Old 7th June 2005, 19:08   #41
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2005, 20:15   #42
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,163
4.8.1.21 InstallDir:
"Sets the default installation directory is." remove is (doh)

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 19:18   #43
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 11:23   #44
BioDuo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
4.9.14.5 FindWindow

FIndWindow $0 "my window class" "my window title"
It should be Findwindow
BioDuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 13:34   #45
glory_man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mogilev (Belarus)
Posts: 372
4.9.14.1 BringToFront
... If the user if working with another ...

I think it should be - If the user is working
glory_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 17:17   #46
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 18:06   #47
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,163
4.7.2.1.6 .onMouseOverSection
STR: prefix is missing from lparam (in example code)

the docs also needs to be more clear about the description label, eg you actually have to use resource hacker to add a label (or use a existing label like in the ugly hack i did here: http://www.rafb.net/paste/results/XTG9Pd58.html )

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 18:16   #48
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 18:16   #49
glory_man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mogilev (Belarus)
Posts: 372
And what about
Quote:
Variables

Variables start with $. User variables should be declared and are case-sensitive.
Is this mean - variables names are case-sensitive?
This code work fine:
code:

var vv1
...
StrCpy $Vv1 "1 string 1"
MessageBox MB_OK "$vV1"


Is this typo, or NSIS bug, or I misunderstood something in docs?
glory_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 19:52   #50
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Just a relic from the old days when variables were case sensitive. Fixed, thanks.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2005, 15:06   #51
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
This isn't really an issue with the manual, but I noticed that there's no shortcut to the InstallOptions manual in the start menu shortcuts group.
Or is it just me?

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2005, 15:29   #52
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 18:55   #53
Comm@nder21
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: germany, b-w
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Comm@nder21
file:
INSTALL

Quote:
This is a trimmed version of Appendix F of the documentation.
should be Appedix G
Comm@nder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 19:20   #54
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Appedix?

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2005, 18:06   #55
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
In the modern UI readme, under 3. Pages > Page Settings > Finish Page Settings > MUI_FINISHPAGE_RUN_FUNCTION:

Call a function instead of executing an application (define MUI_FINISHPAGE_RUN without parameters). You can use the function to exectute multiple applications or you can change the checkbox name and use it for other things.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2005, 18:25   #56
Comm@nder21
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: germany, b-w
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Comm@nder21
Quote:
Appedix?
well, yea ....
you pwned me
Comm@nder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2005, 18:36   #57
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2005, 23:50   #58
Jamyn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Typos

I've attached the typos I found. Hope it helps.

-J
Attached Files
File Type: txt nsis-docs-typo.txt (5.9 KB, 180 views)
Jamyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 09:43   #59
Jamyn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Diff File

Oops, I just saw the message on the first page of this thread that asks for large corrections to be presented as a patch. I can't edit my post above to delete it, but anyway...

I have attached a diff to this message, with all the corrections listed in the above message, plus one or two others I ran across. I'm not sure if the way I did it is the preferred way, but if not - just let me know and I'll change it.

I attached it as .txt because the forum doesn't allow the .diff extension. Thanks,

-J
Attached Files
File Type: txt nsis-typos-sept15th2005-diff.txt (40.3 KB, 215 views)
Jamyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 11:26   #60
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Awesome, thanks! All committed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2005, 08:37   #61
o_owd
Senior Member
 
o_owd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: TGM, Romania
Posts: 176
Send a message via ICQ to o_owd Send a message via Yahoo to o_owd
in the Install Options readme,

(NSIS\Docs\InstallOptions\Readme.html)
"Call the DLL
You can call InstallOptions in a page function, check the NSIS documentation for information about the page system."

the link "NSIS documentation" points to "file:///C:/Program%20Files/NSIS/Docs/Chapter4.html#4.5"
the file does not exist.

OJi.
o_owd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2005, 17:13   #62
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2005, 17:46   #63
Jnuw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 258
This is not a typo, but a suggestion for clarity. Under the 4.9.1.5 File section, on the /nonfatal bullet, it currently states:

"If the /nonfatal switch is used and no files are found, a warning will be issued instead of an error."

I think it would be good to add that if the /nonfatal switch is activate or invoked (no files found), the line will no longer be a run-time instruction, and Relative Jumps will not see the line (per jump info below). It would be best to use regular labels around File /nonfatal commands to be safe.

"4.4 Relative jump of +2 will skip one instruction and go to the second instruction from the current instruction...An instruction is every command that is executed at run-time, when the installer is running. MessageBox, Goto, GetDLLVersion, FileRead, SetShellVarContext are all instructions. AddSize, Section, SectionGroup, SectionEnd, SetOverwrite (and everything under Compiler Flags), Name, SetFont, LangString, are not instructions because they are executed at compile time."

Thanks for your time!
Jnuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2005, 18:04   #64
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
That's a bug, not a documentation problem. Please submit a bug report.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2005, 20:26   #65
Jnuw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 258
Logged as a bug, 1299100. Thanks for looking at this, and your help on my 2.09 questions from a few minutes ago.

Jnuw
Jnuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2005, 17:47   #66
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Idea

I know that in the history of NSIS we've always had the "NSIS Examples Directory" shortcut, but I think a "NSIS Directory" shortcut would be more helpful as I myself have my projects in a Projects sub-folder.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 21:33   #67
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
I don't think that's necessary. The start menu is meant for a quick start and that folder contains nothing that's not already linked. In your case, I think you'd even do better with a direct link to that projects folder.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2005, 16:32   #68
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,163
4.6.1.5 SectionGroup

[/e] Caption [section_group_name index_output]

should be

[/e] section_group_name [index_output]

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 06:11   #69
JasonFriday13
Major Dude
 
JasonFriday13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 881
I found a few typos:

4.8.2.3
Typically the SetCompress flag will effect the commands after it,
should be 'affect'.

Also found that this code changes the compression status:
SetCompress off
SetCompressor lzma

Setcompressor switches SetCompress back to the default compression status (auto). This should be documented or bugfixed.

5.4
!define symbol1 ${symbol2}
After copying and pasting the code, I found that this typo has a 1 after symbol. I thought it was two l's. Maybe it should be changed to symbol_1 and symbol_2 or somthing similar (for clarity).

B2
To ask the user for a reboot if required,
should be 'To ask the user for a reboot, if required,' or 'If required, you can ask the user for a reboot.'

D2
For Windows NT (NT4/2000/XP), it's also possible to create the key in the HKCU hive,
Should this be hive, or should it be changed to folder/directory?

"Only a MouseHelmet will save you from a MouseTrap" -Jason Ross (Me)
NSIS 3 POSIX Ninja
Wiki Profile
JasonFriday13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 18:53   #70
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

SetCompress off followed by SetCompressor worked fine for me. Please include a complete example.

It should indeed be HKCU hive. That's how the registry objects are called [MSDN].

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2005, 03:01   #71
JasonFriday13
Major Dude
 
JasonFriday13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 881
My bad on SetCompressor. It does work. Maybe instead of saying 'Using lzma compression', it could say 'Using no compression', because I look at this line when I compile my installers with SetCompress off, and I think 'Oh, it's using lzma compression' when it is really not compressed.

"Only a MouseHelmet will save you from a MouseTrap" -Jason Ross (Me)
NSIS 3 POSIX Ninja
Wiki Profile
JasonFriday13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2005, 15:43   #72
glory_man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mogilev (Belarus)
Posts: 372
From MUI doc:
Quote:
...
Language Selection Dialog Settings

To remember to users preference, you can define a registry key.
...
Is this correct? I think this is must be:
Quote:
To remember the...
glory_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2005, 03:52   #73
guest1298
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
4.9.13.1 SectionSetFlags

... The first bit (lowest) represents whether the section is currently enabled,
I suggest "enabled" --> "selected"

This will also make it consistent with wording in Sections.nsh, e.g. SF_SELECTED
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2005, 11:05   #74
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2005, 12:35   #75
Wladimir Mutel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
In section 4.9.14.2, CreateFont :

GetDlgItem $$0 $HWNDPARENT 1

Should there really be two '$' signs ?
And if yes, then why ?
Wladimir Mutel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2005, 12:47   #76
Comm@nder21
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: germany, b-w
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Comm@nder21
nope there should not, its definetly a typo.
Comm@nder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2005, 20:02   #77
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Thanks, fixed.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 10:35   #78
{_trueparuex^}
Senior Member
 
{_trueparuex^}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glow
Posts: 285
foul language

In section 4.8.1.30, Name :
'CrapSoft MyApp'
==> 'MySoft MyApp'

In section C.1, Get parent directory :
; input, top of stack (e.g. C:\Program Files\Poop)
==> ; input, top of stack (e.g. C:\Program Files\foo)
{_trueparuex^} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 10:56   #79
{_trueparuex^}
Senior Member
 
{_trueparuex^}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glow
Posts: 285
Aannd there was also some poo in the examples.

In these files:
Examples\bigtest.nsi
Examples\InstallOptions\test.ini
Examples\InstallOptions\testnotify.ini

(Not sure if the bigtest.nsi needs fixin)
StrCpy $1 "POOOOOOOOOOOP"
==> StrCpy $1 "FOOOOOOOOOOOO"

Heres a patch anyway.
Attached Files
File Type: zip examples.zip (4.1 KB, 132 views)

The guy with the ridiculous username. Thou shall call him PaR instead.
Visit My Website
{_trueparuex^} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 21:24   #80
iceman_k
NSIS Dev
 
iceman_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, U.S.A.
Posts: 455
Not actually a typo, but missing documentation. The LockWindow command is supported but not documented anywhere.
What exactly does it do? I am guessing it enables or prevents window repainting.
Why would it be needed in an installer? I am not quite sure.

Cheers,
Iceman_K

EclipseNSIS - An NSIS IDE for the Eclipse Platform | My contributions to the wiki
iceman_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump