Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Troubleshooting

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th February 2005, 22:22   #1
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
question about keeping AVS in fullscreen while using "auto, mouse 1, mouse 2, etc..."

Please forgive me if this is adressed somewhere else, I searched and couldn't find it.

If I am using a preset with "experimental" aspects to it to where you can switch from "auto" to "mouse 1" to "mouse 2" and like that (a prime example is S_KuPeRS '25 - recovering from fate (the way things change) from the lp8 pack) if I am in fullscreen and I click on the screen to change which setting I am using, it goes back to windowed mode, so basically I cant figure out how to switch from 'auto' to 'mouse 1' without going back and forth between fullscreen and windowed. Is there any way to fix this?

I fear I have made this question incredibly more complex than it needs to be; I was trying to be complete in my description. I hope someone can decipher it!
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2005, 23:22   #2
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,088
use keyboard keys

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 00:33   #3
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
Wow, I feel kind of stupid, as that is an obvious solution. But which keys would I use?

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 02:03   #4
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
or use right click and left click

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 03:35   #5
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
right click or left click? No, thats what makes it go from full to windowed, jheriko.

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 07:28   #6
hboy
Senior Member
 
hboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to hboy
if you leftclick in fullscreen, it will go back to windowed. if you rightclick in windowed, it opens the popup menu. so you need both. make a code that supports both keys! (i could tell you the code but its so easy to do that i wont )
hboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 10:49   #7
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Just use something like: click=bor(rightclick,leftclick)

Left click works in windowed
Right click works in fullscreen

Easy as $pi^e.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 12:09   #8
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I usually dont bother supporting mouse in fullscreen, because if people fullscreen the preset they probably want to watch it not play with it.

You can 'guess' if a preset is in fullscreen by using the width or height, then you can modify it so that mouse control stuff doesnt appear or it is different somehow.

fullscrn=above(w,639); //1 if the AVS window is 640 wide or more

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 17:40   #9
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
I don't really understand what you are talking about. Enter a code where? It may be easy as $pi^e for you AVS experts, but I'm just one of the guys who likes to watch (and play with it too, PAK 9) But since I know you guys are like famous and stuff, (Tuggummi, I am a fan) I will assume it may be figured out easily. somewhere in the config menu, maybe?

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 19:15   #10
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Aah, so you're not making a preset yourself? Okay.

We were talking about how you implent that support for your own presets (supposedly you would be making one), but since you aren't this whole thread became pretty pointless just about now

The thing is that "support" for such interactive features in fullscreen need to be coded in to the preset itself. There is no option on the preferences or the likes to magically turn it on, because the author of the preset has to make it so that you can use the features on fullscreen too. So it's up to the preset whether or not the features will work on fullscreen, but i still urge you to try out the rightclick on fullscreen, atleast all of my presets (the very few) which have interactive features should have rightclick support.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 03:45   #11
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
Actually, rightclick doesn't do anything when I click in fullscreen, but I will play around with it. I never thought about the fact that I didn't make it clear if I was making a preset. Duh. (I plan on it someday, but I don't have any math knowledge except basic algebra) Thank you thank you for the patience and time taken to answer this board. You rock.

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 12:57   #12
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I knew I smelt noob





j/k

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 16:30   #13
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
lol, You are correct, PAK-9, I am indeed a noob. I apologize for the unclearness. By the way, I am just now realizing that you are all famous. PAK-9 and jheriko, of course I've seen your work and definetly liked what I saw. (Warrior and hboy I am also familiar with) Maybe that doesn't mean much coming from a noob, but to paraphrase; "I may not know how to make a preset, but I know what I like.") I hope someday I will be asking you guys a legitimate technical AVS question. You have already taught me something (I had no idea that the interactive stuff could be coded into the preset.) You all rock.

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 17:25   #14
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Yea I'm a real superstar, not like Tugg, he's a real phoney

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 19:31   #15
hboy
Senior Member
 
hboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to hboy
and then i am also cooler than many of you non-famous people
hboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 21:39   #16
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Don't listen to PAK-9, he's just jealous because of my ÜBER-BLANDTHESTICS SKILLZZZ!!!

Oh wait...

...

Nevermind, im pretty sure i got it so it makes me look cool.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 02:56   #17
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
Just while this thread is still around...what specific mathematics skills would get me on the road to making a good preset? Or do you pretty much have a complete grasp of geometry, trig, and calculus (not to mention algebra)? I suppose I am looking for a "shortcut" to a good preset if it's possible. *looks hopeful*

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 11:13   #18
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally posted by beeferoni
Do you pretty much have a complete grasp of geometry, trig, and calculus (not to mention algebra)?
I don't know nothing about those, to me they sound like french cousines. Mmm... *drools*

I learned things over the years, but i never have learned anything about maths nor will i ever do. But im sure all the other people will tell you to learn this & that in order to AVS properly

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 13:55   #19
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I personally wouldnt say you need a lot of maths to make AVS, it helps, but its not necessary. You can sit and read maths textbooks for hours but you'll find hardly any of it can be directly applied to making AVS presets. Its better to think of what you want to do, then think about what maths (if any) is required to solve that problem.

In my opinion (and I stress this is just my opinion) programming prowess is much more important in AVS than maths, if you have a good grasp of the language you can implement what you see in your mind much more easily. Search the forums for tutorials, if you want it my programming guide is here:

http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/11200891/

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 17:55   #20
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
Thanks, guys. I always figured math was responsible for all presets. If it's programming, heck; I can learn as much as the next guy. (Honestly: both you and Tuggummi have made some of the BEST presets I've ever seen, I can't believe you don't know any super-math to do them! lol) Thank you for pointing me in the right direction.

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2005, 17:12   #21
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Well its all relative, sometimes you tell people "just learn some basic algebra" but they're in primary school learning long division so you get

"OMG algegabra! u got 2 b teh l33x0rest 2 know that!"

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2005, 21:54   #22
beeferoni
Senior Member
 
beeferoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Around the way
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to beeferoni Send a message via Yahoo to beeferoni
Lol, well I am long out of school, so I have at least a rudimentry grasp of algebra. And I have worked somewhat with programming lang. before, so along with a tutorial or 2 or 3, I should be able to figure something out.

'A googolplex is precisely as far from infinity as is the number 1...no matter what number you have in mind, infinity is larger.' -Carl Sagan
beeferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2005, 12:25   #23
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Wow, a noob who knows their place and expects to have to work at AVS to get results, your a rare breed my friend, a rare breed.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2005, 20:10   #24
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally posted by PAK-9
Wow, a noob who knows their place...
That doesn't exactly sound "encouraging" PAK-9

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2005, 14:00   #25
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
i guess pak wanted to say, that most other noobs expect some divine power coming over them after asking one simple question in the forums. and afterwards they'll be capable of doing 3d-scopes/3d-dm's/raytracing/...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 09:05   #26
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally posted by ^..^
i guess pak wanted to say, that most other noobs expect some divine power coming over them after asking one simple question in the forums. and afterwards they'll be capable of doing 3d-scopes/3d-dm's/raytracing/...
That's because all the divine power is mine and i shall never share it! bwahahahahahahahhahahahahhahaha!

*runs away screaming*

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 10:41   #27
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
can someone call a doctor please?

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 14:36   #28
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
He's too far gone, just tranq him and lock him up

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 15:14   #29
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
hey pak im going to trip him up, grab that straitjacket and be prepared to catch him!!!
i'll count to three...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 21:17   #30
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
/Cocks tranquiliser gun

You can trip him if you like I'm still gunna shoot the bastard

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 21:33   #31
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
you could need the "T.U.G. A.I.M. 3000" laser guided aiming assistant, which i accidentally found in my pocket...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 22:24   #32
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Too late I already shot him 47 times in the head

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 22:31   #33
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
show-off! your boasting nearly killed him!
Shame on you!



Well at least he's "calmed down" again.
mission accomplished!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 22:40   #34
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Huh? Sorry I was busy seeing how many tranq darts I could shoot into his left leg.

Now where was I... 89, 90, 91

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 22:44   #35
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
you seriously need new glasses, cause that's not tug where you are counting. It's the wall that recieved 90% of your shots...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 22:48   #36
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I'll show YOU need new glasses!

/Turns gun on ^..^

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 23:00   #37
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
/gets out bottle of coke, two espresso's and some coffein-pills and devours that mix
come on, now try to tranquillize me. You won't even get me dazed a bit..

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 23:04   #38
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Damn

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 23:11   #39
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
stalemate
let's get something to drink while we have to wait untill tug regains consciousness...
i'll care for the beer and you bring some scampi fires?

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2005, 23:15   #40
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I dont think tuggs gunna be regaining conciousness

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump