Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

View Poll Results: Do you tweak you registry?
Yes 12 57.14%
No 6 28.57%
What's tweak? 1 4.76%
Other 2 9.52%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd June 2003, 18:15   #1
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Do you tweak you registry?

Do you tweak your registry to pump up your OS?
I do...carefully, but I do... so many hidden things


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 18:20   #2
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
I renamed my recycle bin using the file which can be found in the attachment.


Utterly useless really unless you want to change the language of it or call it something like Tard Bin
Attached Files
File Type: zip rename recycle bin.zip (302 Bytes, 127 views)
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 18:23   #3
GarbagePoe
Senior Member
 
GarbagePoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: |||| ||||||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||
Posts: 459
Send a message via AIM to GarbagePoe
I don't. I'm too scared to. ButI might learn one day.

i close my eyes to stay blind
GarbagePoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 18:28   #4
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
It's nothing to be scare...
caution it's the word
check this site, it's all about the registry


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 18:41   #5
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Yes, yes i do.

I make any non-associated file automatically open with Notepad, and i make my Program Files menu on the start menu cascade.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 20:32   #6
GoldenSphynx
Forum King
 
GoldenSphynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally posted by GarbagePoe
I don't. I'm too scared to. ButI might learn one day.
No need to be. Simply go to [Start] -> [Run] -> type in "regedit" with the quotation marks -> [File] -> [Export] -> Select [All] for Export range -> Give the file a name and now you have a total registry backup.

Anything goes wrong just import the file you just created back into the registry (i.e. [File] -> [Import] -> Locate the file).

As for me, I've probably modified only a few keys for system performance mostly.
GoldenSphynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 20:44   #7
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
If you're scared of the registry (i know it can be daunting the first time) then check out xteq systems x setup: http://www.xteq.com/products/xset/index.html

You can do a fair ammount of tweaking with it, not as powerful as using regedit itself, but most of the common stuff is there.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 20:48   #8
GarbagePoe
Senior Member
 
GarbagePoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: |||| ||||||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||
Posts: 459
Send a message via AIM to GarbagePoe
Oooh, thank you for all the tips people.

i close my eyes to stay blind
GarbagePoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 21:03   #9
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
magictweak
also can do the job, shareware though


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 21:58   #10
s0be
Major Dude
 
s0be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: melbourne Posts: First
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via ICQ to s0be Send a message via AIM to s0be Send a message via Yahoo to s0be
... I don't have a registry ...

s0be

And On that day, the Lords of the land said unto their Master Architect, "The temple you have made to the gods of Wasabi and Maki has brought us no great prosperity" and they sent out him into the lands.

As he traveled to a far off land, he found he wasn't traveling alone, but that he had gained companions, and when they found their new land, they started work on a new temple, one that would be OPEN to all who wanted to worship.

from The Book of Wasabi C 12 Vs 09 (pg 2003)
s0be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 22:17   #11
ArmedJimmy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 43
I have edited my registry but for some reason I felt compeled to vote no. I have only ever changed a couple of things that I was told would get me faster internet connection back in the day of dial-up.
ArmedJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 22:24   #12
xzit
Member
 
xzit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: reflection of a monitor
Posts: 59
Of course... any kind of performance tweaks just have to be done.
xzit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 22:41   #13
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
I did a bit a while back. I am now going to change "recycle bin" to "Junk". thnx apollos
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 22:59   #14
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
i found out how you rename the control panel and the names of the events in the sounds control panel, pointless but, it was fun, how do you rename the start button?

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 23:04   #15
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally posted by dlinkwit27
I did a bit a while back. I am now going to change "recycle bin" to "Junk". thnx apollos
no problem

I rename mine ÊÜäïò Áíáêõêëþóåéò

because your encoding isn't set to Greek, it's likely you won't see that correctly ^_^
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 23:07   #16
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
i said what i did, but does anyone know which key holds the start menu's name?

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 23:40   #17
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Do you mean "Start" letters?
Is in encrypt in... I think in explorer.exe


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 23:45   #18
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
so i would need to decyprt and modify explorer.exe, isnt that illegal?

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2003, 23:49   #19
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Nop, but there are some apps for that job...need really do that?
Send me PM...


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 00:01   #20
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
my pm feature isnt working right now (im using my mums dodgy pc) so just tell me how legal it is because i dont want to break the law here.

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 07:57   #21
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
bah. Theres some apps out there that can change the icon, text (to anything, not having to be 5 characters), and the background color of the button, amoung other things. Only bad thing is it'll take up a tiny amount of resources, and maybe make things slight unreliable.

Oh, more on the subject here

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump