Old 9th August 2006, 13:18   #1
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Plugin to control color LED via RS232

Hi there!
I have a cool LED which can emit light in every color. It would be nice if it could blink to the music... The LED can be controlled via RS232.
I've downloaded the winamp sdk and searched the forums but haven't found anything for writing a plugin for my LED
I'm a total plugin noob...
Could someone help me a little bit?

What type of plugin do I need?

General
Haven't found anything about audio data, like current loudness, bass or something else...

DSP/Effect
Maybe?

Visualization
Don't think that this is the right one...

any other type?


Please help me!
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 19:51   #2
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,915
What kind of interface does the LED have?

My guess is that it is just a LED with no other circuitry.

Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 20:35   #3
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
The LED is connected to a microcontroller which has an RS232 interface. Maybe I have to write a program for the µc too... But currently I just wanna know if (and how?) it is possible to write a plugin which sends something over COM-port corresponding to the music.
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 22:07   #4
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,915
Now there is enough info to go on...

It would be possible to do... my guess would be to write a viz plugin that would take the input, packetize it, and spit it out the serial port instead of to the screen.

The micro would then parse the incoming packets and set the LED accordingly.

I am curious about this...
how many LEDs can the micro control?
which microprocessor is it?

I have been looking at the 'disco dance floor' project on MSDN and trying to figure a way to modify it for my own purposes. (remember the old fashioned color-organs?)

Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2006, 08:08   #5
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Thanks for your answer!

I thought that vis-plugins always need a visualisation window and something like opengl or so...

The control unit has a maximum output of 3x2.5A
The LED needs at most 3x350mA
It is also possible to connect some of these control units to each other so that you can have more leds.

I don't know yet which microprocessor it is but you can have some links:

Buy the control Unit and the LED (sorry, i found only the german site)
http://www.conrad.at/goto.php?artikel=154998
http://www.conrad.at/goto.php?artikel=175228

Some Manuals and software (german and english)
http://www.chromoflex.com/index.html
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2006, 18:44   #6
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,915
Looks like a bit of overkill for my needs. I want something plain and simple that will change the intensity of a LED based on a serial port command. Each micro should independantly control as many LEDs as possible.

The 'disco floor' circuit controlled 32 tri color (RGB) LEDS per micro. Too expensive for me though. I'm trying to find something much less expensive.

It does have some neat sourcecode with the project though... a spectrum analizer for direct sound. Should work with Winamp or anything else.

Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 15:16   #7
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Ok, therefore you would need too much micros...

The Plugin already works looks nice

The guy from Chromoflex also was very helpful. He sent me a dll for the communication with the µP. So I didn't have to do too much on my own : )

Thanks again for your help!
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2006, 00:13   #8
zorancv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 1
Hello Cr4zy,
I also did buy controller CHROMOFLEX-I350 and it control one RGB led (3 X
1W, Z-led Korean - Seul Semiconductor).
I also connected controller with my PC and it works trough RS232. I would
appreciate
if you send me Plug-in for it and DLL file.
My love is electronic but my programming is limited so if you can and if you
want to help please help me to make that my RGB start to light synchronized
with music.
Thank you.
Regarding,
Zoran Cvetanovic
zorancv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2006, 10:46   #9
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Hi zorancv!

I'm sorry, but I can't send you the dll for controlling the LED, cause it's not freeware...

Here is a part of the readme:

Quote:
**************************************************************

DLL Driver for ChromoFlex

V1.00 (C) WWW.CHROMOFLEX.COM


This is a simple demonstration of driving a ChromoFlex-Network
from an own Application by using a DLL.

This software is CONFIDENTAL and NOT PUBLIC!

Please regard our copyright. If you would like to use this
drivers for own projects, please ask. We will be happy to
support your professional projects.


Administrative contact/licensing:
=================================
A permission/contract for using this software is available from
JOSEF BARTHELME KG - www.barthelme.de.

I asked somebody from Chromoflex, he was very friendly and sent me the DLL, but I don't want to give it to other people... sorry

But you could ask him too, email address is here:
http://www.chromoflex.com/ --> technical contact



My Plugin with sourcecode is attached to this post, but it won't work without the DLL from chromoflex...

You will also need some other DLLs. They are too big to be attached, but you can google for it...

The Plugin isn't yet finished, but it works... Currently I have no time to improve it...
Attached Files
File Type: zip winamp forum.zip (89.6 KB, 1922 views)
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 12:31   #10
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Just got a mail from Chromoflex.
I'm allowed to publish the DLL.

So if someone would like to try the plugin, here is the missing DLL.

You still need some other DLLs which are to big for an attachment here, but I had no problems finding them with google:
BDS52F.DLL
CW3230.DLL
OWL52F.DLL
Attached Files
File Type: zip dll.zip (7.9 KB, 1674 views)
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 17:13   #11
chromoflexer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Hello,

i am a absolutely beginner in programming. I bought the Chromoflex too and it works fine with the respective software. Now I wanted to have the colors changed to the music and tried the plugin above but it doesnt works! I no way, i get errors and errors.
Is there anybody who can explain me how to install the plugin (what files do i need exactly?) and get it working? That would be really great!

Regards,
Toby
chromoflexer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2008, 14:22   #12
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
New version!

I've created a completely new version of the rgb-led plugin. It's now written in C# and totally different from the first plugin. You can download it here: http://red314.net/vis_rgbled.zip

The .NET framework 2.0 is required and (if you don't have it) available here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 01:00   #13
omglolbah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
hrmm...

It is probably some stupid option somewhere but all the urls in the thread show up as : "URL submitted by user".

Please give me a working url for the C# plugin?

I'm working on writing a MakeController (google it ) interface for Winamp but have not gotten the plugin-interface to work yet
omglolbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 17:51   #14
QOAL
[STILL a retard!]
 
QOAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,168
omglolbah:
Press quote on a post to view URL's if they are shown as "URL submitted by user.".

Quote:
Originally posted by cr4zy
I've created a completely new version of the rgb-led plugin. It's now written in C# and totally different from the first plugin. You can download it here: http://red314.net/vis_rgbled.zip

The .NET framework 2.0 is required and (if you don't have it) available here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

count!last.fmdastylishplanner
QOAL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 18:46   #15
itmax86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Re: New version!

Quote:
Originally posted by cr4zy
I've created a completely new version of the rgb-led plugin. It's now written in C# and totally different from the first plugin. You can download it here: http://red314.net/vis_rgbled.zip

The .NET framework 2.0 is required and (if you don't have it) available here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
I've try it... but don't work
When I go in plug in configuration I create new effect click on ADD but... is empty! why?!
I have WinVista 64bit
itmax86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 19:25   #16
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Its still a bit buggy...
Try starting winamp directly by double-clicking on winamp.exe (don't use the shortcuts).
Or right-click on the shortcut -> properties -> Start in -> and remove the "\lang" from the path
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 20:15   #17
itmax86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
work!
strange bug!
i start winamp by a hotkey on the keyboard, but it point only to winamp.exe, not other!
can you resolve this bug?
itmax86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 20:23   #18
omglolbah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
When running the winamp from a shortcut on the shortcut bar on the taskbar the plugin config screen hangs when I attempt to add a new component.

When running the Winamp from winamp.exe directly I get the following error, hopefully you can fix this

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

Would it be possible to get the source code for this plugin? I'd only use it for my own personal project and if you want I could share anything I make with you.


code:

************** Exception Text **************
System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path 'C:\System Volume Information' is denied.
at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
at System.IO.Directory.InternalGetFileDirectoryNames(String path, String userPathOriginal, String searchPattern, Boolean includeFiles, Boolean includeDirs, SearchOption searchOption)
at System.IO.Directory.GetFiles(String path, String searchPattern, SearchOption searchOption)
at ElGoog.Common.Controls.AddComponentDialog.AddComponent_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
svis
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version:
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Winamp/Plugins/vis_rgbled.dll
----------------------------------------
msvcm80
Assembly Version: 8.0.50727.1433
Win32 Version: 8.00.50727.1433
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/WinSxS/x86_Microsoft.VC80.CRT_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.1433_x-ww_5cf844d2/msvcm80.dll
----------------------------------------
LEDVisualizer
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Winamp/LEDVisualizer.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
Common
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Winamp/Common.DLL
----------------------------------------
Effect
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Winamp/Effect.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.




omglolbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 21:02   #19
itmax86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
another problem... the plugin use the com3... but I have only COM1
itmax86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2008, 21:05   #20
itmax86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
resolved xD
itmax86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2008, 18:52   #21
kunzy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Wow, i was digging for help on this and got nothing.

here is my thread: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=299712


I have a question though.
So is there in fact a plug in out there that i can use to output audio info to the serial port? The only piece i am missing is the winamp plugin. I am using the PIC16F871 i believe and have it ready.

I am using the com port for commincations and about got it to where i can set the color through HyperTerminal. I just need a plugin to tell it what colors to output.

thanks
kunzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2008, 12:26   #22
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Yes, there is a plugin which exactly does that
But atm it only works with the old Chromoflex controller... If you want to use it with your own µC, there are 2 possibilities:
* Just use the same protocol as the Chromoflex --> click
* or implement your own protocol in the winamp-plugin

Currently i'm not working on this plugin anymore... Maybe later when i have more time...
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2008, 12:34   #23
cr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
@omglolbah

Seems like a problem with your rights...
Maybe it helps if you run it as administrator?

I thought about making it open-source... Maybe on sourceforge or so... But i'm not sure if there are really people who would like to improve it...
cr4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 02:07   #24
Buschfunker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Munich
Posts: 1
Thanks a lot for your work.
It's very appreciated.

An open source version would be very useful for some modifikations, e.g. implement another protocol.

Thanks in advance
Buschfunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2013, 04:07   #25
dalez0r
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Still waiting on that source code! Very interesting plugin!
dalez0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump