Old 19th November 2018, 18:47   #81
niwrad777
Junior Member
 
niwrad777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Perú
Posts: 29
The bug is present in bento and big bento, the menu is not show correctly, this problem is present in spanish language pack and anothers language packs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_16.png
Views:	206
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	54206   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_17.png
Views:	128
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	54207   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_18.png
Views:	135
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	54208   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_19.png
Views:	127
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	54209  
niwrad777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2018, 00:35   #82
itzklyde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Hi there. Long timer Winamp user. I saw a new version posted and wanted to try it out. Whenever I try to import my library, it crashes. Tried multiple times. My library has like 3k songs in it but putting them in there handful at a time works.
itzklyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2018, 00:26   #83
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by itzklyde View Post
Hi there. Long timer Winamp user. I saw a new version posted and wanted to try it out. Whenever I try to import my library, it crashes. Tried multiple times. My library has like 3k songs in it but putting them in there handful at a time works.
It seems to me that the bug in in_mp3.dll still exists. I have seen this reported multiple times now.

What we need tho is for u to watch the import in prefs in 'watch folders' and figure out which mp3s are causing the crash and then upload them so the devs can fix the issue.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2018, 13:26   #84
bjjocsdradio
Member
 
bjjocsdradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ocean City, MD
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to bjjocsdradio
Testing new release throughout the day. Happy to at least see some progress!
bjjocsdradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 20:00   #85
justtesting
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by anonim1979 View Post
BUGS (Tested Windows 8.1 64bit):
3. WASAPI
On my system (Realtek HD Audio, drv. 6.0.1.7891 from Windows Update) WASAPI will always set Winamp's per-application volume (see #1) to "0" when playing any MP3 with VBR (you can see this by watching Volume Mixer) and some CBR with header/delays (see example below) - you have to move volume slider a little for it to "jump" to set volume to audiable on each such file played.

CBR:
I get that problem with a Realtek ALC892 with fairly recent 6.0.1.8573 HDA drivers under 1809, no volume when loading a track with WASAPI, requiring to move the volume slider. The window position problem under the main skin was the first problem I've faced on a clean install in another system, obviously it wasn't noticeable on a upgrade from which the correct positions was already stored. If you find more stuff, there's a dedicated thread for bug reports here.
justtesting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 19:42   #86
CorumUK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Great to see development continuing on winamp. Aside from a few short periods experimenting with the alternatives I've never found anything that beats winamp for simplicity and reliability.
Converting flac to mp3 worked fine on the latest beta and the old ASIO plugins still work fine.
The included wasapi plugin doesn't want to play though, I get an error box stating 'client->initialize: 8889000a'
CorumUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2018, 11:51   #87
retromann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by justtesting View Post
I get that problem with a Realtek ALC892 with fairly recent 6.0.1.8573 HDA drivers under 1809, no volume when loading a track with WASAPI, requiring to move the volume slider. The window position problem under the main skin was the first problem I've faced on a clean install in another system, obviously it wasn't noticeable on a upgrade from which the correct positions was already stored. If you find more stuff, there's a dedicated thread for bug reports here.
I have the same issue on my Xonar D1.

Windows 10 x64
CMI8788 APU
Driver Version: 10.0.8.1825
retromann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2018, 21:19   #88
thevan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
Just wanted to say thank you for the release. Quicker start times and no more lockups when closing out. The search bar on the playlist is a nice feature as well.

The main thing I'm missing (other than a hotkey for the main search bars, and if there is already then I haven't found it) is a way to sync libraries across different computers over the LAN. Pain to copy things over manually. The best I've found is to get synctoy to link the folders but it's far from ideal.
thevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2018, 21:31   #89
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by thevan View Post
The main thing I'm missing (other than a hotkey for the main search bars, and if there is already then I haven't found it) is a way to sync libraries across different computers over the LAN. Pain to copy things over manually. The best I've found is to get synctoy to link the folders but it's far from ideal.
Start a new thread on this, I'd like to discuss it. Or post in the qnap thread I was in, where mapping a drive letter worked.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 13:19   #90
Tayra112
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Hi I can't get the download to start on the website.
The link point to "http://www.winamp.com/#" and nothing happens...
Tayra112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 13:42   #91
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
Just checked it and the link is working here OK. Takes me to the download site.
Cheers
Gerry
gerryharris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 14:36   #92
Reissuleipa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerryharris View Post
Just checked it and the link is working here OK. Takes me to the download site.
Cheers
Gerry
The link definitely does not work. Doesn't work for me with FF or Edge and doesn't work for my friend.
Reissuleipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 15:39   #93
jezpakani
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Download link is not valid

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerryharris View Post
Just checked it and the link is working here OK. Takes me to the download site.
Cheers
Gerry
The link most definitely does not work so you must have a cached version of the page in your browser or something. Viewing the code reveals the following which shows it links to nothing:

<a href="#" class="btn btn-download"><span>Download</span></a>
jezpakani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 17:25   #94
tornAsoul
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
I cant download winamp, please help!!

Download button not working, it redirects to winamp.com/#.

Please Help!
tornAsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 21:12   #95
dgcurtis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Ditto on not being able to download from the site. However, the ninite installer does install 5.8 build 3660.
dgcurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 22:34   #96
Delaser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Download button broken?

Download button on the main page doesn't do anything.

Tried on chrome and edge on my desktop, and chrome on my phone.

Is there an alternate dl link?



[Edit: DJ Egg]

Download link now fixed. Also added direct link to first post in thread.
Delaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2018, 12:48   #97
typhoon_lee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Is there a better place to put bugs?

Whenever I try and load large numbers of files into 3660, in which the ID3 tags are loaded upon loading the files into the application, it will shut down winamp:

Event viewer:

Faulting application name: winamp.exe, version: 5.8.0.3660, time stamp: 0x5bc9048d
Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.9518, time stamp: 0x5b690a0f
Exception code: 0xc0000417
Fault offset: 0x00066812
Faulting process id: 0x2fe8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d4908259554632
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.9518_none_508db366bcbd18c4\MSVCR90.dll
Report Id: 62a1dd65-5c17-42cc-9c14-ce98786cdbbe
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

EventData

winamp.exe
5.8.0.3660
5bc9048d
MSVCR90.dll
9.0.30729.9518
5b690a0f
c0000417
00066812
2fe8
01d4908259554632
C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.9518_none_508db366bcbd18c4\MSVCR90.dll
62a1dd65-5c17-42cc-9c14-ce98786cdbbe

Previous version of winamp did not do they, they did take a long time, but never crashed.

W10x64/8700K/64GB ram/NVME SSD
typhoon_lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2018, 12:52   #98
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
yes, i believe there is a long standing and ongoing issue with the in_mp3.dll plugin that was supposed to be fixed with this release, but apparently was not.

what the devs need you to do is watch your files get scanned on the "watch folders" tab in prefs, and see which ones halt and crash winamp. do NOT delete or edit them! copy them as is to a location out side your library. test each one to see if it crashes winamp. then upload them on dropbox or similar and link to them here so the devs have example files to reproduce the issue with. thx.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2018, 14:21   #99
typhoon_lee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by typhoon_lee View Post
Is there a better place to put bugs?

Whenever I try and load large numbers of files into 3660, in which the ID3 tags are loaded upon loading the files into the application, it will shut down winamp:

Event viewer:

Faulting application name: winamp.exe, version: 5.8.0.3660, time stamp: 0x5bc9048d
Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.9518, time stamp: 0x5b690a0f
Exception code: 0xc0000417
Fault offset: 0x00066812
Faulting process id: 0x2fe8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d4908259554632
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.9518_none_508db366bcbd18c4\MSVCR90.dll
Report Id: 62a1dd65-5c17-42cc-9c14-ce98786cdbbe
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

EventData

winamp.exe
5.8.0.3660
5bc9048d
MSVCR90.dll
9.0.30729.9518
5b690a0f
c0000417
00066812
2fe8
01d4908259554632
C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.9518_none_508db366bcbd18c4\MSVCR90.dll
62a1dd65-5c17-42cc-9c14-ce98786cdbbe

Previous version of winamp did not do they, they did take a long time, but never crashed.

W10x64/8700K/64GB ram/NVME SSD
I can't seem to edit my post (I don't see any pencil next to my post where I can edit it) but I figured out what the problem is:

If any mp3s are encoded with FHG encoder, it crashed when I load them into winamp.

If I just reencode them with LAme, they zip right in.
typhoon_lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2018, 16:07   #100
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
that would be odd b/c thats what winamp used to use.

it may not be that, it might be another issue, like with the tags or mp3 headers, etc, that gets "corrected" by the re-encoding.

also, you lose quality re-encoding just FYI.

it would really be helpful if you could upload some example files, (ones that cause the crash).

ps. u can only edit a post for a limited time after making it.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
downoad, winamp. site

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump