Old 10th February 2005, 21:15   #1
dirkdeftly
Forum King
 
dirkdeftly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cydonia, Mars
Posts: 2,651
Send a message via AIM to dirkdeftly
Truchet lines

long time since i've avsed...

simple preset that draws truchet tilings. i'll expand it later.

the reason i'm posting it now is because gmegabuf acts really weird in this preset. i have two instances of texerII. the first does some changes to gmegabuf onbeat. both should immediately accept these changes, but it seems that one or the other doesn't accept them until one frame aftewards (i *think* it's the first one, but i'm not sure)

the first texerII changes reg00-02 as well, and occasionally it seems to take two frames for both texerIIs to synch that as well.

i tested gmegabuf on this in another preset (included in the zip). if this were a universal bug, the two dots in that preset would be on different sides every beat. that doesn't happen, so i'm going to assume that the bug is isolated to my preset.

i'd like to resolve the bug before i go any further with this idea. does anyone have a clue why avs would be doing something like this?
Attached Files
File Type: zip truchet.zip (2.8 KB, 183 views)

"guilt is the cause of more disauders
than history's most obscene marorders" --E. E. Cummings
dirkdeftly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2005, 21:39   #2
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
I don't know why it does that, but putting the gmegabuf control to a superscope before the effect list's atleast solves the problem and you can use just 1 frame to render them.

btw. Great idea and preset so far

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2005, 21:45   #3
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,082
get the same problem here.. what about it if you'd calculate the globals in a seperate t2/ssc or in Jheriko's Global Variable Manager (still in beta)?

Welcome back my the way...

/edit: doh! you beat me on that!

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2005, 22:24   #4
S-uper_T-oast
Forum King
 
S-uper_T-oast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fnord?!
Posts: 2,657
OMG HE TEH LIVES!!!One!@$#!#elven@#!^!!!!

Nice to see your back.
S-uper_T-oast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2005, 16:08   #5
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Re: Truchet lines

First off, I'd like to welcome you back. (We had best start warning teh n00bs!11!!!!1!)

Quote:
Originally posted by dirkdeftly
i have two instances of texerII. the first does some changes to gmegabuf onbeat. both should immediately accept these changes, but it seems that one or the other doesn't accept them until one frame aftewards (i *think* it's the first one, but i'm not sure)
From my recent work with apes I can tell you that Texer II probably executes init, frame, beat and point in a fixed order every frame. If it was executing init->frame->beat->point then changes on beat would only affect the second texer's frame code

The reason for using this order is that you want on beat code to always take priority over on frame. This is because setting variables on beat should always overwrite what they were set to per frame so that right values are there for the per point code. In addition, it means that you can respond to a beat on the frame that the beat happens on, and not have to wait for the next one.

I haven't tested this theory out... but I'd guess that superscope, dm etc do the same and that this is why they provide the 'b' variable.

If I was making Texer II this is certainly how I would implement it, and this would cause a problem like what you describe where the first texer executes the code on beat and the second one executes its frame code with these new values, but the first does not.

EDIT: just looking at your test preset... i don't get any bug... what is odd though is that if i insert effect lists to destroy fps then sometimes 4 blobs are rendered per frame instead of 2... I thought maybe I was going nuts so I slowed it right down to 10fps and screenshotted it a few times. All sensibly coded so as to avoid the problem I mentioned above too... setting the el to 1 frame has no effect here

EDIT2: the above is actually just an artifact of the preset construction (els). If two consecutive frames are beat frames then the framebuffer isn't cleared so 4 dots are drawn instead of 2. could this be causing your problem also?(although i cant see it?).. i doubt it as this effect list job looks like it was made to expose the problem. btw... the tiling pattern is nice... looks correct in all res I tried it on.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'

Last edited by jheriko; 12th February 2005 at 16:37.
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 12:05   #6
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Re: Re: Truchet lines

Quote:
Originally posted by jheriko
init, frame, beat and point in a fixed order every frame. If it was executing init->frame->beat->point then...
I'm pretty sure the init code isnt evaluated every frame my friend

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2005, 12:48   #7
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
potentially every frame....

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 12:54   #8
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
...but realistically not

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 17:03   #9
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
The point is that you have the same order of code execution every frame... which is useful to know for debugging since you know in which order all of your code gets evaluated at any time.

And I make mistakes. :P

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2005, 19:47   #10
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Here's a "remix" i did, though as the preset isn't finished yet, so i can't say if it's a mix or a "making the preset complete"... but anyway, hope you "dig it" dude
Attached Files
File Type: zip tugtruchetmix.zip (1.2 KB, 157 views)

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump