Old 21st January 2006, 19:48   #81
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Keep up the good work. I would love to be able to stream directly to my Airport Express from Winamp without going through itunes.

I'd be glad to volunteer for any beta testing.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2006, 13:30   #82
SarCaSM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 289
As would I .... I'll alpha test too, whatever. I've been waiting for someone to do this.
SarCaSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 00:50   #83
tiemus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
go Markus1980Wien, go!

t
tiemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2006, 08:06   #84
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
awesome!

I have been looking for a plugin like this for so long...iTunes blows and using it to stream to the AX is a nuisance, to say the least.

Anyone try and have luck with this? I've been giving it a try for a little bit but no luck thus far. Here's hoping!
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 18:28   #85
nnyFry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Markus1980Wien is the man! That plugin works great! Winamp is so much better than itunes, and you can watch videos on it too while listening to them through a surround system. Only problem is a 7 second delay, which if i pause the video for 6 seconds or so syncs the video and audio up. Any thoughts on how to beat that? I got the same problem when i setup the shoutcast broadcast server, used the plugin for winamp, and then set itunes to catch the stream. Thanks.
nnyFry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 23:03   #86
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally posted by nnyFry
Markus1980Wien is the man! That plugin works great! Winamp is so much better than itunes, and you can watch videos on it too while listening to them through a surround system. Only problem is a 7 second delay, which if i pause the video for 6 seconds or so syncs the video and audio up. Any thoughts on how to beat that? I got the same problem when i setup the shoutcast broadcast server, used the plugin for winamp, and then set itunes to catch the stream. Thanks.
Markus (keepin it short) is indeed the man. I got it to work as he advertised using wireless, for about 17 sweet sweet seconds. Wired apparently works fine, but for the delay. A delay is to be expected because of what has to happen to get the sound to the AX. As for the syncing, it's unlikely you'll be able to do much better, I think, than what you're doing. Even with iTunes there's a delay, and the mac-only app that allows all system sounds to go through the AX (including video) is not recommended for video because it won't sync.

These days iTunes has some way to figure out the lag between your computer speakers and the AX speakers and thus can sync them, but I don't think we'll see anything like that from non-Apple sources...

Keep it up Markus!
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2006, 20:15   #87
puumuisti
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Re: AirPort Plugin

Quote:
At the moment this plugin consists of 3 files.
JustEPort.dll (copy to winamp-directory)
out_airport.dll (copy to winamp-directory)
_out_airport.dll. (copy to winamp/Plugin-directory)
maybe stupid question but should plugin found somewhere in winamp ?
and where is _out_airport.dll file ?
puumuisti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2006, 23:00   #88
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
Go here http://sourceforge.net/projects/winamp-airport and download the files. There are a bunch of them and kind of confusing, but then just follow this tiny guide I made:

/out_airport/common/out_Airport.dll AND out_Airport_.dll

/out_AirPort/out_AirPort/bin/Debug/JustEPort.dll

As the author mentioned on this thread, put the dll's like so:

JustEPort.dll (copy to winamp-directory)
out_Airport.dll (copy to winamp-directory)
out_Airport_.dll. (copy to winamp/Plugin-directory)

NOTE: _out_airport.dll doesn't exist...it's now out_Airport_.dll

Good luck. Supposedly it works great wired, though wireless only works for a short time.
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2006, 09:44   #89
puumuisti
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
thanks! it works and guess what!? with wireless !!!

little lag when changing song, but it won't bother me.

edit: i am using winamp 5.2 and my computer is connected by wired net to AP and airport express is in bed room. wlan is on 11mbs.
puumuisti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 16:59   #90
lord_spike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
New program for Windows

I have made oAEP, a program for streaming sound and music to an Airport Extreme for Windows.

Get more info here:
http://www.ovesens.net/oAEP

BTW - Thanks Jon for JustePort
lord_spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 19:03   #91
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Excellent, lord_spike.

I downloaded "oAEP.application" but I can't seem to open it. Your home page says I need ".NET 2.0" What is that and where do I get it?

Thanks so much.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 01:20   #92
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally posted by kaatinthehaat
Your home page says I need ".NET 2.0" What is that and where do I get it?
You can get .NET 2.0 from Microsoft. Just go to their webpage and take a look for it.
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 01:36   #93
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
Re: New program for Windows

Quote:
Originally posted by lord_spike
I have made oAEP, a program for streaming sound and music to an Airport Extreme for Windows.

Get more info here:
http://www.ovesens.net/oAEP

BTW - Thanks Jon for JustePort
I downloaded .NET 2.0 and fired up oAEP but .NET gave an error: "Cannot download the application. The application is missing some required files..."

It brings up a log if you click Details, and this is what I found:

"ERROR SUMMARY
Below is a summary of the errors, details of these errors are listed later in the log.
* Activation of C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\Downloads\oAEP.application resulted in exception. Following failure messages were detected:
+ Downloading file:///C:/Documents and Settings/Owner/My Documents/Downloads/oAEP_0_7_0_11/oAEP.exe.manifest did not succeed.
+ Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\Downloads\oAEP_0_7_0_11\oAEP.exe.manifest'.
+ Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\Downloads\oAEP_0_7_0_11\oAEP.exe.manifest'.
+ Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\Downloads\oAEP_0_7_0_11\oAEP.exe.manifest'."

lord_spike I know you don't do support, but what's missing? Thanks!
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 18:16   #94
lord_spike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Try again

Hmm, I have never seen that error before.

I have just used Visual Studio 2005 publish function.

I have now compressed to zip file, maybe that will help.

http://www.ovesens.net/default.asp?PageID=8

BTW - Should wnything like that happen, you are welcome to contact me.

In future releases I will implemented streaming to multiple Airport Express APs.
lord_spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 19:59   #95
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Thanks lord_spike. That's great. Much easier.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:36   #96
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
If anyone interested in streaming to their AX hasn't tried lord_spike's application, give it a shot. Works great!

This happened to me, maybe not anyone else, but if you're having problems getting sound, unplug any USB webcam devices you might have plugged in. Mine interfered somehow.
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 09:20   #97
lord_spike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
No sound? Try this...

Thanks, I hope you all like it.

Just a little help if you do not get any sound.

1. Go to Volume Control (dblclick speaker icon)
2. Select options -> properties
3. Select recording
4. Click OK
5. Make sure that Wave Out Mix (might be called something different on your system) is selected

Please not: Be careful not to turn the volume up to much, as the music will be distorted.

I will soon create an HOWTO section on my website, describing this with images.
lord_spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 22:04   #98
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Did all the above. Still no sound. oAEP shows that it is connected to the AX and the start button is grayed out. Any other ideas?

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 01:24   #99
Shock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally posted by kaatinthehaat
Did all the above. Still no sound. oAEP shows that it is connected to the AX and the start button is grayed out. Any other ideas?
Do you have any other hardware that might be controlled from the volume control? I had a Logitec USB webcam that is an item you can switch to in the "properties" dialog. You can see in the picture (trust me, it's a picture of the properties dialog) the circled part is "mixer device" and there you can switch from your soundcard to some other devices. I had a webcam there, and once I unplugged it, everything worked fine.

It was because, I think, the USB cam has a microphone built in, and maybe mics take some sort of precedence in the app?
Attached Images
File Type: gif volume_properties.gif (10.8 KB, 752 views)
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2006, 18:37   #100
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Nothing else was attached to my computer. Surprisingly, though, I tried it a couple of days later and it worked!! I think the problem is related to my wireless network. My router seems to disconnect from the Airport Express quite often and to re-establish the connection I have to unplug the power supply to both and then plug them back in to reboot them.

I have a D-Link DI-624 wireless B/G router (nearly 2 years old). Any suggestions? I'm even open to buying a new router as this is a pain in the neck.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 04:12   #101
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Remote Speakers Output Plug-In 0.1

After looking at all of the available options out there, I figured I needed to take matters into my own hands and make a proper Winamp plug-in that streams audio to the AirPort Express. The initial public version is now available:

http://emilles.dyndns.org/software/out_apx.html

Please let me know if you have tried it and like it (or don't). Or if something was broken. It should be pretty solid...
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 01:23   #102
SarCaSM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 289
Emilles: your plugin works so so so well. i am eternally grateful.
SarCaSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 03:41   #103
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by SarCaSM
...your plugin works so so so well. i am eternally grateful.
Thanks. Don't forget to check the website regularly for updates. I have neraly cleared automatic discovery of remote speakers using zero configuration networking protocols for release. A final release version shouldn't be far behind.

Remote Speakers Output Plug-In
Stream audio from Nullsoft Winamp to the Apple AirPort Express (aka AirTunes)
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2006, 16:28   #104
Grinandbearit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Remote speakers plugin

Eric, works great. thank you. a couple feature requests.

1). Is there a way to allow the computers local speakers to play simultanteously with the Airport Express. This feature exists with Itunes?

2). Following on to the feature request above, is there a way to enable two or more Airport Express devices at the same time?

3). Any plans to built-in cross-fading capability (I've tried using the Multiple Output plugin, but it crashes my system between track changes).

Even if the above features are not in the plans, the plug in is great.

Grin...
Grinandbearit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 17:38   #105
Kr1x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Re: Remote speakers plugin

Quote:
Originally posted by Grinandbearit
Eric, works great. thank you. a couple feature requests.

1). Is there a way to allow the computers local speakers to play simultanteously with the Airport Express. This feature exists with Itunes?
Oh, yes works really great!! Thank you so much, been waiting for over a year for this winamp plugin!

Simultanteously Play would be really great, although iTunes does not support this
Kr1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 19:58   #106
Kr1x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
I tried to get simultantesouly playing working with the Multiple Output Plugin
Unfortunately Winamp crashes after selecting both, directOutput and Remote Speakers
Kr1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2006, 16:24   #107
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Hi all

Hi ppl i see you are having some troubles with my plugin and and some other advanced output plugins.

I have made some temporary modifications to see if it fixes the crashing, although i'm am prety sure that are being caused by the other plugins.

try the version below and let me know, because i dont have the offending plugins at hand.

TazDevil

Download BETA

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2006, 22:20   #108
DarkGemini
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 7
Eric, great job with the plug-in!

I'm with grinandbearit tho, in that with the way I have this installation setup, I need to be able to broadcast to multiple speakers (6 in fact). Do you have any plans to enable this functionality in your plug-in?
DarkGemini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2006, 00:24   #109
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Why doesn't it sync my playlists? I have the setting selected in "General sync settings" under "ipod config" but no playlists were transferred to my ipod.


Thanks

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2006, 19:33   #110
Kr1x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Re: Hi all

Quote:
Originally posted by TazDevil
Hi ppl i see you are having some troubles with my plugin and and some other advanced output plugins.

I have made some temporary modifications to see if it fixes the crashing, although i'm am prety sure that are being caused by the other plugins.

try the version below and let me know, because i dont have the offending plugins at hand.

TazDevil

Download BETA
Thank you for your work, but unfortunately winamp still crashes.
Kr1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2006, 20:34   #111
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by Kr1x
I tried to get simultantesouly playing working with the Multiple Output Plugin
Unfortunately Winamp crashes after selecting both, directOutput and Remote Speakers
I'll get the multiple output plug-in and see if I can find out what might be causing the crash. Remote Speakers output plug-in is very young and the Winamp SDK is not very informative, so I have to figure a lot of this stuff out as situations arise. Please be patient.

Also, for future reference, sending issues to my email will get a much faster response than posting to the Winamp forums.

Remote Speakers Output Plug-In
Stream audio from Nullsoft Winamp to the Apple AirPort Express (aka AirTunes)
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 03:45   #112
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Using the beta version of the multiple ouput plug-in linked above, I was able to send audio to the direct sound output plug-in as well as the remote speakers output plug-in simultaneously without issue.

Remote Speakers Output Plug-In
Stream audio from Nullsoft Winamp to the Apple AirPort Express (aka AirTunes)
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 21:56   #113
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
I know this is not directly related to the software but I hope someone can help me.

I can't get my Airport express to connect to my wireless network at all. I've got the latest firmware and latest version of Airport ASdmin Utility but for some reason, I can't get it to work. HELP!?

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2006, 00:02   #114
Kr1x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
of course you can.
click the second tab of the airport admin tool "Airport" and select "Join an existing Wireless Network (Wireless Client)" for the Wireless Mode.
Kr1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2006, 06:36   #115
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Tried that, didn't work. I think it's something to do with my encryption settings. I think I'll phone Support at Apple.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 13:28   #116
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
I did not get any feedback regarding the changes made so i guess no one tryed it ? does the plugin still crash ?

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 13:39   #117
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by TazDevil
I did not get any feedback regarding the changes made so i guess no one tryed it ? does the plugin still crash ?

I gave it a try and was able to use the new version to send audio to the direct sound and remote speakers output plug-ins simultaneously without an issue.

Remote Speakers Output Plug-In
Stream audio from Nullsoft Winamp to the Apple AirPort Express (aka AirTunes)
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 13:44   #118
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally posted by emilles
I gave it a try and was able to use the new version to send audio to the direct sound and remote speakers output plug-ins simultaneously without an issue.
thanks, so the old one (1.1) crashed ?

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 14:00   #119
emilles
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by TazDevil
thanks, so the old one (1.1) crashed ?
I was able to run without issue using the version available from your website as well.

Also, would you be willing to share a little code on how to add a menu item to Winamp's main menu? I'd like to add a submenu to enable faster remote speakers selection switches.

Remote Speakers Output Plug-In
Stream audio from Nullsoft Winamp to the Apple AirPort Express (aka AirTunes)
emilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 15:05   #120
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally posted by emilles
I was able to run without issue using the version available from your website as well.

Also, would you be willing to share a little code on how to add a menu item to Winamp's main menu? I'd like to add a submenu to enable faster remote speakers selection switches.
emailed you some code.
if it is ok then i will revert back to the stable version.

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump