Old 3rd September 2002, 20:58   #1
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
How to write an autorun MP3 CD with winamp3?

Hello:

Using Winamp2, I could write a CD with an autorun file, winamp,
my playlist, and a bunch of MP3 files. When I did that,
I could pop the CD into any Windows computer and it would
play the music on the CD automatically.

I tried the same thing with winamp3 (I pointed my autorun
file to studio.exe) and it just crashes.

I searched the forums and FAQs, but could not find anything
on this.

Does anyone have instructions on how to do this with Winamp 3?

Thanks,
Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 00:59   #2
cybaix
Senior Member
 
cybaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Uranus
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to cybaix Send a message via AIM to cybaix Send a message via Yahoo to cybaix
What file are you pointing to winamp3? is it a playlist or just a single mp3 file?
cybaix is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 01:00   #3
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
auto run doesn't work on my computer... even though its enabled everywhere i can see... oh well...
lunarboy1 is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 01:15   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, can we see the contents of the autorun.inf file you're using?
I recommend you create a simple m3u playlist in Notepad (just listing each individual MP3 filename on a new line) and then link to this in autorun.inf

eg.

[autorun]
open=playlist.m3u

Then make sure WA3 is default M3U player (c/o Prefs -> Media)

Or you can create/save the playlist with Winamp3 (in m3u or b4s format), but make sure you save it in the same dir as the mp3's (so it only lists relative paths, not full paths), then burn mp3's, m3u/b4s playlist, and autorun.inf to CD.

But yes, I'd still like to see what your current autorun.inf file looks like, because I've a feeling the problem's being caused by whatever command line you're using...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 02:11   #5
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Here is what I did:

1. I created a directory d:\mp3
2. I created a direcotry d:\mp3\CD2 and put all of my mp3
files into it.
3. I downloaded the winamp3 installer and installed it into
d:\mp3\Winamp3
4. I loaded winamp3, added all of the mp3 from the CD2 directory
into it and saved the playlist as all.m3u
The m3u file has 2 lines per mp3 file, such as:
#EXTINF:221,Bassic - Artificial
CD2\NewAge\Bassic - Artificial.mp3
5. I created a file d:\mp3\AutoRun.inf with this content:
[autorun]
open = WINAMP3\STUDIO.EXE ALL.M3U
icon = WINAMP3\STUDIO.EXE
6. I wrote the contents of d:\mp3 to a data CD.
7. I popped the CD into my laptop and when I did, it
read the CD and then after a while it told me that studio.exe
generated an error and had to be shut down.

I want to have winamp3 on the CD itself since I dont want
to require winamp to be installed on a machine that I
put the CD into.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 05:55   #6
cybaix
Senior Member
 
cybaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Uranus
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to cybaix Send a message via AIM to cybaix Send a message via Yahoo to cybaix
Things have to be installed for a reason my friend... and come on winamp 3 is EIGHT meg's at max, install it on the laptop tell the autorun to launch just the playlsit and it should work just fine.
cybaix is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 13:38   #7
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
That is not what I want to do.
I was able to do it with winamp2.
neilagg is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 13:56   #8
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Does the laptop run Winamp3 when it is installed normally? I know there are some problems with Windows95 and Winamp3; it is also possible that Winamp3 can't be run from it's installer on the cd. I do understand what you're asking for, I use the same basic method for running my playstation emulator, and have made music cds with it as well. Please report back if Winamp3 runs correctly when installed, and I'll try to do some tests to see if I can't get it working.

Somebody (s0be I think) had a modified Winamp3 setup on his webserver that would startup in your computer just by clicking a link...so it appears that it is not a requirement to install Winamp3 using the regular installer to have it work...it may be possible to extract all the required files to a directory on the target computer and run it from there.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 14:26   #9
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Everything works fine with winamp3 installed locally on my machine,
but it will not run off the CD.

One thing -- Are you implying that I will have to install Winamp3 on a machine to be able to run it? With Winamp2, I did not need to install anything on the machine to have winamp run off the CD.
neilagg is offline  
Old 4th September 2002, 21:39   #10
Brennan
Monkey Hump Master
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 782
Winamp3 doesn't cope well with running off a CD-ROM right now, but it will.


--Brennan
Brennan is offline  
Old 5th September 2002, 00:12   #11
cybaix
Senior Member
 
cybaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Uranus
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to cybaix Send a message via AIM to cybaix Send a message via Yahoo to cybaix
Quote:
Originally posted by neilagg
Everything works fine with winamp3 installed locally on my machine,
but it will not run off the CD.

One thing -- Are you implying that I will have to install Winamp3 on a machine to be able to run it? With Winamp2, I did not need to install anything on the machine to have winamp run off the CD.
MOST you do have to install to your hard drive first.. you cant just go copying a program to a cd and expect it to work on every computer. There are required files that must be put in the windows folder and registry keys that must be added to register the files. I dont know what the future plans are with winamp3 right now, but currently you must install it to get it to run. LIKE i said its only 8 megs of hard drive space its not that big of a deal.
cybaix is offline  
Old 5th September 2002, 13:36   #12
bluesman81
Member
 
bluesman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunny, Warm, Michigan!
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by lunarboy1
auto run doesn't work on my computer... even though its enabled everywhere i can see... oh well...
I'm pretty sure that there is a setting that has to be changed in the registry that also holds a value that turns it off and on. And no, I don't think it has any GUI equivalent because I had the same problem as you for a long time with windows 98. You might check tweakui or whatever that program is from Microsoft that allows you to adjust advanced Windows settings. I know that in windows XP using tweakui there is a section to change that setting that I couldn't find anywhere else. Maybe that helps? Good luck!

Found some interesting things here:
http://www.phdcc.com/shellrun/autorun.htm

As always be careful when doing anything with your registry.
bluesman81 is offline  
Old 6th September 2002, 22:09   #13
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Based on the results of this thread, I tried to write a
CD with just the m3u file, the mp3s, and the autorun file.

Here is what I have on the CD:
AutoRun.inf
all.m3u
CD2 (folder)
(Subfolders in CD2 containing mp3 files)

The AutoRun.inf file contains this text:
[autorun]
open=all.m3u

The all.m3u file contains 2 lines for each mp3 file,
such as:
#EXTINF:221,Bassic - Artificial
CD2\NewAge\Bassic - Artificial.mp3

Now, when I put the CD into my laptop, I get a pop-up
dialog that states:
Access to the specified device, path, or file is denied.

This is strange since I have winamp3 installed on the computer
and if I navigate to the CD in windows explorer and click on the
all.m3u file, winamp loads and begins to play the songs from the
CD.

Any ideas why this is not working?

Thanks,
Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 7th September 2002, 00:33   #14
Nevex
Member
 
Nevex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 92
Have the autorun install winamp3 first.
Nevex is offline  
Old 7th September 2002, 02:47   #15
Digital Dynamix
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 63
i thought autorun can only launch .exe files.
Digital Dynamix is offline  
Old 7th September 2002, 18:39   #16
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Quote:
Have the autorun install winamp3 first
I dont understand this. Why should I have to install a program that is already installed on the computer?

Quote:
i thought autorun can only launch .exe files
If this is true, there is no way to do what I am trying to do.
Does anyone know if this is true?
neilagg is offline  
Old 7th September 2002, 19:03   #17
TheRabidJackal
Junior Member
 
TheRabidJackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 16
THIS IS NOT TRUE. autorun can run nearly anything, so long as windows has something associated for it. i have made a html cd before. with some help of course.
TheRabidJackal is offline  
Old 8th September 2002, 01:29   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Access to the specified device, path, or file is denied
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 8th September 2002, 06:23   #19
dead_honky
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Texasland
Posts: 78
from your error message and brennan's response, it would seem as though wa3 is trying to write to a file on startup. probably studio.xnf. obviously cant write to the cd..

if yer really interested go to sysinternals.com and download filemon, watch what wa3 does on startup, which calls are read, which are read/write.
dead_honky is offline  
Old 9th September 2002, 16:44   #20
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Is there a way to configure winamp3 to not write to the file?
neilagg is offline  
Old 9th September 2002, 18:34   #21
Russ
Mostly Harmless
(Alumni)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,319
Quote:
Originally posted by neilagg
Is there a way to configure winamp3 to not write to the file?
Quote:
Originally posted by Brennan
Winamp3 doesn't cope well with running off a CD-ROM right now, but it will.
Does that not answer your question?

Winamp3 doesn't save registry entries itself - it uses studio.xnf. The only entires that setup adds are those to add the uninstall in Control Panel, and the one to prevent AOL on Desktop from appearing next install.

For long you live and high you fly, but only if you ride the tide, and balanced on the biggest wave you race towards an early grave.
|Musicbrainz|Audioscrobbler|last.fm|
Russ is offline  
Old 9th September 2002, 19:31   #22
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
OK, I get it now.

I read the other post to mean that Winamp3 would not run from an executable on the CD, which I was trying to do earlier.
Now, I am just trying to launch the Winamp that is pre-installed on my computer.

Any ideas when Winamp3 will be finished to where it
does not use stuido.xnf?

Thanks,
Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 9th September 2002, 21:35   #23
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by neilagg

Any ideas when Winamp3 will be finished to where it
does not use stuido.xnf?

Thanks,
Neil.
It'll probably always need it, but it won't always need to write to it, which I believe is the problem currently.

I have no idea when, sorry.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 10th September 2002, 10:46   #24
MilkyBarKid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In my house
Posts: 13
It needs to be installed because of all the registry stuff etc, bacially , make a little autorun prgram (about the only decent use for visual basic )that loads up a menu saying "Install Winamp3" and "Play Music", that would be the easiest way.

[EDIT] you do not have to load up winamp3, just tell autorun to run the playlist file, thst how i get winamp running at startup.
MilkyBarKid is offline  
Old 10th September 2002, 20:17   #25
dwilko
Junior Member
 
dwilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 12
here's an idear Why don't you write your CDs with Winamp2 on them then winamp3 wouldn't need to be installed on the system and use winamp3 on you pc
there you go problem solved
dwilko is offline  
Old 11th September 2002, 00:13   #26
nomadh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: sd ca
Posts: 29
It should be possible to run winamp3 as you run winamp2. Hopefully this ability will be added as the prior person said it would. Many small simple utility type windows programs do not need an install and its great to keep it as an option. Your selfrunning cd is a great example why. I guess keep using winamp2 until they fix it.
nomadh is offline  
Old 26th September 2002, 21:02   #27
dwilko
Junior Member
 
dwilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Can You Give me the info on How to Autorun Winamp2 and tell it to autoload a playlist (thats in a different folder to winamp Eg./../Music/Playlist.pls) I want Winamp to load from a CD and when it autorun I want it to autoload a Playlist

Can you help

Thanks
dwilko is offline  
Old 26th September 2002, 21:26   #28
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Quote:
Can You Give me the info on How to Autorun Winamp2 and tell it to autoload a playlist (thats in a different folder to winamp Eg./../Music/Playlist.pls) I want Winamp to load from a CD and when it autorun I want it to autoload a Playlist
I think you can put a relative path in the autorun file.
Something like:

[autorun]
open=Music/Playlist.pls

I have not tried it but I dont see why it wont work.

Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 27th September 2002, 21:58   #29
dwilko
Junior Member
 
dwilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Quote:
I think you can put a relative path in the autorun file.
Something like:

[autorun]
open=Music/Playlist.pls
But how Does this make Winamp Autorun?
dwilko is offline  
Old 27th September 2002, 23:43   #30
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
I am confused about what you are asking.

If you are asking how the mechanics of the process works,
here is my limited understanding:

When you insert a CD into a windows computer, it checks if
there is an autorun.inf file present in the top-level directory
of the CD. If it is present, it looks for the following
structure:

[autorun]
open=command

If present, it will execute the command given.

If you have an association of .pls with winamp in your computer's registry, winamp will load and run the playlist.

If this is not what you are asking, please try to explain what
you are looking for.

Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 28th September 2002, 10:13   #31
dwilko
Junior Member
 
dwilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 12
I want Disk that Will have winamp on and that when I put the disk in to any computer winamp will load up and then play the MP3s that are on the disk
looking another post I have found out how I sortout the playlist so you can forget about that

Does this Help?
dwilko is offline  
Old 28th September 2002, 15:56   #32
neilagg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
OK, I understand what you are asking.

Here is what I did:
1. Download and install winamp2. On my computer,
I installed it into C:\Program Files\Winamp
2. Create a directory and dump your mp3 files into
it. On my computer, I created D:\mp3\CD2. In that
folder, I have subfolders for the genre of music, for
example, D:\mp3\CD2\Pop and D:\mp3\CD2\Techno.
3. Copy the files from the C:\Program Files\Winamp
directory into D:\mp3\CD2.
4. From windows explorer, run winamp.exe from the
D:\mp3\CD2 directory.
5. Clear the playlist and add the subdirectories
in containing the mp3 files to it.
6. Make sure all of the settings in winamp are what you
want. For example, I set the volume to 50% and set shuffle
and repeat on.
7. Save the playlist to an m3u file in D:\mp3\CD2.
(I called it all.m3u)
8. Exit winamp.
9. Create a file d:\mp3\CD2\autorun.inf with this content:
[autorun]
open=winamp.exe all.m3u
icon=winamp.exe
10. Write the contents of D:\mp3\CD2 to a CD.
11. After the CD is written, you can delete the D:\mp3\CD2
directory since you have it on your CD.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you need anything else.

Neil.
neilagg is offline  
Old 24th June 2003, 01:52   #33
MrParadox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Re: Autorun.inf and Playlists

I am running Winamp3 on XP and this solution works quite well for me. I create a playlist.m3u file for the songs on my CD, then create the Autorun.inf file as follows:

[autorun]
ShellExecute=playlist.m3u

I keep the name "playlist.m3u" for all my CDs just so I don't have to edit the autorun.inf file each time. I also could care less about an icon; I know what CD I have in there.

That's it. Doesn't matter where the Winamp program is, as long as m3u files are associated with it. Couldn't be simpler. I of course use m3u playlists because they save the relative paths to the song files.

Also you have to make sure that Autoplay for your Music CDs is set to "Prompt me each time......" so windows recognizes the Autorun.inf file and not the playlist.m3u file.

Paradox
MrParadox is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump