Old 27th September 2013, 03:00   #1
luvc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
How to listen the Line-in other than recording?

Hi all,

I am looking for a way which allows to listen to the line-in other than recording. As far as I know that to input the line-in audio is just simply command "linein://". However I cannot hear anything excepts seeing the visualization.
I looked thru the forum and said to download and install Linein_plugin_v1.80. But unfortunately that the program crashed after I typed in "line://"
I am just trying to perform a function so called "break-in". The player can allow the switch-over between line-in audio and sound track.
Could somebody help?


Thanks!!!
luvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 03:21   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I think "thinktink" has a plugin for this, or someone does, as i'm pretty sure it can be done, but I don't know exactly.

maybe also try the shoutcast DSP plugin using the soundcard option.

i'm sure someone who knows better will post soon.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 04:18   #3
luvc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Is "thinktink" like a media player? I don't find anything for that.

I think ShoutCast DSP is something similar but working the other way.

Anyways, Cheers for your help
luvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 04:20   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
thinktink is a forum user and gifted 3rd party dev. search for his posts on here, and check his sig.

my thinking for the SC dsp is to just get the audio into winamp via soundcard.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 16:06   #5
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
Hello luvc,
many people love to use Winamp with music via Line-In, for example via an analog mixer, if musicians play their music instruments and sing, and also, if DJs use Traktor Pro on another computer for their live-shows in dance halls with video-projectors and very large screens.

A 3rd-party-plugin is not needed, this included standard-plugin does the job very fine, at least for me. It's:
in_linein.dll (*)
Version: 3.14 | Größe: 8 KB

I myself play the URL "linein://" in Winamp for "website music", "Stereomix" on my Workstation PC makes it possible. Milkdrop 2 reacts to the music, I see the reactions also in the spectrum analyzer and in the beat visualizer. More about "Stereomix" here:
http://www.lastfm.de/user/SabineKlar..._and_stereomix

I took a look to Your screenshot, I think, for me it is like in the right image and not like in the left image. Normally the music should go through the media player and not bypass it. Maybe someone else here has further suggestions. If You get listening the Line-In on Your computer working, please let us know. I wish You good luck...

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 18:03   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Sabine, are you on XP? I've heard that "stereo mix" is not available beyond XP. (but I am way out of my depth here)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 18:54   #7
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
My Workstation PC has Windows Vista. The previous Windows Install from 2009 was in 32 bit, and in July my PC got 2 new harddrives. Although I told the team in the service shop, I want to have Windows Vista in 32 bit again, they have installed the 64 bit version. I had no "Stereomix" anymore, but I got it back with the sounddriver from the Realtek-Website (a link to this website is not possible in the forums).

My notebook, bought November 2011, has Windows 7 64-bit and no "Stereomix". I use it in offline-mode and in the bed, with a notebook-bed-table, and I have the same files and the best software also on my notebook.

Frank's previous PC, bought Spring 2004, had Windows XP. June 2007 he got a new PC with Windows Vista, and also his Windows Vista PC has "Stereomix".

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2013, 19:11   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
stereo mix basically depends upon the soundcard drivers and isn't primarily due to OS (as they actually improved things so you can listen to the device and other things).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2013, 02:34   #9
luvc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Hi Sabine,
I had tried to enable the Stereo mix as you mentioned. Audio sound can be able to listen through line-in, however the audio cannot be cut-off by the control of WinAMP. Could anything help for this?

Here's I'm trying to do:


Thanks ^_^
luvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2013, 02:56   #10
luvc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Anyone here can help?
luvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump