Old 1st September 2006, 15:48   #1
Playux
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Winamp on Mac OS X? You bet.

Using the great new Crossover Mac makes it possible to run Winamp on Mac OS X. Here is a screen.
First time ever Winamp on Mac OS X?
click for image1
Could not change to the modern theme, it said it was active but the theme did not change.

Anyway this is kinda cool! :P

Another photo: click for image2

[edit > JonnyMac]
Screenshots changed to hyperlink to preserve forum aesthetics and table size
[/edit]
Playux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 17:42   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Do all features actually work? It looks nice but, well, just wondering...

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 18:09   #3
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
it should work the same as it does through wine(under linux).
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2006, 20:07   #4
Playux
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Yeah most stuff actually work, but not everything. Could not change the theme. When I got to radiostations it downloads a plugin that will probably help it to show the content. Would of course be better if the Winamp team made a native Mac OS X Winamp version (Why don't they?).
It is kinda unsimple to open that app every time and it isn't so fast. But it works, but rather want a Mac OS X version.
Playux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2006, 20:23   #5
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
they don't because they can't, it would take too long and there's not enough man hours with so few staff.

winamp3 was meant to be ported to macOS, but it was canned before it really got going.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2006, 20:49   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ Playux
Out of curiosity, is it possible to remove Mac titlebar on the main/player Window?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 10:18   #7
Playux
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
I am not sure about that JohnnyMac.

But come on, it is not so freaking hard to make a Mac OS X version. It is just lazyness. I am sure other people could do it for you.

Do you want a bigger userbase? Make a Mac OS X version.
Playux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 10:28   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
er money, time, lack of dev resources, anything else that'd hinder a massive code re-write.. take your pick on a reason as to why not

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2006, 11:51   #9
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
for wine it isn't possible to remove the titlebar

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2006, 11:56   #10
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by Playux
Do you want a bigger userbase? Make a Mac OS X version.
By bigger i assume you mean less than 5% bigger.

Much less that 5% in fact, how many mac users are going to switch from itunes? Not many.

And it would cost a LOT. Worth it? Probably not.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2006, 02:50   #11
salsatime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
I always used Winamp (for years!) with Win98, Win2k and finally WinXP. I changed to MAC last month. After searching Winamp for Mac, I had to learn how to work with iTunes. Never had changed if there where a Winamp for Mac. Now I learned to change scripts in iTunes so it becomes even the better programm than Winamp. Mac are cheap for students in Switzerland, so more and more Mac-Users will be in the future, and they all will use iTunes...
salsatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 17:46   #12
chocobo2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Today I installed Mac OS X using osx86project on my PC. I am also searching for Winamp since I am using it to play my music files. Winamp developers should really think about making Winamp cross platform
chocobo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 17:56   #13
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Read above for the reasons why it won't happen...
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 22:25   #14
squall14716
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to squall14716 Send a message via AIM to squall14716 Send a message via Yahoo to squall14716
Quote:
Originally posted by Playux
But come on, it is not so freaking hard to make a Mac OS X version. It is just lazyness.
It's a hell of a lot harder than you seem to think it is.
squall14716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 23:09   #15
IndianCheese
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Playux
Would of course be better if the Winamp team made a native Mac OS X Winamp version (Why don't they?).
Well, you know, it IS called WINamp. Gee, wonder why...
IndianCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2006, 05:08   #16
sirebob
Senior Member
 
sirebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TX, SC, NY.
Posts: 142
great shutdown Indian.
sirebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 09:38   #17
moongravy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
@ Playux
Out of curiosity, is it possible to remove Mac titlebar on the main/player Window?
You can remove the titlebar.

In Crossover, click on 'Manage Bottles' in the configure menu. Select the bottle you have Winamp installed in and click the 'Control Panel' tab. Open 'Winecfg' & click the 'Graphics' tab. Remove the tick from 'Allow the window manager to manage created windows'. Apply, & you're done.
moongravy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 20:38   #18
DiskDoctor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mac user say itunes is the best...that is because there is nothing else to use...
iTunes was first made to interface with the ipod and apple had to make a windows version because pc user bought ipods too..
If they had not them so pc user would of made something better..
winamp dose it all plays audio and video files web radio and so on in fact its the only media play you ever need..
it looks cool and works great

iTunes looks like a spread sheet and need quicktime to play video...

I just bought a mac pro and i do miss winamp. please make a mac version..

cross over dose let you use winamp in OSX but not all the thing work winamp will not play video and you can't drag and drop files into the play list.

dose anyone no how to fix this?
DiskDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 20:53   #19
DiskDoctor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
In Crossover, click on 'Manage Bottles' in the configure menu. Select the bottle you have Winamp installed in and click the 'Control Panel' tab. Open 'Winecfg' & click the 'Graphics' tab. Remove the tick from 'Allow the window manager to manage created windows'. Apply, & you're done.

I try this and winAmp crashes and will not load my plugins
But if i don't load plugins it work fine

Lets just hope cross over gets it to work i have sent then the bug
DiskDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 01:52   #20
Anu-set
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
There has been a winamp for mac for awhile now. It has some limitations but is functional nonetheless.

Its here:

http://www.tucows.com/preview/206623

This version works in classic as well.
Anu-set is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2006, 04:05   #21
cbreaker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
.. all that being said..

WinAMP is still a really nice music player. iTunes works okay with my music collection (about 20k) because they're all tagged and organized. But I just don't like it much. Ohh, and it won't play WMA's. At least not out of the box; I haven't looked for a plug-in yet.

WinAMP is great due to it's simplicity. It plays everything. The media library is just great and it's nice that music you just open from Explorer or whatever doesn't get auto-added to your library like iTunes does.

I like WinAMP and I'd like it if a *newer* (not old XMMS without a decent media library) release became available for OSX.

ps. It might be called WinAMP but really, it's become a brand - if they port it to other systems, rest assured it will still be called WinAMP.
cbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2006, 16:26   #22
involutaryhaxor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Look behind you
Posts: 1
Re: Winamp on Mac OS X? You bet.

Quote:
Originally posted by Playux
Using the great new Crossover Mac makes it possible to run Winamp on Mac OS X. Here is a screen.
First time ever Winamp on Mac OS X?
click for image1
Could not change to the modern theme, it said it was active but the theme did not change.

Anyway this is kinda cool! :P

Another photo: click for image2

[edit > JonnyMac]
Screenshots changed to hyperlink to preserve forum aesthetics and table size
[/edit]
just wondering, does it support use of the iPod? Part of the reason that I love winamp to death is because it has such great support for the iPod, better than iTunes IMHO. i plan on getting a macbook soon so I was wondering.
involutaryhaxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2006, 22:25   #23
cbreaker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
I've been playing around with Crossover Mac for a little while and although it shows promise, it's still not even as good as Crossover for Linux systems. I do not believe it has out of the box support for direct USB interfaces, but I haven't really tried anything so who knows.

I couldn't get WinAMP to run in Crossover reliably. The library won't work right and it would hang a lot. I hope CrossOver does some work to make that happen, but they've got a lot on their plate with just MS Office itself (which also works "pretty good" but not fantastic.)

CrossOver is pretty amazing software though.
cbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 08:32   #24
psycho_maniac
Major Dude
 
psycho_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,294
yes i love this. its pretty cool that mac users get to use winamp
psycho_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2007, 18:39   #25
studiomaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
heyyy
studiomaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2007, 18:33   #26
Shoeless999
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Does anyone have a link to the download for this ?
I am an avid user of winamp on my pc and having just got a macbook, am keen to try it out...
Shoeless999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2007, 18:38   #27
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Crossover?
http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxmac/

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 08:15   #28
Ser4ph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
the links arent working. Can someone fix them or PM me a link, please?
Ser4ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 08:18   #29
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
The Crossover link works fine. The Winamp:mac port has been dead for around six years now. The other links are images.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 12:26   #30
Ser4ph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
i mean the links at the top of the page, they dont work.
Ser4ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 12:52   #31
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Re: Winamp on Mac OS X? You bet.

They are images.
Quote:
Originally posted by Playux
Using the great new Crossover Mac makes it possible to run Winamp on Mac OS X. Here is a screen.
First time ever Winamp on Mac OS X?
click for image1
Could not change to the modern theme, it said it was active but the theme did not change.

Anyway this is kinda cool! :P

Another photo: click for image2

[edit > JonnyMac]
Screenshots changed to hyperlink to preserve forum aesthetics and table size
[/edit]

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 22:22   #32
Ser4ph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
so, there never was an actual download link to Winamp for mac?
Ser4ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 08:35   #33
Ser4ph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
oh i get it now it wasnt ported, Crossover just ran it as if it were on Windows :P
Ser4ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2007, 08:32   #34
Taken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
ive tryd running it with cross over and i cant get my sound output to work, osx even support wav output or direct sound? i would hope the outwav would work, but its got some mhz problem with the sound.
Taken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 15:52   #35
jollyrollynyc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to jollyrollynyc
okay, so if i work on a Mac at work, and want to upload my Ipod playlists onto winamp, this is not possible cause Winamp doesn't correspond with Mac. Any plans on this happening?
jollyrollynyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 15:53   #36
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
There are no plans for an Mac version of Winamp.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 17:07   #37
jollyrollynyc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to jollyrollynyc
that is the saddest thing ever.........
jollyrollynyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2007, 19:57   #38
forrie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 24
WinAMP for Mac

Though OSX is highly customized, think of it as UNIX. It's a different beast than Windows.

I've not played around with iTunes much, beyond replicating to my iPod. As it stands, you have to individually set each tune to a graphic equalizer setting, if you want it to sound decent. That's time consuming.

Whereas, I use DFX for WinAMP. One adjustment and I'm done... with real-time adjustment if I need it. I don't think there is an equivalent for iTunes.

Anyway, WIN / OSX different beasts. And though I'm no programmer, I know enough to "imagine" what a nightmare it would be to port WinAMP to OSX - not emulate, but re-write.

Speaking of which... wouldn't it be interesting if WinAMP was open sourced. Then you could say: You want it ported to OSX? Fine, hack the code yourself.

;-)
forrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2007, 06:07   #39
alex_gamer
Senior Member
 
alex_gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: the crossroads of life...
Posts: 285
Re: WinAMP for Mac

Quote:
Originally posted by forrie
Speaking of which... wouldn't it be interesting if WinAMP was open sourced. Then you could say: You want it ported to OSX? Fine, hack the code yourself.
Winamp would be ported to other systems (amongst other things (see note)) way before it becomes open-sourced. plus, the last program owned by AOL that when open-sourced died (see note 2)!


note: other events that will happen before Winamp becomes open-source: my death, the sun going nova, Data-like robots (Data from Star trek), space travel, cure for AIDS, DrO's death, the end of the world as we know it...(etc)

note 2: though yes, technically, Netscape is alive in the form of Firefox, Thunderbird, and SeaMonkey, but Netscape Navigator did die!

the computer is never at fault for an error; a human is, though.
DO NOT PM me for tech support.
No matter what you're doing, use the right tool for the job!
alex_gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2007, 08:41   #40
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
gnutella didn't die either. (technically)

thanks aol
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump