Old 17th February 2004, 13:51   #1
jtorchy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
How do I rip my music too ogg format?

I finally learned how to use eac / lame last night (nice quality by the way, I guess the hype was true). Just woundering with all the talk about ogg lately on this board, I would take a stab at it, and try something new. Anyone know what I would need to rip all my ablums to ogg format?
jtorchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 13:59   #2
Triton4
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 1,307
Use EAC in co-ordination with the official OGG encoder:

Encoders > Vorbis-tools
Triton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 14:03   #3
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
here is an OGG ripper plug-in you can use on Winamp. :o)

make sure you put it in your plug-ins folder.
inthegray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 15:07   #4
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Also make sure you have paid for Winamp Pro, unless you like ripping at 2x or slower.

Or you can continue using Exact Audio Copy for free, and maybe send Andre a post card some day. :o)
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 15:07   #5
jtorchy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Triton4, I downloaded the file vorbis-tools-1.0.1-win32, but how do I actualy get it too work with eac?


Also thanks for the plug in inthegray.
jtorchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 15:44   #6
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
From EAC, open Compression Options by pressing F11.

Under the External Compression tab, check Use external program for compression. Under Parameter passing scheme, select Ogg Vorbis Encoder. Use the Browse... button to navigate to wherever you extracted oggenc.exe and select it. Also check Delete WAV after compression.

You should not need any Additional command line options, unless you want to pass any custom tags, such as a comment for all files. In that case, consult oggenc's help info by executing oggenc --help from your preferred command console, such as cmd.exe under Windows NT/2000/XP.

Choose a quality level or bitrate constraint, preferrably the former.

Check under the Offset tab and make sure Use Offset correction for encoding and decoding is unchecked.

Settings under ID3 Tag are irrelevant.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 19:56   #7
Triton4
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Triton4, I downloaded the file vorbis-tools-1.0.1-win32, but how do I actualy get it too work with eac?
Extract the zip file to a specific output directory, say "C:\Vorbis OGG\" & check if oggenc.exe is located in that directory.

Open EAC, proceed as per what kode54 said:
Quote:
Under the External Compression tab, check Use external program for compression. Under Parameter passing scheme, select Ogg Vorbis Encoder. Use the Browse... button to navigate to wherever you extracted oggenc.exe and select it. Also check Delete WAV after compression
Hope this helps.
Triton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 20:50   #8
Teqnilogik
Member
 
Teqnilogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 98
Download the official Ogg Vorbis 1.0.1 release here:
http://www.vorbis.com/files/1.0.1/wi....0.1-win32.zip

Or download the GT3b1 release of Ogg Vorbis that is optimized for quality 5 and above and is currently the recommended Vorbis encoder on Hydrogen Audio here:
http://sjeng.org/vorbisgt3.html

Extract the oggenc.exe file from one of those to your EAC directory.

Open EAC and go to EAC > Compression Options.

Click the External Compression tab.

As the Parameter Passing Scheme, select "User Defined Encoder"

Type .ogg as the extension.

Browse for the Oggenc.exe file.

In Additional Command Line Options type:
-q 6 -a "%a" -l "%g" -N "%n" -t "%t" -G "%m" -d "%y" %s %d

That command line will encode using quality 6 which is recommended for transparency (but often 5 is transparent to most people) and will write a Vorbis Comment tag with artist/album/date/genre/track # information. More information on the %-letters here:
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac11.html#Compression

Uncheck "Use CRC Check" and "Add ID3 Tag"

Click OK and you are ready to rip. Have any questions? Just ask Happy ripping!
Teqnilogik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 22:23   #9
Urtho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
While I am sure that EAC is a beautiful program and all it wont recognize my apsi layer and so i cant use it. Personally I use CDex(http://www.cdex.n3.net/) which works wonderfully for me, the 1.01 or GTb1 tunings are avalible at Rarewares(http://rarewares.hydrogenaudio.org/ogg.html). But if EAC works then great, I'm glad for you, just mentioning the other normal alternative.
Urtho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2004, 22:39   #10
Teqnilogik
Member
 
Teqnilogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 98
Urtho, I too had problems with the ASPI layer. There is a solution to this problem, however. Download the Nero APSI DLL that is freely available on Ahead's web site. Here are the links:

Windows NT/2000/XP DLL:
http://www.nero.com/us/631940733573829.html

Windows 98/ME EXE:
http://www.nero.com/us/631940833532474.html

Just place the WNASPI32.DLL file into your EAC directory then open EAC and go to EAC > EAC Options. Click the Interface tab and select to use Installed External ASPI Interface. Click OK and restart EAC. EAC should now work for you.
Teqnilogik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2004, 00:37   #11
jtorchy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Thank you all. Very detailed and easy to use directions. Gracious yall. I'll give cdex a try as well.
jtorchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2004, 02:32   #12
Urtho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Thank you very much, I shall check that out once I boot out of Knoppix.
Urtho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2004, 00:21   #13
dan1el
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 95
Why dont use CDex?
dan1el is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2004, 04:35   #14
jtorchy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
What is the difference between quality 5 and 6?
jtorchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2004, 04:57   #15
Teqnilogik
Member
 
Teqnilogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 98
Quality 5 averages a bitrate around 160kbps while quality 6 averages a bitrate around 192kbps.

Go here for a list of some of the quality levels and the bitrates they produce:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=15049&
Teqnilogik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump