Old 28th May 2007, 16:49   #1
OldSurfer

He-AAC vs LC-ACC

I am new to world of mp players. I have a ZUNE and my 5 kids have iPod, creative Zen and others.

In trying to do it right the first time I researched the web and found an article by Stefan Meltzer of Coding Technologies. In that article they tested many encoding formats and it appeared to me that HE-ACC v2 audio codec was the encoder of choice.

I have several questions that I am in hopes of getting answered.

1. Looking for (HE-ACC v2) I found that in Win Amp that (MP4/aaacPLUS (HE-AAC) High Bitrate Encoder v1.26) to be closest.
2. My question is the Win Amp v1.26 the same as the HE-AAC v2?
3. If not where can I find that encoder?
4. My next question is that I was told that (LC-AAC Encoder v1.26) offered better quality than (MP4/aaacPLUS (HE-AAC) High Bitrate Encoder v1.26)
5. Is that accurate?
6. I understand that He-ACC is DTS compatible which is what my car uses.
7. I am ripping at 160 Bitrate.

I tried unsuccessfully to find this out on this forum. Probably my poor search methods.
Thanks in advance.
OldSurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2007, 17:21   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team

All of the AAC Encoders (HE-AAC aka AACPlus, AAC LC, both raw and in MP4 Container) are represented by Winamp\Plugins\enc_aacplus.dll, which uses the latest Encoders by Coding Technologies.

(the AAC Decoders are also all-in-one, via Winamp\System\aacPlusDecoder.w5s, also by CT)

MP4/AAC-LC is the iTunes/iPod standard.
The iPod doesn't support HE-AAC, or if it does, it doesn't play it properly.
HE-AAC was initially introduced as a low-bitrate but fairly-decent-quality alternative for streaming purposes. However, High-bitrate HE-AAC may be much better quality, but is still fairly untested...

At the end of the day, the choice is entirely yours, but I would recommend only encoding (from CD or lossless) to MP4/AAC LC for general listening.