Old 28th November 2008, 18:41   #201
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by soddit112
ive found an annoying glitch when compiling in 64bit vista: out_openal.dll goes to "program files\winamp" when winamp installs itself in "program files (x86)\winamp".

not a major problem, but still a problem. i hope its fixable ^^
Just change the build options in Visual Studio, it's the output folder I think.
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 20:08   #202
soddit112
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: east yorkshire, england
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by gameschild
Just change the build options in Visual Studio, it's the output folder I think.
>.< shows what i know about C++, or anything

thanks for the answer, and sorry for the stupid question
soddit112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2008, 11:17   #203
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by soddit112
>.< shows what i know about C++, or anything

thanks for the answer, and sorry for the stupid question
No worries!

On another note OpenAL dev is pretty much halted, instead I'm gonna start work on a WASAPI Output Plug-in.

Should be starting later today or possibly tomorrow.

Follow it at blog
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 18:13   #204
RejZoR
Senior Member
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
Posts: 148
There is a bug in OpenAL plugin that causes extremelly high CPU usage when playing huge MP4A (AAC) files (huge as 79MB). I'm talking of 50% CPU usage on dual core CPU (or 100% on single core).
Winamp is all slugish and hard to use. Switching to DirectSound fixes the problem. Any chance to see this fixed?
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 18:20   #205
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by RejZoR
There is a bug in OpenAL plugin that causes extremelly high CPU usage when playing huge MP4A (AAC) files (huge as 79MB). I'm talking of 50% CPU usage on dual core CPU (or 100% on single core).
Winamp is all slugish and hard to use. Switching to DirectSound fixes the problem. Any chance to see this fixed?
Sure, does this also occur on a standard length file or just large ones? If so what was the length and encoding details - bit rate etc
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 18:33   #206
RejZoR
Senior Member
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
Posts: 148
Bitrate used was 96kbps. It only happens with big files (Chris Chambers - Discovered Visions recoded to MP4A).
I've encoded Mirror's Edge theme for my cell phone at same bitrate and it played it just fine.
I used latest Audacity with FFdShow encoder for AAC encoding.
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 03:50   #207
andrebrait
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to andrebrait
what about XAudio2?

Is Xaudio2 unnacelerated too?

Coz I don't think it is o.o
andrebrait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 17:54   #208
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
XRAM

I'll be getting a new X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro tomorrow so will be looking to use the XRAM on that so load the entire track (or as much as possible) into XRAM - should keep the Hard Drive I/O down and CPU utilisation down.
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 18:23   #209
Tinuva
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Africa - Cape Town
Posts: 28
OOh! sounds very promosing, I can't wait. Still using this plugin
Tinuva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 22:00   #210
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
0.9.0 Beta

I've uploaded a beta onto Sourceforge for 0.9.0 with XRAM support. It's not what I'd call useful right now as its still *kinda* streaming.

However, due to the other changes I've made the CPU utilisation should have decreased as the plug-in is doing a lot less buffering.

Get 0.9.0 Beta 1 here, log any bugs on Sourceforge please!

Update:

Forgot to mention, Stereo and Mono expansion is temporarily removed so no bug reports about that please! It'll go back in at the weekend.
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 07:43   #211
Tinuva
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Africa - Cape Town
Posts: 28
WoW at version 0.9.9.1 now.

I have been out of the loop. Currently using the new version and it works 100% so far. Will update if I find any bugs. It was in fact fun playing around with the Effects. I have found that it doesn't detect the XRAM on my card, but I am on a brand new install of Windows 7 and haven't even played games yet. So probably old openal as suggested by the plugin.

Thank you for the good work, I am impressed.
Tinuva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 18:19   #212
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
The Sourceforge page will contain all the latest builds, most recent is 0.9.10, the Winamp.com download will be for stable versions.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/winampopenalout/
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2018, 21:11   #213
gameschild
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 81
Re-released for Winamp 5.8

https://github.com/sam-truscott/wump...ases/tag/1.1.0
gameschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump