Old 20th January 2004, 11:50   #1
KHysiek

string functions

Hello

I'm new to NSIS, it looked fine at first sight but when I tried to make installer what I wanted I hit some problems:
1) Using variables is big pain, using strings manipulation is HUGE pain. I don't get how modern installer can lack any decent number of functions for such basic task. Handling Path/reg keys require complicated function in current script using StrCpy/StrCmp/IntOp. For example in my installer have to read key from file which stores installed path of application. But it isn't stored in right-to-use format I need to manipulate (cut path add some text). I've done it but when I want to display it using Static in confirmation window, it "eats" backshlashes. :-\ So is there easy way of manipulating paths in current NSIS ?
2) In general my installer will be template for game maps installers of other people so such user will customize name and similar things in script (stored as constants), but how to add files the easy way (not editing script and making line for every single file). Is there any file list generator or can I use external (of script) file-list file () ?
KHysiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2004, 12:06   #2
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev

1) The strings commands are easy to use if you follow the documentation. Probably there is already are suitable function written for you:

http://nsis.sourceforge.net/archive/...11&instances=0

2) Using an extenal header file is even better. The users will only have to modify that file with defines. You can also use defines for filenames or add all files in a folder using *.* or /r.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2004, 12:40   #3
KHysiek

I know these function are the only help, but I would still opt for something easier as string manipulation is used very often and seeking and adding long function for every simple string task is a little too much work.