Old 22nd December 2010, 04:08   #1
Cynyster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
DEP blocking New Version but ok with Winamp 5.581 Full

Hi Gang, Strange thing happened when I upgraded to the new version of WinAmp... starting it up activates "Data Execution Protection" every time.

I am running it on a windows Vista 32 bit ultimate Xeon Processor 4 gigs of RAM

I tried reinstalling the new version a few times... running it as admin.. even gave it unrestricted access. same thing.. DEP activates and closes the window. (but it is still running in the process list)

I have reinstalled 5.581 and everything seems to be operating fine. Oh and the only plug-ins I was using the add-on that came with installing FLAC. but I didn't get a chance to reinstall it as WINAMP DEP was happening before I went to reinstall FLAC.

Hope this helps.
Cynyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 04:46   #2
Creamy Goodness
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Creamy Goodness
i have to go back to 5581 also. I use windows 7 and lots of plugins...
Creamy Goodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 05:09   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Please attach your List of Plugins

Use the standalone nunz.exe if you can't get Winamp to run.

Other than that... remove or look for updates for 3rd-party plugins
or try a clean install of 5.601
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 05:52   #4
Creamy Goodness
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Creamy Goodness
agggh wtf did that thing do? now 5581 doesn't work either.
had to run the standalone now, hope this list is worth it...
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list_ext.txt (4.1 KB, 173 views)
Creamy Goodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 06:06   #5
Creamy Goodness
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Creamy Goodness
i installed the updated chipamp and its still broken, although ever since i installed the plugin you told me to it's crashing differently. at least i get a winamp window now... yay

-edit-
renamed gen_nunzio.dll, still busted
renamed in_adlib, still busted
Creamy Goodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 06:16   #6
Creamy Goodness
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Creamy Goodness
reinstalled 5.601 and its working now... wtfomgbbq
Creamy Goodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 15:37   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
@Creamy Goodness

Yeah, could've been any of these 3rd-party plugins/libraries to blame:

Winamp folder:
xerces-c_2_5_0.dll
id3lib.dll

Winamp\Plugins folder:
dsp_dfx.dll
in_adlib.dll
in_gez.dll
in_gsf.dll
in_nez.dll
in_NotSoFatso.dll
in_psf.dll
in_sid2.dll
in_snes.dll
in_swf.dll
in_usf.dll
in_vgm.dll
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 18:18   #8
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Same problem with 5.6. I reinstalled 5.81(which never gave me that problem) to no avail.

I guess i should have followed the old idiom "if it's not broken, don't fix it". It wasn't broken, install an "update" and now it's broken.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 18:21   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Please attach your List of Plugins

Use the standalone nunz.exe if you can't get Winamp to run.

Other than that... remove or look for updates for 3rd-party plugins
or try a clean install of 5.601
-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 18:43   #10
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Clean install: 4 times already.
List of plug ins: none, nada, just clean Winamp.

Winamp runs, but I get this annoying thing



...ALL the time. Annoying as hell, and never had that problem before 5.6.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 18:48   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the UAC prompt seems to be due to a setting conflict on upgrades for some users - usually removing winamp.ini resolves that.

however posting a plug-in list is still required so it can be double-checked (have been too many times people have posted they have a clean install and it transpires it isn't).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 18:56   #12
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Clean install = uninstall using the Window utility. Then delete the Winamp folder in program files(x86), look for a Winamp folder in the appdata folder(was none), then use CCcleaner to clean up registry of ALL winamp mention(was only one left). Reboot, then install latest version. still screwed.

<< Input plug-ins >>

Nullsoft CD Plug-in (MusicID 2.6) v3.92 [in_cdda.dll]
Nullsoft FLAC Decoder v2.3 [in_flac.dll]
Nullsoft LineIn Plug-in v3.12 [in_linein.dll]
Nullsoft MIDI Player v3.2 [in_midi.dll]
Nullsoft Module Decoder v2.85 [in_mod.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder v4.94 [in_mp3.dll]
Nullsoft MP4 Demuxer v2.3 [in_mp4.dll]
Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.58 [in_vorbis.dll]
Nullsoft Waveform Decoder v3.19 [in_wave.dll]
Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder v3.6 [in_wm.dll]

<< Output plug-ins >>

Nullsoft Disk Writer v2.14 [out_disk.dll]
Nullsoft DirectSound Output v2.6 (d) [out_ds.dll] [active]
Nullsoft WaveOut Output v2.13 (d) [out_wave.dll]

<< Visualisation plug-ins >>

Advanced Visualization Studio v2.83 [vis_avs.dll]
MilkDrop v2.23 [vis_milk2.dll] [active]
Nullsoft Tiny Fullscreen v2.12 [vis_nsfs.dll]

<< DSP plug-ins >>

No plug-ins of this type are installed

<< General Purpose plug-ins >>

Nullsoft Modern Skins Support v1.42 [gen_ff.dll]
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.9 [gen_hotkeys.dll]
Jump To File Extra v1.2.3 (Build 1151) [gen_jumpex.dll]
Nullsoft Media Library v3.50 [gen_ml.dll]
One for Nunz v5.1 [gen_nunzio.dll]
Nullsoft Music Usage Database v1.0 [gen_orgler.dll]
Nullsoft Tray Control v2.41 [gen_tray.dll]

<< Media Library plug-ins >>

Nullsoft Now Playing v3.9 [ml_nowplaying.dll]
Nullsoft Local Media v2.94 [ml_local.dll]
Nullsoft Playlists v1.2 [ml_playlists.dll]
Nullsoft Winamp Add-ons v1.1 [ml_addons.dll]
Nullsoft Online Services v1.67 [ml_online.dll]
Nullsoft Podcasts v1.29 [ml_wire.dll]
Nullsoft Device Manager v1.0 [ml_devices.dll]
Nullsoft Rip & Burn v1.92 [ml_disc.dll]
Nullsoft Portable Music Player Support v1.31 [ml_pmp.dll]
Nullsoft Bookmarks v1.1 [ml_bookmarks.dll]
Nullsoft History v1.9 [ml_history.dll]
Nullsoft Auto-Tagger v2.04 [ml_autotag.dll]
Nullsoft Downloads v1.01 [ml_downloads.dll]
Nullsoft Database Import/Export v2.3 [ml_impex.dll]
Nullsoft Playlist Generator v1.6 [ml_plg.dll]
Nullsoft Replay Gain Analyzer v1.08 [ml_rg.dll]
Nullsoft Format Converter v2.6 [ml_transcode.dll]

<< Portable Media Player plug-ins >>

Nullsoft Android Device Plug-in v1.3 [pmp_android.dll]
Nullsoft iPod Plug-in v0.81 [pmp_ipod.dll]
Nullsoft Creative NJB Plug-in v0.54 [pmp_njb.dll]
Nullsoft PlaysForSure Plug-in v0.95 [pmp_p4s.dll]
Nullsoft USB Device Plug-in v1.3 [pmp_usb.dll]
Nullsoft Wi-Fi Device Plug-in v1.2 [pmp_wifi.dll]

<< Encoder plug-ins >>

[enc_aacplus.dll]
aacPlus (HE-AAC) Encoder v1.31
aacPlus (HE-AAC) High Bitrate Encoder v1.31
LC-AAC Encoder v1.31
MP4/aacPlus (HE-AAC) Encoder v1.31
MP4/aacPlus (HE-AAC) High Bitrate Encoder v1.31
MP4/LC-AAC Encoder v1.31
[enc_flac.dll]
FLAC Encoder v2.3 (libFLAC v1.2.1)
[enc_lame.dll]
MP3 Encoder v1.36
[enc_wav.dll]
WAV Encoder v1.02a
[enc_wma.dll]
WMA Encoder v1.22a
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 19:34   #13
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
----------------------

Last edited by bullshark; 23rd December 2010 at 22:33.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2010, 22:23   #14
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Found a solution that work for me on 5.581 so far(knocking on wood):
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingelen View Post
I think I solved the problem, for me at least...

1. Start the explorer and go to the executable winamp.exe
2. right click it and select the bottom function (I think it's options or configuartion or something, but I'm not sure because I use a dutch version of windows).
3. go to the compatibility tab
4. in the bottom there is an option "run as administrator" greyed out so you can not disable it
5. press the button under it "change for all users"
6. now you can deselect the run as administrator
7. press OK and OK and run Winamp.!
No way am I installing 5.6 and risk having to deal with this awful annoyance again.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 13:44   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the log you posted is missing the main information which could help i.e. the folder paths but if you're fiddling around with folder permissions then that sounds more like the reason you are having issues.

also your last post is the first mention of using a non-english version of the OS which would have been helpful to know from the start due to certain things being handled differently to an english version of the OS (and if most people even likely to try to test out things only doing so via an english version of the OS).

but if you're happy with using the older version then so be.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 18:15   #16
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
My forum name is "bullshark".


The solution I quoted is from forum member "dingelen", as you can see in the quote. It's something I found while searching the forum, and it turned out to work for me.


I'm using a bog standard English version of Window 7 pro x64.


The path Winamp was installed in is the default one: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp"
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 18:54   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well i guess i'm still in holiday mode so give me a break, geez. i'll you too it
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 19:21   #18
bullshark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Don't know what this means. Tried to make my answer as clear and concise as possible, are they not?
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 23:48   #19
Cynyster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Still DEP

Ok I finally had some time to sit down and mess with this a bit.

I followed the procedures for doing a clean install. I did reboot before trying to re-install.

I have installed the latest version and the plug-ins that are in the plug-in folder are as follows(just the plug-ins that came with the install as I deleted the directory previously)

AVS, DSP_SPS, freeform, Gracenote, Milkdrop2

I noticed that when logged on as a differant user the program just crashes when I try to run it. but in the user I installed it I get the DEP message. I have two users on this computer one requires a password one does not both are admins. The second user I have there in case there is corruption on the main one I use.

Just for shits and giggles I deleted everything in the plugin directory. and the program starts up fine. so it seems to be one of the DLL (as I removed the sub folders one at a time without effect) I will reinstall and try removing them one at a time to see which it is.
Cynyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2010, 00:13   #20
Cynyster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Ok This is what I have found.

PMP_P4s.dll causes winamp to throw a DEP every time.
PMP_NJB.dll Causes winamp to give a "stopped working" error when I closed the program.

Removing both those DLL's from the plug-in directory is allowing the program to function properly as far as I use it.

Hope you find this useful.

Cynyster
Cynyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump