Old 22nd November 2003, 18:13   #1
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
spotted weird thing in alt-tab

Hi, just thought i'd share this.

I have the microsoft powertoy installed that allows me to see the window of the different applications running when i press "alt and tab" to move to different applications (dunno if i've explained that clearly, but say i've got winamp, word and outlook running and i wanna go from winamp to outlook, i can press "alt and tab" twice to go to outlook (standard feature of windows) but while doing that i get a preview of what is displayed in my applications (i.e. my word window, and my outlook window)

Right, now when i press "alt and tab" with winamp 5, there is one entry for the main window, one for the media library, one for the playlist editor and very surprisingly there is another main window, but previewing the CLASSIC SKIN (showing the song i am currently playing!!). Does anyone know why this is?? Does anyone underatnd what i've just said

Can anyone bear light in why this is?

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 19:14   #2
hungryskull
Major Dude
 
hungryskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 776
Doesn't do that on my computer.

Darn, I can't think of anything to put here.
hungryskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 20:44   #3
Snoozy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Da' Bayou
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to Snoozy Send a message via AIM to Snoozy Send a message via Yahoo to Snoozy
Does it on mine - you need to have the powertoy installed.
Snoozy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 20:57   #4
MasterViVi
Senior Member
 
MasterViVi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 290
I noticed that the Modern skins uses the Classic skin as a base. So actually 'wrapping' it's skin over the Classic one.
MasterViVi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 21:10   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yup. The classic skin is still the base skin, built into winamp.exe
Modern skin and all others . . . are just skins.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 23:38   #6
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
hrm... i have the power toy, but doesn't do it. In fact, when i have a classic skin loaded, there's no main window in the alt-tab order, just eq and ple.

~WHEREamI
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 23:41   #7
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yup. The classic skin is still the base skin, built into winamp.exe
Modern skin and all others . . . are just skins.
Except for the "hacked" skins.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 23:48   #8
sishgupta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
i get this with with virtual desktops in litestep. When i use the modern skin, there is the main window using that modern skin, and then there is another window on another virtual desktop with the classic skin. i can interact with it but i cant move it.

So far ive only seen it in the theme where theres a 3x3 grid of desktops and it happens in the 3rd row, 2nd column
sishgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump