Old 29th April 2005, 19:47   #1
Andreas E.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 135
[non-Winamp] Bug in search option? (Forum)

Please note that this report is just to make the search script better, usually this will not be used the way I did.

I found out that the search PHP script seems to bail out 'Server not found' if you use too common search terms.

When I specify 'winamp' and nothing else as search term, and click on 'Perform Search', I ALWAYS get 'Server not found'.

I tried 20 times (!) in sequence and got 20 fails. This is not pure luck, I presume.
Even
winamp build
gave the same error.

Can anyone reproduce this?

Browser IE 5.00.3700.1000
(don't bitch about the "ancient" version, it is the one shipped with my W2K and I haven't ever had problems with it, so I will keep it).

Latest Mozilla public stable version does not output 'Server not found' in this case, but will not show the search page, just rotate the hourglass for a while, then die, but stay on the 'Search the Forums' page (the one where the 'Perform Search' button is).

-ae-
Andreas E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2005, 19:50   #2
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Yeah, it does that. Not sure why.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2005, 21:04   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Basically because just about every thread contains the word "winamp"
and therefore the search results would be HUGE,
not to mention that the search itself would weigh heavily on the server.

To sum up, it's by design and is expected behaviour, not a bug.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2005, 22:04   #4
Andreas E.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 135
Yet I would prefer an error message instead of this behavior.
Andreas E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2005, 01:56   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
If it really bothers you that much, then report it to the aol/winamp site administrators, and tell them to upgrade the vBulettin software whilst you're at it...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump