Old 19th December 2003, 04:51   #1
ExitWound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
No dialogue boxes while streaming...

This has been occuring since the alpha was available and has not yet been 'fixed' to final winamp5. I have been unable to find a cure by searching the forums either. Perhaps I just overlooked it somewhere. If I did, I apologize.

While streaming any station from Live365, all options underneath all menus within Winamp under any skin do not work. There will be no popup boxes for preferences, open file, view file info. None of them produce anything. They are basically being ignored. In order to get them to work, I have to close Winamp5 and reopen it. If I start streaming again, the problem reoccurs.

I love winamp5 but this is bugging me a lot. I have gone back to windows media player to stream the stations because of this.

Any thoughts? Thanks.
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2003, 14:47   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,851
System specs?
Windows OS?
DirectX version?
Connection type/speed?
Clean install of Winamp 5.0 Final?
Any 3rd-party plugins installed?
Links to streams?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2003, 16:31   #3
ExitWound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Oh yeah, sorry.

Windows XP sp1 (latest patches installed)
AMD 2400+ @ 2700+ speeds
ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe (latest bios)
nForce2 Soundstorm (latest drivers)
512mb pc3200 RAM
Directx9.0b
Adelphia Powerlink 3000/256
winamp5 was installed fresh after a reformat.
All streams from Live365.com do this. It's the only place I stream from. Any other links you could have me try?
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2003, 05:04   #4
ExitWound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
...and my Internet Radio... and Internet TV... options dont do anything either. No dialogue boxes, nothing.
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2003, 10:36   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,851
Yeah, I want direct links to streams
eg. http://ip:port/ or http://url.com/stream.pls

I'm not a Live365 member and never will be.
All I get is some stupid annoying popup box,
and I close it immediately, because I'm not interested.

This is why we have our free: www.shoutcast.com | http://yp.shoutcast.com

If the problem is also happening with Shoutcast streams then we'll look further into it (I most certainly cannot reproduce the problem though, and you are the one and only person who's reported it).

If it's only happening with Live365 streams....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2003, 17:02   #6
ExitWound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
The problem occurs with streams from shoutcast.com as well. I cannot access any menu options anywhere when the stream is playing. I just noticed this happens when I stream as well, and only when I stream:





Jus to reiterate, the stream stream properly. But nothing within the program that requires use of the menu works.
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2003, 16:45   #7
ExitWound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
No ideas huh? Hmmmm. It's freaky. With every mouseover on the menu, the choices grow by 1, and grow, and grow. Fun to watch, but I can't even choose any of the 40 Equalizer choices I'm given.
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump