Old 22nd December 2010, 00:56   #1
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Radio Carlin station doesn't show up on iPod Touch app

I can find the Radio Carlin station on the SHOUTcast website and on both the XiiaLive and Winamp apps on my Android phone, but it doesn't show up when I search for it on the SHOUTcast iOS app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Can someone fix this? I've been emailing through the site and the feedback for the apps.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 17:46   #2
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
what's your bitrate

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 17:53   #3
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
What do you mean? The feed's bitrate? The iPod's bitrate?
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 18:30   #4
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
are you broadcasting in aac+?
neoncoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2010, 00:28   #5
ServerRoom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 32
AAC+ broadcasts sometimes don't show up through the SHOUTcast App, this might be your problem.
ServerRoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2010, 05:28   #6
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
I'm not the one broadcasting it, it's someone else's. Besides, its a 128kbps MPEG stream.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 16:05   #7
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Nobody knows what's wrong? No admins weighing in?
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 16:21   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i can log it for when other people from the SC team are back from holiday otherwise i cannot explain why there is a difference with the iPhone app (i know the Android app uses the v2 api's but i've no idea about the (initial) iPhone app version which pre-dates the newer apis by a year or so). and as i don't have an iPhone or any access to one i'm not able to try it out if only to confirm it or not.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 17:55   #9
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjp81 View Post
I'm not the one broadcasting it, it's someone else's. Besides, its a 128kbps MPEG stream.
is the option to show higher-bitrate broadcasts checked off for the shoutcast app?

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 04:46   #10
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhalen View Post
is the option to show higher-bitrate broadcasts checked off for the shoutcast app?
There's no such option that I see. Only the Stations, Favorites, Recents, and Search menus.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 04:48   #11
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
UPDATE: Now I can't get the 100% Hicks (Bill Hicks) station to play. I was able to find it and Favorite it before. Now it doesn't play or show up on searches. Ugh!
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 05:29   #12
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
isn't there an option to play high-bitrate streams? that's probably the reason why it doesn't pop up.
neoncoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 13:06   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
streams do come and go so that might explain why the hicks one has disappeared.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 22:03   #14
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoncoyote View Post
isn't there an option to play high-bitrate streams? that's probably the reason why it doesn't pop up.
Already answered that. See above.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2011, 12:57   #15
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
*BUMP*

If nobody here know what the problem is or what to do about it, does anyone at least know who to notify? I've already tried emailing through the apps and the website with no replies.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2011, 13:21   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i did mention earlier that i've got it logged though i've still to get hold of someone else with an iPhone to confirm the issue before trying to escalate it (though i've no idea who's doing the maintenance of the iPhone app...).

also where have you been sending emails to (am curious as i usually get a heads up of SC related ones via the main channels).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2011, 19:39   #17
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Well, I've been sending messages through the "Report a Problem" menu in the Apple App Store listing. I've tried sending a message through "Contact Us" on the SHOUTcast main website, but all I ever get is a "Sorry, your form could not be submitted. Please try again later." message. Also sent messages to the Winamp feedback address, and tweeted @shoutcastradio. Is there any other way to get in contact?
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2011, 19:51   #18
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Update: I've found an iOS app that carries Radio Carlin. It's simply called Comedy Radio. Curiously, its been out since July but has no ratings. Seems to work fine though. Still would like to see it on SHOUTcast.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2011, 10:50   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the report i've had back is that the station is there in the iPhone app.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 03:07   #20
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
the report i've had back is that the station is there in the iPhone app.

-daz
I'm sorry to say the reports are wrong. Nothing comes up on a search for it.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 07:49   #21
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
SC_Faisal is who checked it for me - really isn't anything else i can really do / say if that's what i've had back.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 13:26   #22
mjp81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
SC_Faisal is who checked it for me - really isn't anything else i can really do / say if that's what i've had back.

-daz
Well, I tried getting in contact with him myself, but I haven't heard back. So is there any way you can get him to send me a message on the matter?

[edit]
Nevermind. Got his message.
mjp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2011, 08:57   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
so are things now sorted or at least explained?

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump