Old 13th December 2010, 16:32   #1
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
SHOUTcast DNAS 2 Beta (Build 10) 12/14/2010

Presenting the latest BETA drop of the SHOUTcast DNAS server for broadcasters, developers and testers. This build is our latest GM release candidate and introduces new features as listed in the “Changes” section below, as well as addresses bugs reported in the previous BETA builds.

This BETA release is now available for the following platforms:
  • Windows (32-bit and 64-bit (*) versions) (Windows 2000 not currently supported - this may be permanent)
  • Linux
  • Mac OS X (Intel)
  • BSD 8.x (*)
* These are newly supported versions of the DNAS v2 as of this release.


Downloads

You can download the updated version of the DNAS v2 from the direct downloads for the operating system version you require:
Changes
  • Now ships in BSD 8.x and Windows 64-bit
  • Fixed locale issues preventing sc_trans from loading without changing the machine's locale (non-Windows issue)
  • Fully enabled SHOUTcast 2 (Ultravox 2.1) protocol support with server output (used with YP2=1 in config and a compatible connecting client e.g. Winamp 5.6+)
  • Massive documentation update with full configurations details, example configurations and getting started guide
  • Accessing any admin / info pages with no station id or a station id less than or equal to zero will show a summary of any available streams (if there are any)
  • Changed config handling to close sc_serv if not set / missing / invalid
  • Added 'next song' to the stream + admin pages
  • Added a disconnect message indicating the duration, number of bytes sent and agent of the connection being closed
  • Added a current and next song pages (/currenttrack?sid=# and /nextsong?sid=#) along with <NEXTSONG> in the xml report for consistency
  • Changed 'yp2' configuration setting default to 'on'
  • Fixed segfault issue when attempting to connect to YP2 (non-Windows versions)
  • On Windows 'Ctrl + Break' is now handled as a valid quit command instead of just having the running instance close immediately
  • Added description for the Windows service so it's clearer the service is ours
  • Minor log message changes to sort of standardise the message style
  • Upgraded libraries to use expat-2.0.1


Getting Started

If you already have a running instance of the DNAS v2 then there should not be any issues with replacing your current version with this new version.

If this is a new install then make sure to read through the information in the 'docs' folder along with the example configuration files provided in this new version which should make it easier to get started.


Reporting Issues

If you do come across an issue with the DNAS v2, then please do post in this thread with as much information as possible about what you're doing at the time, the system you are using and anything else which will make it easier to understand what is or isn't going on with your install.


Additional Information

Windows versions of the DNAS v2 are built with a dependency against the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package. If sc_serv is unable to start due to a dependency issue then you will need to install the correct version of the package so it can run which depends on the version of sc_serv you are attempting to run:

32-bit - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...d-3802b2af5fc2
64-bit - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...4-157cfdffee4e


This new version has been tested on a number of current Linux versions (Ubuntu, Fedora, CentOS) so should hopefully run on other versions as well and without any dependency or locale related issues (as affected prior versions).


Discussion about the previous version of the transcoder can be found here -> SHOUTcast DNAS 2 Beta v0.1 (Build 7)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 14th December 2010, 17:51   #2
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
i might have to break out my perl UVOX 2.1 client and give it a whirl ... looks like some nice fixes and additions.

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline  
Old 14th December 2010, 21:35   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_womble View Post
looks like some nice fixes and additions.
i hope so and there are a few more things coming for the next drop once they're finished off (and should be a bit less time than the time between the last release).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

at anyone trying out this new version, i'm really keen to hear about the views on the content of the documentation files and examples especially if it makes sense or if there are an obvious issues with the documentation, etc as it will otherwise be made into an online version over the next week or so.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 00:46   #4
mjbrown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 114
The Win2K incompatibility is still in effect with this version, even after installing the VC2008 redistributable package. Upon trying to start sc_serv.exe, a dialog appears with the same error message as before: "The procedure entry point AttachConsole could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll".

If this incompatibility is intended to be permanent, please mention it in the release info so people who need to run sc_serv on Windows 2000 don't waste their time downloading it. Also please consider doing a check for the Windows version in the installer, if not the app itself. Thanks.
mjbrown is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 08:38   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
mjbrown: i'd missed that post about it not running on Windows 2000. i guess i'll have to make a Windows 2000 VM and see if it can be resolved though with all of the UTF8 usage, i'm not sure if Windows 2000 supports it all (i've not personally used it as an OS since my real machine with it died ~3 years ago so i cannot remember half of what it could do).

Quote:
If this incompatibility is intended to be permanent, please mention it in the release info so people who need to run sc_serv on Windows 2000 don't waste their time downloading it. Also please consider doing a check for the Windows version in the installer, if not the app itself.
noted, will add in some more information, etc as part of the next release and will edit the first post to include it as well (i'd expect sc_trans also has the same issue as well).

thanks for pointing it out (and apologies for not seeing it earlier).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 17:51   #6
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
The Trackname could not dispay an @

And
2010-12-14 20:57:21 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2010-12-14 20:57:28 E msg:[YP2] /yp/resp/updatefreq missing
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 17:58   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
The Trackname could not dispay an @
where are you viewing this and can you provide what is actually shown and what should be shown.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
2010-12-14 20:57:21 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2010-12-14 20:57:28 E msg:[YP2] /yp/resp/updatefreq missing
this usually stems from an in ability to connect to the YP. enable the related YP debugging options to see what the other information is relating to the error.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 20:19   #8
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
When i Write in DSP 210 Tracktitle Anything @ Internet, on Page is shown only Anything Internet. The @ sign would not shown.

And YP :
2010-12-15 21:14:58 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]

2010-12-15 21:17:47 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [3]
2010-12-15 21:17:47 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [3]

and so on and so on

I Have 3 Streams with 3 Authkeys, but to test i connect only to sid 1.
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 22:51   #9
mjbrown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 114
I've noted the disappearance of non-ASCII characters, and even some ASCII characters like the at-sign and square brackets, in the DSP thread because I figured it was a problem with the sender (the source DSP), not the receiver (the DNAS). Could be either one, I guess. DrO says in a PM that he'll be looking into it in the next few days.
mjbrown is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 23:00   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
When i Write in DSP 210 Tracktitle Anything @ Internet, on Page is shown only Anything Internet. The @ sign would not shown.
i take it you're referring to the admin / status pages from index.html?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
And YP :
2010-12-15 21:14:58 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]
2010-12-15 21:14:58 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [1]

2010-12-15 21:17:47 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [3]
2010-12-15 21:17:47 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [3]

and so on and so on

I Have 3 Streams with 3 Authkeys, but to test i connect only to sid 1.
that looks very much like an issue in connecting to the YP. have you made sure you've enabled yp2=1 and that the required ports are open. there should also be a response message showing the actual result from the YP add attempt just before those 'pvt_update' parts if using all of the debug logging options from sc_serv_debug.conf


-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 11:52   #11
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Yes from index.html?sid=1

And Yes yp2=1 in my Config.
What Ports must be open? The Port 80 an the Streamports 8000 and 8001 are open.
----
Edit : Okey all going back. After enable all debug Options i found it:
So my Root has 2 IPs, and i want to use die Second
And in my Config srcip= and dstip= is the Second IP. The Server Runs, but YP could not see the Streampath, but is it not the (src and dst) Second IP of my root it is die First, so YP brings the msg :
<yp version="2"><resp seq="1"><error><code>400</code><message>Cannot see your station/computer (URL: http://firstIP:8000/path) from the Internet, disable Internet Sharing/NAT/firewall$

But i would not run the Shoutcast on my First IP.
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 12:13   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
Yes from index.html?sid=1
just tried (needed to make sure i was looking at the correct location) and right you are though also looking at the log metadata coming from the dsp to sc_serv looks like it's the dsp at fault (will confirm either way in a few hours).

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
With Ports must be open? The Port 80 an the Streamports 8000 and 8001 are open.
should just need to be what is set for portbase and portbase+1 though would really be easier to work out with a full debug log from what sc_serv is trying to do / receiving as part of the connection process (if need be you can just pm me a copy if you don't want other people to see what is in it).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 12:20   #13
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Sry DrO, i've edit my Post at same Time u Answer
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 12:58   #14
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Okey,

When i open the Stream in Winamp, the URL is shown and not Streamname and Track. so no metadata shown in Winamp?
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 13:08   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
So my Root has 2 IPs, and i want to use die Second
And in my Config srcip= and dstip= is the Second IP. The Server Runs, but YP could not see the Streampath, but is it not the (src and dst) Second IP of my root it is die First, so YP brings the msg :
<yp version="2"><resp seq="1"><error><code>400</code><message>Cannot see your station/computer (URL: http://firstIP:8000/path) from the Internet, disable Internet Sharing/NAT/firewall$
that would probably explain things. will see if there's something not being correctly passed in the server for the YP connection despite other parts working as you're seeing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiggaStyle View Post
When i open the Stream in Winamp, the URL is shown and not Streamname and Track. so no metadata shown in Winamp?
you need to be using Winamp 5.601 for the stream information to show (all previous 5.5x versions can play true SC2 streams but could not cope with the new style metadata).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 13:24   #16
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
ah okey Very big Thanks
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 16th December 2010, 23:07   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
TiggaStyle: you're not the only one seeing the issue based on http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=324956

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 17th December 2010, 05:07   #18
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
The new sc_serv2 build is still rejecting PSP listeners.

Ref: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=321992
Attached Files
File Type: txt sc_serv_log.txt (2.4 KB, 927 views)

Last edited by DrO; 21st December 2010 at 12:50.
thinktink is offline  
Old 17th December 2010, 09:02   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's because sc_serv is expecting there to be something after the Accept-Encoding: which it isn't finding and so throws the error. will have to have a think / check things before doing anything to disable the 'value' check from the key:value check being done (don't want to break anything else by trying to fix this, heh).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 18th December 2010, 03:03   #20
coskel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Hi all-

running a 3 year old version of Shoutcast on a dedicated linux box and I have time to upgrade.

Could I get a step-by-step of installation that goes into more detail than what is located in the current documentation?
(quote)
Run the installer or extract the files for the tools you have downloaded ensuring you
also check the option / extract the example configuration files provided in the them.
(endquote)

All help is highly appreciated.

TIA
coskel is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 00:33   #21
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
coskel: have you gone onto step 5 which shows where to look at since that is the next step (step 4 is more for sc_trans but was placed there so it is more obvious before anything else is done).

step 5 points you to the relevant sections in sc_serv.txt as there is a lot of variation between the different OSes supported which wouldn't really fit in with what the getting_started.txt file is intended to do i.e. show the general steps but point to the correct files / places which explain things in the full level of detail required.

or have i completely missed the level people are expecting and need to go into a lot of baby steps with things (which personally i think would make getting_started.txt a much more daunting file to then have to look through).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 06:18   #22
felix29304
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Receiving the error "No such file or directory". I have SHOUTcast 2.0 running on about 5 other servers, with the same configuration. It appears to be related to the network configuration, as on this server, the only difference is that the connection is set-up on "eth1", basically looping back to "eth0". The other servers I have use a direct connection directly on "eth0".

2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 7644
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv.conf
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[BAN] Banned 0 IP's
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[RIP] 0 entries in rip list
2010-12-19 00:15:59 E msg:No such file or directory
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Terminating sources
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Waiting for final YP remsrvs
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2010-12-19 00:15:59 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown
felix29304 is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 12:13   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i still must be asleep as that isn't making much sense to me. how are you setting it up to use eth1 instead of eth0 i.e. is it via srcip or something else (as i cannot tell what OS version of sc_serv you're using).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 14:08   #24
I_E_P_U_R_A_S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
a problem with sc_serv 2

(changed error log to attachment -> see sc_serv_log.txt)

server starts and stops after about a song you have idea?
when im listen with winamp

2010-12-19 15:35:17 I msg:[dst 95.21.123.168:2727 sid=1] Ultravox client connection accepted. WinampMPEG/5.54
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
what(): XML parser error: no element found at line 1
Aborted
Attached Files
File Type: txt sc_serv_log.txt (2.7 KB, 1080 views)

Last edited by I_E_P_U_R_A_S; 19th December 2010 at 14:36. Reason: for other descriptions
I_E_P_U_R_A_S is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:16   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well that's the first time i've seen that from a linux version of the new drop. so all you're doing is running the example configuration and trying to get Winamp to connect to the stream?

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:23   #26
I_E_P_U_R_A_S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I do not understand what you explain in more detail about
I_E_P_U_R_A_S is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:28   #27
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
basically i'm not following what it is that you're trying to report and trying to get a better idea of what your setup is i.e. if this is a new sc_serv install and how you have configured it.

also is it definitely Winamp 5.54 that you're using to connect to sc_serv or a different program which fakes its user-agent?

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:34   #28
I_E_P_U_R_A_S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
winamp 5.54 is yes, I try to go AIMP I test with foobar is ok ok, so sc_conf is exactly what it was like in the examples I just changed ip
I_E_P_U_R_A_S is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:38   #29
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ok, will see what i can find over the next few days with the older Winamp client as i think Foobar2000 and AIMP connect as a SHOUTcast 1 client whereas Winamp 5.54 is trying to connect as a SHOUTcast 2 client (but not a SHOUTcast 2.1 client as Winamp 5.601 does).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:44   #30
I_E_P_U_R_A_S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I started SHOUTcast DNAS v0.1 Beta 2 and works seamlessly with the same version of winamp

Last edited by I_E_P_U_R_A_S; 19th December 2010 at 15:45. Reason: other descriptions
I_E_P_U_R_A_S is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:49   #31
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
what version did you use? as i'm only aware of the version linked in this thread and the prior version from http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317230 [SHOUTcast DNAS 2 Beta v0.1 (Build 7)]

/me goes to get more coffee as obviously i don't seem to be running on full today

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 15:53   #32
I_E_P_U_R_A_S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
yes is SHOUTcast DNAS 2 Beta v0.1 (Build 7)]
I_E_P_U_R_A_S is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 16:36   #33
felix29304
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
i still must be asleep as that isn't making much sense to me. how are you setting it up to use eth1 instead of eth0 i.e. is it via srcip or something else (as i cannot tell what OS version of sc_serv you're using).

-daz
The network connection on the computer. The external IP is set on the second Ethernet port.
Using Linux, with srcip=any (doesn't run if I set it to the specific IP either, as it tries running two instances of the server on the same port or something..)
felix29304 is offline  
Old 20th December 2010, 09:22   #34
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
felix29304: ok, will see what i can reproduce with it though this may not be something that gets resolved at least for the next release - would hopefully have something in place for the one after it though all depends upon me being able to work out what is at fault as from a quick look i've not been able to find any error message like you've got.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 20th December 2010, 17:56   #35
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
I_E_P_U_R_A_S: i've just looked into your issue from here and it's due to sc_serv trying to provide a ultravox 2.0 stream to Winamp instead of just providing a SHOUTcast v1 style stream (as Foobar2000 and AIMP are requesting) and the issue applies to all versions of the server.

am looking into a fix at the moment so should have it resolved for the next update of sc_serv.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 21st December 2010, 12:59   #36
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
I_E_P_U_R_A_S: i've sent you a pm with a link to a test version to try out for the server terminating when connecting with an older Winamp client.

thinktink: i've sent you a pm with a link to a test version to try out for the psp connection issue (have made the handling less strict which i hope will resolve the issue).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 21st December 2010, 15:42   #37
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Worked.
thinktink is offline  
Old 21st December 2010, 16:10   #38
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yay, now to see what I_E_P_U_R_A_S has to say about the test build...

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 22nd December 2010, 16:46   #39
lucianasilva
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Hi,
I can't make SHOUTcast DNAS 2.0 run in my webserver.
I have a Debian 64bits.

SHOUTcast DNAS 1.9.8 runs fine with 32libs.

Any ideas?
There will be an linux 64 bits version?
lucianasilva is offline  
Old 22nd December 2010, 17:03   #40
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucianasilva View Post
I can't make SHOUTcast DNAS 2.0 run in my webserver.
I have a Debian 64bits.
need a bit more information than just it doesn't run. is there anything reported back to the console indicating why it cannot run. also what version of Debian x64 are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucianasilva View Post
There will be an linux 64 bits version?
hopefully at some stage i'll get around to making a working linux 64-bit compile to complement the Windows version but i cannot guarantee that definitely happening.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump