Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th December 2022, 11:36   #81
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
Long time winamp user first time poster here. I've been having this issue with "presets" button in a visualization tab, any time I'm trying to left click it winamp hopelessly hangs until I close it with "winamp is not responding" window. However right clicking in the visualization window to show the same menu works fine. This problem occurs in 5.8, 5.9, on all skins where such menu button is available, with or without plugins such as classicpro or color editor. Windows 10.
Hi

I can't reproduce the problem with default Bento / Big Bento skin.

1. Set AVS as default vis
2. With music playing, switch to Visualization tab in Big Bento skin
3. Click "Presets" button in bottom right corner

Other than ClassicPro skins, what other 3rd-party example skins are there where the problem can be reproduced?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 11:39   #82
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Egg,

is what is and isn't working when JTFE is present in 5.9.1 known to the devs? if so, can that be made publicly known?

is what isn't working something that can be fixed by tweaking 5.9.1? and if not, perhaps that would be a good place to start a challenge by you to the community to create an open source replacement for JTFE?

(its odd to me that aspects of JTFE still work while other aspects can crash winamp... obviously that status quo is not a viable long term solution)
JTFE adds a whole heap of features.
If we natively implement just one of them, then it will break the plugin.
So we need to implement as many of the features as possible all in one go.

It's on our ToDo list, but it's a big job.

Open-sourcing anything isn't within my jurisdiction.
But note that we don't have the JTFE source code :-(
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 12:35   #83
TenguSlayer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hi

I can't reproduce the problem with default Bento / Big Bento skin.

1. Set AVS as default vis
2. With music playing, switch to Visualization tab in Big Bento skin
3. Click "Presets" button in bottom right corner

Other than ClassicPro skins, what other 3rd-party example skins are there where the problem can be reproduced?
got it with this skin https://www.deviantart.com/victhor/a...y-V2-412584350
happens in default modern skin too
TenguSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 12:55   #84
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
got it with this skin https://www.deviantart.com/victhor/a...y-V2-412584350
happens in default modern skin too
Hmm, I couldn't reproduce any hang with the Gaia Trinity v2 skin in Winamp 5.9.1.

There's no Vis tab in Modern skin, but I was able to click the "Options" button to bring up the Presets menu.

Anyone else?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 13:54   #85
TenguSlayer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 4
"options" in modern skins and "presets" in bento both hang.
TenguSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 14:26   #86
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
Long time winamp user first time poster here. I've been having this issue with "presets" button in a visualization tab, any time I'm trying to left click it winamp hopelessly hangs until I close it with "winamp is not responding" window. However right clicking in the visualization window to show the same menu works fine. This problem occurs in 5.8, 5.9, on all skins where such menu button is available, with or without plugins such as classicpro or color editor. Windows 10.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
Sorry, image didn't upload for some reason https://imgur.com/29NeYMx
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hi

I can't reproduce the problem with default Bento / Big Bento skin.

1. Set AVS as default vis
2. With music playing, switch to Visualization tab in Big Bento skin
3. Click "Presets" button in bottom right corner

Other than ClassicPro skins, what other 3rd-party example skins are there where the problem can be reproduced?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
got it with this skin https://www.deviantart.com/victhor/a...y-V2-412584350
happens in default modern skin too
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hmm, I couldn't reproduce any hang with the Gaia Trinity v2 skin in Winamp 5.9.1.

There's no Vis tab in Modern skin, but I was able to click the "Options" button to bring up the Presets menu.

Anyone else?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenguSlayer View Post
"options" in modern skins and "presets" in bento both hang.
so bit of an oddity...

i tried this, (Bento), and the first time my whole winamp crashed, no report of any type. since then, it doesn't crash, either button, on a left or right click. the vis does pause when i bring up the dialog.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 14:33   #87
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
JTFE adds a whole heap of features.
If we natively implement just one of them, then it will break the plugin.
So we need to implement as many of the features as possible all in one go.

It's on our ToDo list, but it's a big job.

Open-sourcing anything isn't within my jurisdiction.
But note that we don't have the JTFE source code :-(
it seems to me u only need to implement, to start, the features that still work, which is a far shorter list.

also, i am asking if 5.9.1 could be tweaked to conform to jtfe, to get non-working features working?

is winamps SDK / api public enough for a 3rd party dev to make a jtfe replacement? and or open source it?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2023, 14:51   #88
gecisoj438
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 1
Windows 11 Shutdown or Reboot says that Winamp is blocking it after about 10 seconds and it will not shutdown/reboot unless it is killed.
If shutdown/reboot is canceled the Winamp Error Reporter is started after 1 minute.

No plugins installed only modern skin.

- Winamp 5.9.1 (5.91.0.10029) - clean install
5.9.1, also hapenned with 5.9.0

- Active Winamp Language Pack (if any)
1.7, also happened with 1.4

- System Specs (Model, CPU, RAM)
AMD Ryzen 5 5600G
8 GB RAM

- Windows OS, incl. Service Pack & Locale
Windows 11 22H2, English

- Video card + drivers version
CPU-integrated Radeon Graphics
Driver version 31.0.12044.13002

- Sound card/chip + drivers version
AMD High Definition Audio Device
Driver version 10.0.1.24

- Detailed step-by-step method of reproduction (eg. numbered list)
1. Start Winamp
2. Play music
3. Reboot or Shutdown
4. Windows says that it can not rebootz/shutdown because Winamp is running
gecisoj438 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2023, 15:54   #89
gilougilougilou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
"unable to display an appropriate library view"

if I go with a simple clean install of 5.91 without any plugins I have this problem : I'm unable to move a smartview up or down , error message in Library "unable to display an appropriate library view. Please select a view from one to the left or re-install Winamp with library plug-ins as applicable"


[EDIT => DJ Egg]

Reproduced this. Thanks!
gilougilougilou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2023, 00:41   #90
gilougilougilou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilougilougilou View Post
if I go with a simple clean install of 5.91 without any plugins I have this problem : I'm unable to move a smartview up or down , error message in Library "unable to display an appropriate library view. Please select a view from one to the left or re-install Winamp with library plug-ins as applicable"
Also with 5.9 I'm not able to rate songs, to make Winamp rating songs I have to "ungrey" another tag field in the window or uncheck then check again "update files tag(s) if supported by the tagging format"

I really don't know what happens with my computer, I'll be stuck with 5.8 until I find. I think perhaps it is some register entry from old winamp install that block something but I have no knowledge at all in computer so it is just an idea
gilougilougilou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2023, 18:16   #91
bachbeet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
winamp 5.9.1 keeps crashing

I tried using classic pro skins with the 5.9.1 release but they crash winamp. So I switched to previous release and it works fine. Obviously this needs to be fixed and another version needs to be released.
bachbeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2023, 11:38   #92
cdd89
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 2
Bug report:

Just had to rollback Winamp 5.9.1 as the Big Bento skin has a regression bug.

It only supports dragging the window around when doing so from about 70% across the title bar. By contrast, 5.9 and previous versions allow dragging from anywhere along the title bar.

Hope this can be fixed for 5.9.2 and thanks for the work on the project!!
cdd89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2023, 13:31   #93
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdd89 View Post
Bug report:

Just had to rollback Winamp 5.9.1 as the Big Bento skin has a regression bug.

It only supports dragging the window around when doing so from about 70% across the title bar. By contrast, 5.9 and previous versions allow dragging from anywhere along the title bar.

Hope this can be fixed for 5.9.2 and thanks for the work on the project!!

Good catch.


Winamp\skins\Big Bento\xml\player-normal-group.xml

Open it in Notepad and search for this line:

<group id="player.mainmenu" x="97" y="1" w="388" h="21" />

Change the "388" value to taste.


The original value was "200"

<group id="player.mainmenu" x="97" y="1" w="200" h="21" />

but if you're using a Lang Pack, the Help menu item will be truncated,
and part of the workaround fix was to increase that value...


With Winamp active, hit F5 to refresh the skin.


[EDIT]

Actually, it's caused by the removal of ghost="1"

Changing it to this will fix it:

<group id="player.mainmenu" x="97" y="1" w="388" h="21" ghost="1" />
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2023, 19:01   #94
helmutf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 2
Winamp stuttering playing streaming address

Hello Winamp Team,

playing this streaming-address winamp in current version ist stuttering:
code:
http://stream.radiohitpower.de:9030/;stream.nsv


It goes back to Version 5.8
Winamp 5.666 still works.

If more information is needed, please let me know.

Thank you in advance

Best regards
helmutf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2023, 21:53   #95
NJK
FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,469
9000 kpbs Really?????

talking about killing your own stream

let them take it back to a normal bitrate like 192 or 320
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2023, 18:52   #96
helmutf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 2
Winamp stuttering playing streaming address

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
9000 kpbs Really?????

talking about killing your own stream

let them take it back to a normal bitrate like 192 or 320
Yes but it isn't audio only but video, too. Maybe it explains the higher bitrate. Nevertheless the old Winamp-Version still works... So anything has been broken. VLC plays it without stuttering as well.

Best regards
helmutf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2023, 20:37   #97
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilougilougilou View Post
if I go with a simple clean install of 5.91 without any plugins I have this problem : I'm unable to move a smartview up or down , error message in Library "unable to display an appropriate library view. Please select a view from one to the left or re-install Winamp with library plug-ins as applicable"
i am having very similar problems using 5.9.2 beta.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2023, 09:23   #98
(m)usic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
Hello guys, i have this error when i drag and drop songs from library to playlist section.
It close winamp with a bug report that i attached to my post
When i right click on song/album and "enqueue selection" don't trigger the crashing but visually drag and drop make winamp crash.
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (55.9 KB, 14 views)
(m)usic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2023, 11:53   #99
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by (m)usic View Post
Hello guys, i have this error when i drag and drop songs from library to playlist section.
It close winamp with a bug report that i attached to my post
When i right click on song/album and "enqueue selection" don't trigger the crashing but visually drag and drop make winamp crash.
Hello.

Please confirm if the crash still occurs after removing the third-party Scrobbler plugin:

ml_wa2_scrobbler.dll
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2023, 13:22   #100
(m)usic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
I removed that dll but not fixed yet, still giving me this error:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2023-01-22 165122.png
Views:	20
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	55164  
(m)usic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2023, 16:59   #101
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by (m)usic View Post
I removed that dll but not fixed yet, still giving me this error:
Hmm, so it's still crashing.

You can disable that particular gen_crasher error msg by unchecking "Send Data" in Prefs => Error Feedback.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2023, 07:04   #102
(m)usic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hmm, so it's still crashing.

You can disable that particular gen_crasher error msg by unchecking "Send Data" in Prefs => Error Feedback.
tnx but yeah still crashing,
i stick to enqueue manually instead of drag & drop for now on i guess
(m)usic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2023, 17:07   #103
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Mp3 crc check broken:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=459759

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2023, 14:07   #104
Henrizan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 1
Same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by (m)usic View Post
tnx but yeah still crashing,
i stick to enqueue manually instead of drag & drop for now on i guess
Attaching crash log for info.
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (64.7 KB, 6 views)
Henrizan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump