Old 29th July 2009, 04:30   #1
eddocpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 5
need help to make 2 DJ's work

Am using an HP laptop running Windows XP with Conexant HD Audio to stream on Shoutcast and can't bring on a cohost. I have a friend with Realtek ac97 Audio and he can do a cohost. We use Yahoo messanger to connect the 2 hosts then can stream through Shoutcast. I have seen the post saying to use Skype but we have tried it and its too much static while Yahoo works well for him to connect with me and others. Another issue I have is that I can't talk over the music. I have to open my volume control and toggle between the mic and wave out to talk or play music.

What I'd like to know is? Is there any way I can use my mixer to resolve these 2 issues.
Do I need to get a new mixer? if so what does that entail, is it a simple download of a driver or software.
Do I need a new sound card?
What about an external mixer?
Need to find the easiest and cheapest way to make this work.

Thanks for any help
eddocpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 05:24   #2
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
This may help,

http://www.streamsolutions.co.uk/fla...ials/Decks_mic

It all depends on the options on the soundcard mixer.

you will be looking for wave out / stereo mix / what u hear
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 11:41   #3
eddocpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks Nick I've already seen that vid. it was helpfull setting up shoutcast but not to resolve my cohost or overtalk issues. Recording control is where I have to toggle back and forth to talk or play music but not both at once.

When you say: "It all depends on the options on the soundcard mixer." it looks like it does not give me the option to do the overtalk or cohost. So does that mean that I need a new driver/software or a new soundcard?

Thanks
eddocpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 12:32   #4
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
are you sure you dont have the options?

you can goto the properties of the recording mixer and tick the boxes to hide or display elements of the mixer.

post an image and we can try and help.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 20:28   #5
eddocpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Sorry I don't know how to post an image so let me try to explain what I see and know.

the options I have under properties are:
CD audio
mic
wave out mix
all three are checked

Under recording control it will only allow me to "select" one at a time so to talk on the radio I select mic then when I want to play music I have to select wave out mix.
and neither one will let me have a cohost.
eddocpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 20:37   #6
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Then you need to look at a new card,

Wave out would be the option you need.

Soundblaster cards are always a good choice.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 21:21   #7
eddocpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 5
I have looked at soundblaster's web site and have no idea which product would resolve these issues ....Any ideas or recomendations
eddocpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 21:23   #8
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
a standard pci audigy always worked well for me.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump