Old 21st January 2005, 18:36   #1
katroxidium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Add-Dir Bug

Winamp Add-Dir Bug
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Affects : 5.08 [and all 5.x versions i think]

Importance : Low

Story :

If you have a subdir's name that begins with "." (dot a.k.a full-stop) winamp doesn't add the files in that subdir IF you add his parent.
For example if you have "d:\music\.blah" and you add the dir "d:\music" you don't get in the playlist the files in the ".blah" subdir.
!! This bug seems to affect the MediaLibrary too.

Discovered : 21.01.2005 by ktx http://www.ktxinc.tk

I did not check if somebody else found this...
katroxidium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2005, 19:56   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
katroxidium: how on earth are you creating a folder name beginning with a '.' since i'm running Win2k and it won't let me create/rename a folder to have it like that.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2005, 20:10   #3
katroxidium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
i use totalcommander 6 on xp and i can make folders with . (TC Rulz!)
i made one called .2004 where i had all my 2004 music
and it didn't load in winamp's playlist
katroxidium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2005, 20:28   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ah, total commander and a quick forum search gave me...

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....otal+commander

basically there's not a lot that can be done since Winamp is using the built in OS apis and if they don't allow such a naming convention in a normal OS setup then neither will Winamp. the fact it allows you to create directories beginning with a '.' is a bad practice i think and i don't think it can really be called a bug when the OS won't natively let you create such named directories. not sure what else can be done to be honest

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2005, 20:45   #5
katroxidium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
cmd /c md c:\.ro works
indeed window's explorer has a problem with .s
katroxidium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump