Old 16th May 2004, 10:41   #1
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
Not really a bug... but still useless and annoying



Why have multiple shortcuts from basically the same menu?
Just takes up the space..


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Moved from Bug Reports to Wishlist.
Please do not make useless posts in the Bugs forum.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 16th May 2004, 12:59   #2
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Odd, I have never thought that to be useless and annoying, for me it's a feature since I deal a lot with skins.

For my wishlist:
More shortcuts to "skins"
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 16th May 2004, 15:41   #3
emcee furnace
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to emcee furnace
nope i think that thumb wars is right
(it's sorta interesting that it's there however)
emcee furnace is offline  
Old 16th May 2004, 18:07   #4
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
You are both wrong, and these kind of threads are useless and annoying.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 20th May 2004, 15:35   #5
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
Sorry DJ Egg, my bad.
wildrose wally: Come on, be serious, how often do you use both shortcuts? Do you have a serious need for them both? And do you REALLY think the menu would be better if there was duplicates of every shortcut?

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 24th May 2004, 22:35   #6
term
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Having the same menu in different places may not help out a single person, like you said, but it helps out everyone, as they can navigate the menu as they see fit, and pretty much are guaranteed to find the menu they want.

Besides, it's an architecture thing, the options menu is the same menu you get when you click on the 'o' in winamp classic, it would be an annoying quirk to have to change both menus each time the developers wanted to add an item.
term is offline  
Old 26th May 2004, 00:37   #7
Kaleb.G
Junior Member
 
Kaleb.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by redbar0n
Sorry DJ Egg, my bad.
wildrose wally: Come on, be serious, how often do you use both shortcuts? Do you have a serious need for them both? And do you REALLY think the menu would be better if there was duplicates of every shortcut?
It's okay redbar0n. Breathe deep. There are just some things that people like doing their own way. They want it to be available in both the main menu, as well as the Options, so it's more convenient when Options is accesed through its own button.

I wonder how you manage to stay sane while using Windows. This OS has duplicate shortcuts all over the place.
Kaleb.G is offline  
Old 26th May 2004, 17:45   #8
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
okay, maybe windows has got heaps of similar shortcuts spread all over.. but as far as i can remember, i haven't seen any exactly similar shortcuts in the same menu..?
and i tried the 'O' shortcut in winamp classic... i't doesn't work and isn't even listen in the shortcut overview section.. If anyone could tell me how i could access this options menu by another method than right-clicking and choosing options.. i could understand why there would be a need of 2 shortcurts like that...?

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 26th May 2004, 19:07   #9
jojo 544
Major Dude
 
jojo 544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nowhere near the apeland
Posts: 623
Who cares...this thread is becomming a bit of boring top me

*sigh (still) under construction*
jojo 544 is offline  
Old 26th May 2004, 19:53   #10
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
then don't read it. i'll personally delete it if the shortcut can be justified in a good manner.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 26th May 2004, 21:38   #11
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
one time i went to prefrences and instead decided to go to skins, and instead of having to move my mouse 3 down and 1 to the right, i instead only had to move it 1 down, it saved me precious time

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 02:40   #12
Velvet Sledge
Senior Member
 
Velvet Sledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oztralia.
Posts: 344
useless it might be, but annoying??? WTF... if that annoys you then you really need a life... it's just another way to do the same thing... you realise how many instances of this there is in window?! to get windows explorer: (win key)+ E, start>programs>accessories>win exploder, (IE button) > view>explorer bar>folders. it's all the same...

just get over it...

"Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes, after that who cares... you a mile away, and you've got his shoes." - Billy Connelly

"And the lord said unto john, come forth and recieve eternal life, but john came fifth and won a toaster" - Someone else in the winamp forums

"There's nothing wrong with the voices in my head... except when they start singing "this is the song that doesn't end.... "" - Me
Velvet Sledge is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 03:14   #13
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by redbar0n
then don't read it. i'll personally delete it if the shortcut can be justified in a good manner.
Then why don't you ignore that shortcut as well.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 10:20   #14
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
okay maybe annoyed was a bit exxagerating, but i just don't see the point with it.. if it's so good as some of you say, why don't have a shortcut to visualizations and one to bookmarks aswell under the options menu?

electricmime:
then why don't have duplicate shortcuts all over the place, so wherever you are, you always have a shortcut about 1 step away (or 1-2 cm's from wherever you are holding your mouse). The program would be overcluttered with shortcuts and it would be almost impossible to get a full overview of the actual functions winamp could carry out..but hell.. atleast you would save the precious 0,3 milliseconds whenever you changed your mind about what to do... (something for you to reflect on: if you are just going to post unserious stuff like that you might as well consider not posting at all. it would definetly save us all time.)


Vengent Angel:
as i explained above, i am aware that you could access several windows programs in several different ways, BUT i have yet to see a explorer menu with an identical shortcut listed two times. e.g. if you right click on a file you wouldn't see two identical shortcuts to send the file to the recycle bin. that would just be stupid, agree? Well this is my point with this entire post. Two identical shortcuts under basically the same menu just clutters up the menu, and besides there is no need for this as far as i can see. If you want to convince me otherwise you are free to do so.. However, name calling and alike is uncalled for, and comments like "get a life.." etc. only make it seem like i am one of the least annoyed persons in here...

sanosuke:
i mostly do, but i'f i were a developer i would want to know of these small issues so i could fix them, because as i program developer i would strive for perfection. hence this post.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 10:37   #15
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
Quote:
something for you to reflect on: if you are just going to post unserious stuff like that you might as well consider not posting at all. it would definetly save us all time.
yeah like asking them to remove a feature that some might find useful, even those who *gasp* might not browse the forums, isnt a waste of time... plus i gave you a reason, and you decided it wasnt good enough...

and a good programmer doesnt remove a feature that many have argued for because one jerk says its annoying, and calls the people who disagree idiots

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 10:50   #16
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
I never called you an idiot, i merely stated that i felt your post was a bit unserious. i have promptly asked for more reasons to why this is a good feature.. according to you, many have argued for this, and then it really would be no problem to state the arguments used to implement it in the first place..? The argument you stated simply doesn't hold water, as i demonstrated above. As far as name calling goes (which, again, i commented above) there is no need for calling anybody a jerk or an idiot. I'm trying to discuss this in a serious manner, and maybe learn why some of you think it's useful. After all, i could have missed something, and if that is the case, why don't you explain to me all the great possibilities of this feature instead of posting (in my opinion) unserious posts and calling people names etc.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 11:02   #17
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
what if you had a porn-type skin and you needed those extra miliseconds when your parents came in..

or what if you were just used to using it that way.. you cant possibly expect people to change, these are the same people make a post every few weeks wanting winamp 2 because they got pissed that winamp changed the number to 5

and that hardly affects them (while this will make them have to go to a whole new way of browsing skins, and changing your ways is harder than it seems)

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 11:03   #18
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Quote:
Originally posted by redbar0n
If anyone could tell me how i could access this options menu by another method than right-clicking and choosing options.. i could understand why there would be a need of 2 shortcurts like that...?
try the modern skin
In the main window in the menu bar is a menu 'Options'...
Though I like to have it available under right-click as well, cause the options menu isn't accessible all the times (ie, minimized/shaded/menubar disabled)
And I want to be able to change skins quickly

I never use the skins menu under the options menu, but i can understand why it's there, since it IS an option. I can live with that.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 11:10   #19
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
Quote:
I never use the skins menu under the options menu, but i can understand why it's there, since it IS an option. I can live with that.
which brings up another good point, for those who use those menus on the modern skin instead of right clicking... how would they change skins easily (without going into prefs, which i find annoying because it automatically switches your skin when you click, on one, instead of double clicking like it should be in that menu... its not that big of deal, except when you click on modern skins)

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 11:36   #20
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
Thank you siebe83, that was exactly what i was looking for!
However, i notice that the options menu in the menu bar i slightly different from the right-click one. E.g. they have visualizations and equalizer under the menu bar options, while EasyMove is featured in the right click menu. And if this means that the two menus aren't completely identical and dependent on each other, it wouldn't be too hard for the devs removing the skins shortcut from the right-click options menu? (while still preserving the one in the menu bar)

electricmime:
if you had a porn-type skin and you we're trying to enter preferences through the right click options menu, and then your parents enter, and you want to switch skins using the skins shortcut in the options menu, i would say it was a rather extreme situation. (i seriously doubt your parents in that situation would see anything more, if you used the other shortcut which, after all, is like 3 inches down to the right) all in all, devs cannot be expected to make features for those extreme situations where a number of factors has to apply (your mouse would have to be pointing exactly at the preferences shortcut in the right click options menu, when, at the exact same time, your parents would have to enter) I mean.. what are the probabilities for such an instance to occur?

i can't possibly imagine that it would be that hard to adapt to using the shortcut about 3 inches down to the right of the shortcut located under options. i feel like it would be somewhat similar to hindering evolution just because some people are not able to adapt..

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:03   #21
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
sure you cant possibly imagine it, but thats because you dont use it... like i said, there are a ton of posts of people who cant even adapt to a different number... this is actually changing the usability

besides, if they were to remove one, they would remove the one in the main menu, because like he said, it is an option... and the other one is a shortcut to it... for those of us too lazy to go to options

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:05   #22
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
omfg

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:15   #23
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
Ok, but if they removed the one in the main menu, wouldn't there also be tons of people whining about that as well? I agree it's an option, but if they were to have it represented in the options menu only, then they would have to move equalizer and visualisations as well. Because they are options too. They even already have them in the options menu in the menu bar. Personally i would be just as comfortable with using the shortcut in the options menu, if the one in the main menu was deleted. As for the people using either one of the shortcuts when it's deleted, they would just have to adapt to using the other. It wouldn't be that hard. People have changed mouse sensitivity in games like CS and adapted from full acceleration and speed to no acceleration and speed in a matter of days. So it isn't a matter of ability to adapt as much as a matter of will to adapt.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:20   #24
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
may i summarize:

what's worse?
- being too lazy to go to options -> skins
- being annoyed by an option mentioned twice

both a matter of adaption

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:28   #25
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
i beg to differ. the first maybe (although i have no problem with this). but the second isn't a matter of adaption. it's a matter of perfection. why settle with anything less than perfect? if you could accept one or some options mentioned twice in the same menu, why not all options mentioned twice in the same menu? i believe both solutions is flawed. in my opinion, the only correct thing would be to remove either shortcut.

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 12:34   #26
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
why don't remove them both
no, seriously
i didn't say 'acception', i said 'adaption'
you may not accept someone prefers to have an option mentioned twice, but you could adapt to it

btw: perfection doesn't make things better by definition
not if it decreases functionality (or ability to be lazy )

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 13:28   #27
redbar0n
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
ok, i see your point. but i still think having the same shortcut twice in the same menu is useless

"Crying is for little girls, babies, and men who just had their ears ripped off." - Thumb Wars
redbar0n is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 13:37   #28
Velvet Sledge
Senior Member
 
Velvet Sledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oztralia.
Posts: 344
holy mackeral... OK so it's pointless, so is arguing about.. dammit, just agree to disagree...

"Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes, after that who cares... you a mile away, and you've got his shoes." - Billy Connelly

"And the lord said unto john, come forth and recieve eternal life, but john came fifth and won a toaster" - Someone else in the winamp forums

"There's nothing wrong with the voices in my head... except when they start singing "this is the song that doesn't end.... "" - Me
Velvet Sledge is offline  
Old 27th May 2004, 13:59   #29
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Quote:
Originally posted by redbar0n
but i still think having the same shortcut twice in the same menu is useless
lol
siebe83 is offline  
Old 28th May 2004, 00:52   #30
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Quote:
Originally posted by redbar0n
ok, i see your point. but i still think having the same shortcut twice in the same menu is useless
You've said that often enough now, time to quit whining about it.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 28th May 2004, 13:18   #31
Velvet Sledge
Senior Member
 
Velvet Sledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oztralia.
Posts: 344
*COMPLETELY OFF THE TRACK*

don't suppose anyone knows what i have to do to get a display pic here do they?

"Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes, after that who cares... you a mile away, and you've got his shoes." - Billy Connelly

"And the lord said unto john, come forth and recieve eternal life, but john came fifth and won a toaster" - Someone else in the winamp forums

"There's nothing wrong with the voices in my head... except when they start singing "this is the song that doesn't end.... "" - Me
Velvet Sledge is offline  
Old 28th May 2004, 13:26   #32
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
wtf?!
you mean your avatar under your name at the right?
click on 'My Control Panel' at the top of this page, then 'Edit Options'
at the bottom you can change it

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 11:34   #33
nosq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to nosq
I agree with bar0n completely, it's useless, annoying, and it will probably reduce winamps file size. Like he said, there's no god damn point to it! OMG WTF. Take it out already.
nosq is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 11:43   #34
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by nosq
and it will probably reduce winamps file size.


no it would not.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 11:45   #35
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Quote:
Originally posted by nosq
and it will probably reduce winamps file size
that's the best one
jc, that would make a difference!
no long downloading times anymore!
yeah
siebe83 is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 14:00   #36
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by nosq
I agree with bar0n completely, it's useless, annoying, and it will probably reduce winamps file size. Like he said, there's no god damn point to it! OMG WTF. Take it out already.
OMG yeah it'll reduce the filesize but with the way programs are compiled i don't think it would since the menu is defined as text in the program's resources which can therefore be compressed, etc. so overall it may be 0.25-0.5k if removed. so overall i don't think it'd change the final winamp.exe size. that is ofcourse if you think 0.5k max is bloat!

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 15:18   #37
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Quote:
Originally posted by nosq
I agree with bar0n completely, it's useless, annoying, and it will probably reduce winamps file size. Like he said, there's no god damn point to it! OMG WTF. Take it out already.
These kind of posts are useless and annoying.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 15:23   #38
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
maybe it's time to lock the thread...
would reduce the forum size

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 22:31   #39
nosq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to nosq
LOL, hahhaha, I was only kidding, I just wanted to be on the losing side. Hell yeah it will reduce the file size you noobs. Not enough to notice, but it will!
nosq is offline  
Old 30th May 2004, 23:37   #40
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok... this thread has now served its purpose.

"Skins" has a submenu in the main menu for quick easy access,
and it also needs to be in the Options submenu, so it can be accessed from both the Options menu in the modern skin main menu navbar and in the classic skin main window clutterbar (OAIDV).

This will not be changing.


*whacked*
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump