Old 1st March 2001, 04:48   #1
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
Ironically enough, that statement really DOES mean happy...

I ACTUALLY downloaded Windows 2000! uh, tools. I mean. I can't actually use em, cuz the only legal OS I have is 95/98...

I know this is useless, but I'm really happy I got it (I though I'd surely have to get broadband to download an OS sucessfully), and I never knew how much I needed transitional effects in windows...

Now if someone can just tell me how to bypass the worthless Admin logon screen and the Ctrl-Alt-Del thing... not to sound picky or anything...

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 05:03   #2
bonj
Major Dude
 
bonj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: HEH!!!! :D
Posts: 920
Send a message via AIM to bonj
Disable login screen:
Start > Settings > Control Panel > Users and Passwords > uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer"

Ctrl-Alt-Del thing? You mean clicking an extra button to get to task manager? Use Ctrl-Alt-Esc instead. Or do you mean the thing to login? If that's it, it's also in the Users and Passwords control panel under the advanced tab.

heh?
bonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 05:37   #3
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
You know what, I DON'T HAVE usernames & passwords! Wierd, huh? Doesn't matter, though, I just used TweakUI and now I don't have to logon anymore. The Ctrl-Alt-Del thing was REQUIRED at logon, just before you entered your login ID/Pass. It said it was for added security. Whatever...

You know, it's been a while since I was this excited over an OS.

*response* You were once excited over an os? What kind of FREAK are you?

*answer* Well, not exactly, I just did a shell swap with Win98, which I though was amazingly cool. Hey! Don't call me a freak you piece of shit!


?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 06:16   #4
bizznit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 162
i've heard of that ctrl-alt-del thing before. ReDVsion didn't you mean to download windows millenium instead? win 2000 is for workstations and networking. it's windows NT and 98 together. the time you spent downloading those files must have costed you a lot. about 9 hours on 56k modem?
bizznit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 15:43   #5
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
FUCK NO I didn't want to download millenium! Shit. Anything that comes with WMP7 is off my list. I'm perfectly happy with 98 on that front. Besides, it's a lot easier to do a 95 shell switch with 98.

I KNOW win2k is for networking & workstations, but it's also a lot more stable, and is just as compatable (IMO) as 95/98/ME. In fact, the next time I format, I'm considering having 2k as my only OS, instead of having both 2k & 98.

And it took me a little longer, actually. But it was worth it.

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 16:29   #6
Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 3,396
Forget Win ME, It was well worth getting Win 2000. When Win 2000 loads you login, this can be done automatically which is what I have.

It may be more for networks etc but it much better than then other verssions. No crashes or anything and it'll stay on for days with wanting a reset.

I've also got Win 98 on but only for games that don't work in 2000.
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 20:19   #7
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
Of course, any game that DOESN'T work in 2k is probably older than egypt, anyway.

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 22:12   #8
xapec
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
were did you d/l it from
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 23:10   #9
Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 3,396
There are some newer games that don't work in Win 2000 though.
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2001, 23:12   #10
Somebody
Major Dude
 
Somebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,531
For example:

American McGee's Alice doesn't work with win2k.
Somebody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2001, 04:42   #11
Anacific
Major Dude
 
Anacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,744
Send a message via AIM to Anacific
and some games don't work in winME either

[no i don't use winME, one of my friends has it]

"He who desires but acts not, breeds pestilence." - William Blake
WSPA | WWF | RSPCA | AAPA | Green Peace - Know and help...
The Rainforest Site | The Animal Rescue Site - Click and help...
Anacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump