Old 10th February 2006, 09:30   #81
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
It's documented.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 09:56   #82
iceman_k
NSIS Dev
 
iceman_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, U.S.A.
Posts: 455
Yes, I realized I was looking at an older CHM file.
I have every release of NSIS installed on my PC (I use them for regression testing), and I suppose I must have opened an old version of NSIS.chm by mistake.
Even though the command has been supported since 2.0, it was not documented until 2.07.
(But you already knew that).

Cheers,
Iceman_K

EclipseNSIS - An NSIS IDE for the Eclipse Platform | My contributions to the wiki
iceman_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 15:00   #83
iceman_k
NSIS Dev
 
iceman_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, U.S.A.
Posts: 455
OK, I'm pretty sure I didn't mess up this time.
SetCompressionLevel is not documented. It is supported, since running
makensis /cmdhelp setcompressionlevel
yields:
Quote:
MakeNSIS v2.14 - Copyright 1999-2006 Nullsoft, Inc.

Portions Copyright (C) 1995-1998 Jean-loup Gailly and Mark Adler (zlib).
Portions Copyright (C) 1996-2002 Julian R Seward (bzip2).
Portions Copyright (C) 1999-2003 Igor Pavlov (lzma).

Contributors: nnop@newmail.ru, Ryan Geiss, Andras Varga, Drew Davidson, Peter Windridge, Dave Laundon, Robert Rainwater,
Yaroslav Faybishenko, Jeff Doozan, Amir Szekely, Ximon Eighteen, et al.

Usage: SetCompressionLevel level_0-9
Same with Nop:

Quote:
MakeNSIS v2.14 - Copyright 1999-2006 Nullsoft, Inc.

Portions Copyright (C) 1995-1998 Jean-loup Gailly and Mark Adler (zlib).
Portions Copyright (C) 1996-2002 Julian R Seward (bzip2).
Portions Copyright (C) 1999-2003 Igor Pavlov (lzma).

Contributors: nnop@newmail.ru, Ryan Geiss, Andras Varga, Drew Davidson, Peter Windridge, Dave Laundon, Robert Rainwater,
Yaroslav Faybishenko, Jeff Doozan, Amir Szekely, Ximon Eighteen, et al.

Usage: Nop
I just did a search, and these commands were discussed in this thread. LockWindow made it into the docs, the other two didn't.

Cheers,
Iceman_K

EclipseNSIS - An NSIS IDE for the Eclipse Platform | My contributions to the wiki
iceman_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 17:53   #84
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
SetCompressionLevel doesn't work. Nop added, thanks.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 15:08   #85
Comm@nder21
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: germany, b-w
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Comm@nder21
Nop ?!
"Does nothing."
What is it useful for?!?!
why is this one implemented?

is Nop simply the same as an empty script line?
then, why do you include it? (overhead!)
Comm@nder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 16:51   #86
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Nop is a blank instruction which takes up a line. Stands for Null Operation. Simply there for relative jumps for example.
It won't add to overhead though because it's just for the compiler.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 18:41   #87
Comm@nder21
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: germany, b-w
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Comm@nder21
ah, i think i got it ...

so:
Goto +3
Nop

is the same as
Goto +2

thats the revolution we all waited for .. lol
Comm@nder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2006, 19:18   #88
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
It actually adds an instruction to the code as well. It is not just for the compiler. It adds a jump to the next instruction, which is esentially the same as doing nothing.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 22:03   #89
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
I discovered this one in the compiler:

Error: invalid charaters in variable name "Hello'", use only charaters [a-z][A-Z][0-9] and '_'

Did someone copy and paste lol?

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2006, 09:07   #90
e_orz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 16
In Section:
4.9.1.8 RMDir

The line: RMDir /r /REBOOTOK $INSTIDR
Should be: RMDir /r /REBOOTOK $INSTDIR
e_orz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2006, 09:20   #91
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Where is that located? Are you sure you're using the latest version?

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2006, 12:07   #92
e_orz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 16
Sorry, I had NSIS 2.15.
This typo was corrected in the latest version.
e_orz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 12:54   #93
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
4.8.1.24 InstType

...instead of an "hard-coded" name...
an -> a

...component list will only be show n if the...
show n -> shown

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 09:21   #94
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 21:14   #95
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Reviving rather an old topic:

4.9.3.4 CreateShortCut

The text specifies CONTROL as a shortcut keys modifier but uses CTRL in the example. CTRL is not valid.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump