Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th April 2007, 21:10   #41
MaXeLL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
Winamp Essentials v5.34 (Build 112)

Download

Just added the Italien translation to the installer, thanks to MaXeLL.

If you don't speak Italien, then there is no need to download the installer again, really
Italian


Some news: I installed Winamp on an other XP installation, tried to retrieve informations from CDDB and worked fine
At the point I logged on my main XP installation and I have done a clean install of Winamp. Tested CDDB and it worked Maybe upgrade from 5.33 to 5.34 was failed... i don't know!
MaXeLL is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 00:08   #42
Chrissyx
Member
 
Chrissyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Chrissyx
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Well, it's not like there's much difference in the filesizes, and all you have to do is uncheck "emusic icon" on screen 3 of the installer options. Is it really that big a deal?

Alas, for legal reasons, we can no longer publically provide the plain full and standard installers here.
It would be even no deal, to let that eMusic spam icon be unchecked by default. Because while clicking on every "Next", you have to stop by and uncheck that annoying thing every time again, you install a new version. It's a waste of time, nerves and transfer costs (even it's just a bit more filesize).

I like "silly devs"!

At the going down of the sun and in the morning ...
we will remember Winamp ♥
Chrissyx is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 01:01   #43
tastegood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Wow, I can't believe how much faster / more responsive my 30000 track media library has become. The performance was really becoming a dog, and now every view change takes mere milliseconds to update.

Kudos!
tastegood is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 05:57   #44
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally posted by MaXeLL
Italian
It's just a typo in my posting, the installer is aviable in Italian.
Koopa is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 07:27   #45
MaXeLL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
It's just a typo in my posting, the installer is aviable in Italian.
I know I know
MaXeLL is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 15:42   #46
Tiiin*
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Error writing to file?

Hi.. I updated my winamp to 5.34 but during installation, I was getting errors like error writing to file eg. in_cdda.dll, in_wm.dll, etc.. And then it asks if I want to abort, retry or ignore this error. I don't know much about this stuff so I chose ignore a lot of times (since I won't have winamp if I don't). It works fine and then when I clicked on the library, it has an error about opening it and says it's turning off.

I uninstalled and then reinstalled a couple of times. I even tried installing the essential pack but now my winamp doesn't even want to run anymore.. It just prompts me that there has been an error and I could choose to send a report about it or not.

I need my winamp for transferring songs to my iPod..

Please help..
Tiiin* is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 15:50   #47
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
'Error writing to file' occurs if Winamp is still running at the time.
Go to Task Manager and kill any winamp.exe processes, then reinstall.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 15:59   #48
Tiiin*
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Yay!

Works fine now! Thank you!!
Tiiin* is offline  
Old 28th April 2007, 02:42   #49
Moguta
Senior Member
 
Moguta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 190
Know it's not a huge show-stopping bug by any means, but just wanted to check if you guys were able to reproduce or do anything about this bug I posted earlier, since it got no response:
Quote:
Originally posted by Moguta
Awesome, guys! Thanks especially for the improvements to the FLAC plugin and its tagging dialog.

There is one minor issue I found, unfortunately. When playing FLAC files with this new plugin, classic visualizations display at a framerate well below the maximum. This is especially noticeable using the oscilloscope at 70fps and comparing the visualization of a FLAC file to that of an MP3.
Thanks!



Magnatune - A role model for ALL digital music stores!
Moguta is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 18:34   #50
RonnyJ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Re: Video Issues.

Quote:
Originally posted by ucisilentbob
unfortunately the larger i scale the video the choppier the video gets. When i play video in Vista Media Center it is fluid video.

This happens with and without the "allow YV12 overlay mode" checked.
I get this exact problem on Vista - jerky video with 5.34 which becomes worse the bigger the video window is (especially in full screen) and I've had to go back to an earlier version. At first I blamed my codec (fresh install of Vista), but everything works fine with different players and different codec packs/video formats.
RonnyJ is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 19:21   #51
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
So it works ok with an earlier version? Which version exactly? 5.33?

Did you try setting video_gdiplus=0 in winamp.ini ?

video_gdiplus=1 is the default under Vista, but 0 on all other OS'es
(note, that setting is new to 5.34, so won't even be used/recognized in older versions).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 19:41   #52
RonnyJ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Just tried installing each of the following:

winamp534_1178_beta_pro.exe - works as expected
winamp534_1239_beta_full.exe - jerky video
winamp534_full_emusic-7plus.exe - jerky video

I couldn't find a video_gdiplus setting in winamp.ini, but added it under the [winamp] section, assuming that's where it goes, just under 'video_remove_fs_on_stop=1', no difference.
RonnyJ is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 20:18   #53
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
gdiplus for vista was implemented in build 1239

So it makes no difference if video_gdiplus= is set to 0 or 1 ?

Hmm, and it's strange how that setting wasn't already in %appdata%\winamp\winamp.ini

Did you search for it first?
(and yes, it should be in the [winamp] section).

Note, Winamp needs to be closed at the time of editing winamp.ini (ie. it requires a Winamp restart for any changes to winamp.ini to take effect)


I guess there's also a chance that it could be totally borked... ;-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 20:30   #54
Gilgamesh83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Me too

Quote:
Originally posted by Moguta
Know it's not a huge show-stopping bug by any means, but just wanted to check if you guys were able to reproduce or do anything about this bug I posted earlier, since it got no response:

Thanks!
I too can reproduce this. It happens when playing flac the vis get jerky and below the framerate chosen.
Gilgamesh83 is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 20:35   #55
RonnyJ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
OK, slight confusion over winamp.ini - I was looking at the one I had in the Winamp folder, but I guess it's now being stored in 'AppData\Roaming\Winamp', at least on Vista - and video_gdiplus was there (but curiously it was already set to 0?).

I still have the problem though, no matter whether it's set to 0 or 1.
RonnyJ is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 03:48   #56
Moguta
Senior Member
 
Moguta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 190
Another bug in the FLAC plugin I didn't notice until just now: in the tag dialog, the Genre field will not scroll if you enter more than the displayable number of characters. It will let you enter additional characters, but there is no way of seeing them.



Magnatune - A role model for ALL digital music stores!
Moguta is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 04:35   #57
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Doh!
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 19:56   #58
kr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 30
The unicode text seems to be working fine, except that I noticed whenever I rate a song it displays ???? in the playlist, if I don't rate it, it will show the chinese characters... Wondering what's up?

Using the latest winamp, including the silent update and on a Vista Ultimate system..

Attached image showing the "bug"

kr4zy is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 19:59   #59
kr4zy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 30
Sorry, for the image size, seems I can't edit my own post
Anyways, here's the thumbnail, so admins can delete the original one:

[edit]Stuck it in the top for you. -c[/edit]
kr4zy is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 20:55   #60
Luek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Hey guys!,

I did a swift google search on "Winamp 5.34 jerky" when i noticed my FLAC playbacks were also causing the Spectrum to chug along slowly. And it led me here!

So i registered to add to the list of people that confirm this problem and chuck in a quick "Hello ^-^!!"

-Luek!
Luek is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 21:37   #61
Darkman00
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
How can one check within Winamp which Build that particular Winamp is?

Like for example, today (2007-04-30) .. at Betanews they say some 5.34 Build 1278 is out.. BUT i downloaded it and installed it.. and don't see any Build mentioned in it...

All i see v5.34 April 25, 2007

Betanews mentions here about 5.34 Build 1278 by the way:
http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail...l/1066336873/1
Darkman00 is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 22:52   #62
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
on the file properties for winamp.exe, the version tab will have the build in the version.

ie. 5.3.4.1279

CraigF is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 23:22   #63
Darkman00
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Oh ya.. cool.. Thanks

Mine is "5.3.4.1278" - i just checked

Good tip! .. Thanks.. learn something new every day

I guess yours is .1278 also then.. or you running something special there? ;-)
Darkman00 is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 23:33   #64
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
just a typo. im actually running 5.3.4.1271 cuz im a slacker.

CraigF is offline  
Old 30th April 2007, 23:38   #65
Darkman00
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
.1271 lol, didn't even know it existed...

Is there a page somewhere that shows all the released Builds? .. in chronological order maybe or something?
Darkman00 is offline  
Old 1st May 2007, 00:41   #66
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Re: FLAC (vis / genre field)
We're onto it. Thanks.

@kr4zy
I can't reproduce the problem.
Are you using any 3rd-party plugins?
What font are you using? (probably irrelevant, and it's some plugin to blame).

@Darkman00
If it's not a public release build (1273 or 1278) or a public beta release build (1155, 1178, 1195, 1239), then it's an internal beta build (ie. not public).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 1st May 2007, 16:54   #67
alexjoey
Junior Member
 
alexjoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 36
this mirror site does

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkman00
Is there a page somewhere that shows all the released Builds? ..
in chronological order ..?
Yes there is, this website provides all builds chronogically, all the betas and public released builds actually (not the internal beta build in question )
alexjoey is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 13:17   #68
an Sealgair
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mooloolaba, Australia
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Weird indeed. It looks just fine here...

Are you using a skin with a white background color maybe?
Sorry, I've been busy and totally forgot about this. I have the default classic skin. (Don't laugh)

I've been to http://www.winamp.com/update/client/index.php in IE 6.0 SP1 and Firefox 2.0.0.3 and the result is the same.
Attached Images
File Type: png winamp update.png (13.2 KB, 717 views)
an Sealgair is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 13:20   #69
an Sealgair
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mooloolaba, Australia
Posts: 13
Well, at least I know there's a new version
an Sealgair is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 13:51   #70
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Quote:
Originally posted by an Sealgair
Sorry, I've been busy and totally forgot about this. I have the default classic skin. (Don't laugh)

I've been to http://www.winamp.com/update/client/index.php in IE 6.0 SP1 and Firefox 2.0.0.3 and the result is the same.
That page is supposed to open in Winamp itself, with the background and text colours defined by the current skin. Which are, in case of the default classic skin, black and green respectively, as was shown in DJ Egg's screenshot.

Naturally, the skin colours won't be detected if you open the page in a browser (for me the background and text of that page are white as well when opened in a browser).

So you are saying that even within Winamp, everything's white?
Did you disable javascript in IE, maybe?


(p.s. I use the default classic skin as well )

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 21:58   #71
endeavor
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 85
Re: Winamp 5.34 Released

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp 5.34

[--]

Known Issues / Updates

-CD Burning still doesn't work under Win9x (sorry)
...we hope the coders will still keep Win98SE in mind though-thank you, otherwise v5.2.1.497 is the last known version that works with Win98 "as far as having the ability to burn with its Sonic engine" ... ymmv
endeavor is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 23:21   #72
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
alas, the burning issue with win98 is really down to sonic to resolve and from what i gather they've not been all that successful on this front - winamp just interfaces with their library so if the library is failing then winamp will inturn.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 23:22   #73
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Wow, people still use windows 98. Come on! It's 9 years old and hopelessly outdated. Get with the times.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 2nd May 2007, 23:35   #74
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
true, but running the latest and greatest OS isn't the best suited for a lot of hardware unless you're prepared to put the time in for stripping things out as i've had to do to XP for the old p3 laptop i've acquired - and only using xp for the better wireless support.

though the same could be said about a certain 10yr old app as well

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 11:06   #75
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
If you look at the System Requirements for any of the products on www.sonic.com (RecordNow, Easy Media Creator, MyDVD, etc) you'll see that the minimum is Win2k, with XP or higher recommended.

This suggests that, like just about everyone else, Sonic has dropped support for Win9x.

We shall see...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 20:35   #76
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Winamp 5.34a Security Patch
http://download.nullsoft.com/winamp/.../wa5update.exe

Includes a patched version of in_mp4.dll (v1.22)
which fixes the MP4 file parsing buffer overflow vulnerability issue.


The first post in this thread has also been updated accordingly.


Note, if you didn't install support for MP4/M4A in the first place (Winamp\Plugins\in_mp4.dll), then you don't need the patch.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 21:04   #77
Chrissyx
Member
 
Chrissyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Chrissyx
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
If you look at the System Requirements for any of the products on www.sonic.com (RecordNow, Easy Media Creator, MyDVD, etc) you'll see that the minimum is Win2k, with XP or higher recommended.

This suggests that, like just about everyone else, Sonic has dropped support for Win9x.

We shall see...
I don't think, this is too dramatic. I'm using 98SE too and for creating discs i'm using Nero, so as long as Winamp plays music, everything is fine. Thanks for your ongoing 98/ME support - please keep it up!

I like "silly devs"!

At the going down of the sun and in the morning ...
we will remember Winamp ♥
Chrissyx is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 22:37   #78
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
SmartView Query results

I am getting what seems like a strange result in the ML SmartViews ...

Query = COMMENT NOTHAS "xyz"

Expected Results. I would expect the given SmartView to display all the songs that do not have "xyz" in the comments including those songs that have no comments at all.

Currently, the SmartView is only displaying the songs that have comments but
do not have "xyz" in those comments. Songs with no comments at all are NOT
being displayed in the given SmartView.
jph6t is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 23:13   #79
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yeah, it's a known bug, already fixed internally.

Originally reported here:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=270348
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 23:21   #80
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yeah, it's a known bug, already fixed internally.
Thanks for the update DJ Egg.
Sorry for the double post. My search didn't pull up that thread.
jph6t is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump