work,

but using http://myMachineName.full.netwok.name:8000/listen.pls
works very well.


I still wander why with the firs URL the stream works for 2-3 sec.
If it wouldn't work at all would be more understandable.
sylvio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump