Old 21st September 2006, 05:21   #1
johnmackin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Burn MP3 disks?

I recently upgraded to Winamp Pro in order to burn MP3 discs. After downloading, I do not see how to do this. Do I need a plugin or is this not a feature of Winamp Pro?

Thanks in Advance,
John M.
johnmackin is offline  
Old 21st September 2006, 07:12   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
you can't do this yet.

its in the wishlist
Rocker is offline  
Old 21st September 2006, 14:24   #3
johnmackin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply.
johnmackin is offline  
Old 21st September 2006, 15:08   #4
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Search for the gen_yar (Yar matey!) plugin within these forums. That lets you copy a complete playlist to a specific temp folder and you can choose to have these copied songs to be automatically renamed. amorphis-privelidge_of_evil will then be renamed to 000_amorphis...

this will have your hardware device play these songs in the same order as in the winamp playlist, instead of playing them alphabetically.

Finally you can burn the songs in the temp folder to a data disc with nero or the built in XP engine.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 21st September 2006, 15:20   #5
johnmackin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks Much!
johnmackin is offline  
Old 22nd September 2006, 00:23   #6
retchless
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 97
Your other option is the drag and drop plugin. It'll let you drag a playlist directly into your burning app of choice Definitely better than making dupes of all the mp3s that you want to burn.
retchless is offline  
Old 22nd September 2006, 02:01   #7
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
not if you want your playlist organized. gen_yar will add the number to the beginning of the filename and keep them in order.
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 22nd September 2006, 12:04   #8
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Make sure you're using the latest version. Some websites provide very old versions.

Latest version: http://www.bcheck.net/apps/#gen_yar
Koopa is offline  
Old 22nd September 2006, 17:45   #9
johnmackin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks - I wasn't able to find gen_yar on the winamp site.
johnmackin is offline  
Old 22nd September 2006, 18:12   #10
johnmackin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
It look like plugin Playlist-Unpacker provides a similar function.
johnmackin is offline  
Old 1st November 2006, 03:11   #11
almostsinging
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
I'm new to all this, but after two days of trying to tweak Winamp I'm really falling in love with it... Much googling and searching of the forums here have given me solutions and understanding... Somehow it should be easier (the help files have been useless so far), but learning is fun, so I'm not complaining...

So this gen_yar program looks like the solution to my major problem of going from playlists to physically independent mp3 compilations...

However, I have no idea what a "dll" file is or what to do with it. I downloaded the gen_yar.dll file. What do I do next?

Thanks!!!
almostsinging is offline  
Old 1st November 2006, 03:35   #12
Hayden_54
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 65
copy it into the \Winamp\Plugins directory and then restart winamp. The plugin should show up.
Hayden_54 is offline  
Old 1st November 2006, 03:44   #13
almostsinging
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks, it worked! How simple!
almostsinging is offline  
Old 26th July 2010, 20:36   #14
Jamesio
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
I think its included in the newer versions. You should download that.
Jamesio is offline  
Old 26th July 2010, 23:23   #15
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
4 year old thread. Hopefully they already figured it out by now!

Edit: Ah, you're a spam bot. That makes more sense.
osmosis is offline  
Old 26th July 2010, 23:39   #16
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Thanks for pointing it out, osmosis.

Jamesio:

This wasn't your first spam posting, so we've decided to swing the the mighty ban hammer.

Farewell.
Koopa is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump