Old 9th February 2010, 11:06   #1
sabret00the
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to sabret00the
Controlling Winamp Remotely Over Network

I've found a few REALLY old posts for this and then there's a lot of hits in the WinAmp Remote forum, but that's not what I'm after.

What I want to be able to do is control WinAmp over the network. I have one laptop with all my mp3's and my media library on. I'd like to be able to change the track, change the volume, rate the track and go through the library/playlists.

I do not want to simply stream music from one PC to another.

I've tried remote desktop but the other PC is dying a slow death and as such it really doesn't want to keep a remote connection up.

Are there any alternatives?
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2010, 14:49   #2
homes32
Senior Member
 
homes32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 288
Ajaxamp

homes32
homes32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 09:26   #3
sabret00the
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to sabret00the
thanks will check it out.
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 15:20   #4
sabret00the
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to sabret00the
That's very close to what I'm looking for. I'm able to change tracks, and adjust volume but I don't seem to be able to use my Media Library properly. I can't go through smart views and in fect I had to let it spider my Media Library by telling it where it is.
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 14:38   #5
homes32
Senior Member
 
homes32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 288
yeah. seems to be in pretty early development stages yet...the only other suggestion I can give you is an older plugin called BrowseAmp its not as fancy but it gives you better control of the ML. you may want to look through the skins until you find something your comfortable with or it can be slightly confusing.

homes32
homes32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 15:46   #6
Sagehorn
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Berlin
Posts: 84
Any progress here? Some new remote stuff for windows to windows?

My prob is that i cant start a server with ajaxamp though i forwarded the port etc. any idea? Oo
Sagehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump